Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super looking machine and excellent coffee
Well I bought this after staying at a friends house. They had the "Francis Francis X1" machine, which looked good and made great coffee's too. Not wanting to pay the 300 or so for the same but wanting a very similar looking product I found this wonderful Kenwood equivalent. Intially I saw the Stainless steel version but on further browsing found they offer the Cafe...
Published on 1 Aug. 2005 by Mr. Mazz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars better value else were, machine ok
This machine looks great, and the coffee is good. The steamer works well. But this machine,s has a big down side, when it has delivered the coffee it continues to drip, so you have to remove the cup and replace it whith a empty cup to catch all the drips, and boy does it drip.I can't beleave how much Amazon is chargeing for this machine, you can buy this in most shops or...
Published on 16 Aug. 2008 by river boy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super looking machine and excellent coffee, 1 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Kenwood Café Retro ES550 Espresso Maker, 15 Bar (Cream) (Kitchen & Home)
Well I bought this after staying at a friends house. They had the "Francis Francis X1" machine, which looked good and made great coffee's too. Not wanting to pay the 300 or so for the same but wanting a very similar looking product I found this wonderful Kenwood equivalent. Intially I saw the Stainless steel version but on further browsing found they offer the Cafe Retro in red or cream( same colour as my friends Francis Francis maker)as well.
Not having used one of these before I found it very easy to use, although it takes a few attempts to get familiar with it and hone your methods. Either using the pods or ground coffee gives excellent results. The milk frother/ steamer is fantastic and really makes the coffee. The little toggle switches, temperature gauge and indicator lights all make towards this product being a classic looking machine and making the coffee is even more fun!
Highly enjoyable and fantastic coffee maker, what more can I say, top marks Kenwood and the best price at Amazon!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real Gem ++++++, 7 Mar. 2008
This review is from: Kenwood Café Retro ES550 Espresso Maker, 15 Bar (Cream) (Kitchen & Home)
I did my homework and after reading many reviews (good & bad) for every single coffee machine going - I plumped for this one and boy, I am glad. Previously I had a Philips Senseo which was OK but the coffee was luke warm and since Costa Coffee has only just found its way to the nearest town, I really wanted a good machine. There's a saying you get what you pay for and this is so true. OK, so the machine costs around 100 but it really is worth every penny. The first coffee tastes great and then once you get to know how to use the machine and you get used to it, the coffee just gets better & better. I also invested in a coffee grinder and a big cup & saucer from my Costa Coffee shop. I would highly recommend this machine to anyone. I know people say that the cup warmer is not great but hey, think about it, for health & safety reasons it can't be that hot. Yes the top gets warm but not that warm. It does not detract from the coffee the machine makes and you should not let this sway your decision as to whether or not to buy the machine. If you don't want to spend anything in the region of 300 on a Gaggia or Francis Francis X1 then this is definitely the one for you.
The machine looks great in any kitchen and will certainly have your friends green with envy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good deal, 16 Aug. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Kenwood Café Retro ES550 Espresso Maker, 15 Bar (Cream) (Kitchen & Home)
This is a good deal. I've had Krups, Gaggia and Dualit espresso machines before and this compares well with them, and is a lot cheaper. It's solidly made and looks good. It does take a bit longer to get up to the required heat for steaming than some other models, which is why I give it four rather than five stars, but capuccino ought to be part of a leisurely period of the day so this isn't a big problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars better value else were, machine ok, 16 Aug. 2008
This review is from: Kenwood Café Retro ES550 Espresso Maker, 15 Bar (Cream) (Kitchen & Home)
This machine looks great, and the coffee is good. The steamer works well. But this machine,s has a big down side, when it has delivered the coffee it continues to drip, so you have to remove the cup and replace it whith a empty cup to catch all the drips, and boy does it drip.I can't beleave how much Amazon is chargeing for this machine, you can buy this in most shops or online for uder 70.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Had to return two machines, 6 Dec. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenwood Café Retro ES550 Espresso Maker, 15 Bar (Cream) (Kitchen & Home)
It's a nice looking machine unfortunately the engineering quality is terrible. The first one gushed water from the electrical housing after 6 weeks. Amazon replaced it without a quibble. The frother on the second one ceased to work after 2 weeks. This time we asked for a refund. Again, no quibble from Amazon, but disappointed by Kenwood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars problems, 25 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Kenwood Café Retro ES550 Espresso Maker, 15 Bar (Cream) (Kitchen & Home)
Not been at al happy with this machine. I used reguarly for 6 months and no probs but since then it had proved very tempramental, failing to discharge coffee at all, or somethimes emitting too much. I have tried to maintain it well, using descaler etc but am less than impressed. It does LOok the part though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It may be good...but do they have it?, 20 Oct. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Kenwood Café Retro ES550 Espresso Maker, 15 Bar (Cream) (Kitchen & Home)
I ordered this item on 14 of September since when the delivery date has been put back twice, so it is now expectd to be early November. Amazon are unable to tell me whether that delivery date will be any firmer than the previous estimates or what the problem is. Interestingly all the other reviews are from the Summer when, presumably, they actually had a few of these in stock. Anyway if you order this item prepare for a wait - a longer one than they initially tell you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Kenwood Cafe Retro Es550 maker, 12 Jan. 2010
By 
Mrs. A. Worlledge (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kenwood Café Retro ES550 Espresso Maker, 15 Bar (Cream) (Kitchen & Home)
Dont buy this it is not up to a good standard and there are much better on the market for a lot less price - drips all the time at first then ceases all together useless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews