Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No-one wants to be where Tom nor Dan stands.
This portrays a nightmare that most gay guys dread even to think. No one wants to be where Tom nor Dan stands. I normally like happy-go-lucky kind of films (see my other reviews), but, I needed to mention this one.

The film was made on a low budget. However, it has unbelievable energy/power in it. You will be drawn into the story as you watch. This is a film...
Published on 20 April 2007 by Hiro

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strangely Compelling
This film seems more like a play in a theatre than a movie, which I think is one of its strengths due to the raw appearance and demeanour through out. Anyone that enjoys the theatre would understand how the more serious drama plays can give you that more personal involved feel which allows you to really identify with the characters, this is exactly what this title does...
Published on 7 Aug 2007 by Steve Kay


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strangely Compelling, 7 Aug 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 24th Day [DVD] (DVD)
This film seems more like a play in a theatre than a movie, which I think is one of its strengths due to the raw appearance and demeanour through out. Anyone that enjoys the theatre would understand how the more serious drama plays can give you that more personal involved feel which allows you to really identify with the characters, this is exactly what this title does here, added to the fact that there are very few scenes filmed outside its very easy to imagine this as a filmed for TV on-stage performance.

Scott Speedman; probably better known for his role as Michael Corvin in 'Underworld' is very convincing in his role and plays along side 'X-Men' trilogy's 'Cyclops' James Marsden, in this tale of past wrongs and (possibly misplaced) unrealised responsibility.

This is not a film that can be watched over and over again but, if you look out for it, you can pick it up here at some really low prices so its definitely worth buying to watch at least once just for the story and then maybe a second time to see how all the cleverness falls into place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No-one wants to be where Tom nor Dan stands., 20 April 2007
By 
Hiro "Tokyoite" (West Hampstead, London) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The 24th Day [DVD] (DVD)
This portrays a nightmare that most gay guys dread even to think. No one wants to be where Tom nor Dan stands. I normally like happy-go-lucky kind of films (see my other reviews), but, I needed to mention this one.

The film was made on a low budget. However, it has unbelievable energy/power in it. You will be drawn into the story as you watch. This is a film that makes you wonder how the main characters are now after you turn off your DVD player. Highly recommended. Go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty boys are having a feast, 12 Nov 2004
By 
Michael Bo (Frederiksberg Denmark) - See all my reviews
Tom (Scott Speedman) picks up Dan (James Marsden) in a gay bar, pins him down to take a blood sample and holds him hostage until Dan's HIV test arrives to announce whether he is the guy that infected bisexual, married Tom five years ago in Tom's only ever gay tryst. If Dan proves to be positive himself, Tom is going to cut his throat - but literally.
In long stretches the low budget of this film is quite annoying, as we witness playwright-director Tony Piccirillo go out of his way to disguise the fact that there was no money to work with. Some of the visuals, such as the repetitive and meaningless flashbacks and the jarring way of editing at times, are really annoying, but just as you are about to give up on it, you find yourself increasingly absorbed by the drama, not least because pretty boys Marsden & Speedman are up to the challenge. Surprise. The two teen idols are having a feast with the first really meaty parts of their respective careers, and they succeed in maintaining sympathy for their characters (no mean feat, as they are quite multi-faceted).
Not a great film, far from it, but it has energy and fine acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a night in, 25 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 24th Day [DVD] (DVD)
A very engaging play/film. This has all the hallmarks of a play made into a film - the apartment set up, the dependence on dialogue and its transmission by the actors with some flashbacks to pad out the play to give it film status. If they had been omitted it would have made little difference to the overall result. That result - marvellous. I was put off initially by some of the revues stating that this wasn't going to be an all singing all dancing movie but one with a rather disturbing topic at its centre. I'm glad I ignored them. The film was very engrossing in that the actors carried everything and neither of them turned out to be who the viewer assumed them to be at the outset of the performance - especially the captive. He turned out to be something completely different altogether. I won't ruin the ending but this play/film is more than someone being held captive for 48 hours or so. It's about what is the truth, the `true truth' and a convenient truth. Give it a shot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Intense, 13 Jan 2012
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 24th Day [DVD] (DVD)
Great performances define this excellent reworking of the famous "fringe" play on which it's based.
Not for everyone but for theatre lovers this is an electrifying production which must have been quite shocking in a small theatrical space. The leads are exemplary and James Marsden has an opportunity to show his real acting skills which more lucrative parts (ie X Men etc) have certainly not given him. So this static, but emtionally charged, small gem, is certainly recommended for audiences wanting to hear clever writing and to see two actors deliver definitive performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A characters' film, 30 April 2006
This review is from: The 24th Day [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent acting , a vivid portrayal of emotions by the actors . You are able to put yourself in their place and understand what they are going through . I recommend this film unreservedly .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The 24th Day [DVD]
The 24th Day [DVD] by Tony Piccirillo (DVD - 2004)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews