Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little piece of Essex history
Having been a bit disappointed by the other Feelgood DVD (which only had Lee Brilleaux from the original line-up) I just had to have this film of the classic Feelgoods.
The bad news is that the concert film itself is only just over 30 minutes long but like others have said, it is 30 minutes of brilliance. Not only that, but the sound has been mixed into both Dolby...
Published on 24 Feb. 2005 by A. Skudder

versus
5 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too short
Great concert although too short and they could have left out the covers. CD is brilliant but they could have reversed this with a lengthy concert DVD and shortened CD.
Published on 19 May 2005 by dustnbones


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little piece of Essex history, 24 Feb. 2005
By 
A. Skudder (Crawley, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Having been a bit disappointed by the other Feelgood DVD (which only had Lee Brilleaux from the original line-up) I just had to have this film of the classic Feelgoods.
The bad news is that the concert film itself is only just over 30 minutes long but like others have said, it is 30 minutes of brilliance. Not only that, but the sound has been mixed into both Dolby Digital and DTS, and the picture is remarkably good considering its age.
The inclusion of an audio CD of more than 70 minutes of live Feelgood, mostly from the same show, makes up for the shortness of the film somewhat.
I saw Dr Feelgood play (in Southend) in the very early 80s and remember them being good then, and I can remember that the first time I really heard of them was in about 1977. What surprised me a bit about this film was how (comparatively) big they were even back in 1975. Big enough to have a decent repertoire, fill up the Kursaal, and have a film made anyway.
What sums it all up for me is seeing Lee Brilleaux onstage in a white suit which looks as if it has been slept in - on a dirty garage floor. That sheer aura of seediness, combined with Wilko's manic wanderings, backed up by one of the tightest rhythm sections ever makes this one of the best concert films I own. Lee was once quoted in the early 80s as saying 'Who needs a drum machine when you've got The Big Figure?' and you can see what he means here.
Above all, I was most amazed that this was such a cracking show before they had even released such songs as Milk & Alcohol, Baby Jane, and Down at the Doctors. If this show had featured the immortal "eight bars of piano" line it would have been worth 6 stars out of 5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bonus audio CD review, 13 April 2005
By 
Lozarithm (Wilts, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Going Back Home [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Dr Feelgood, especially in their original incarnation of Lee Brilleaux, Wilko Johnson, John B Sparks and The Big Figure, were a thunderously good live band. Their third album was one of the great live albums of the seventies and was by far their best selling album, reaching number one in the UK charts.

It was called Stupidity, named after the Solomon Burke song featured on side one of the record, which was recorded at Sheffield City Hall on 23 May 1975, while the second side was from the Kursaal Flyer in Southend on 8 November 1975, which was also filmed.
A film of some of the gig has appeared for the first time this year on DVD and comes with this bonus CD, which features the entire concert. My copy is a promo which did not come with the DVD, so I am reviewing the bonus CD only. It is the first time the whole concert has been released (although besides the album side, a few other tracks from the concert have turned up on singles) and captures the band at the peak of their powers.

As well as songs from the first two essential albums, Down By The Jetty and Malpractice, there are a number of live favourites such as I Can Tell and I'm A Man (both Bo Diddley covers), Sonny Boy Williamson's Checkin' On My Baby, the Coasters' I'm A Hog For You and another Leiber/Stoller song, Riot In Cell Block Number Nine, a signature selection for the band.
Three bonus tracks come from the Sheffield concert a few months earlier: Talkin' 'Bout You (the Chuck Berry rather than Ray Charles song), Stupidity and Walking The Dog. The final track, Johnny B Goode, was on a single that came with early copies of the Stupidity album, and was recorded at the Friar's Club in Aylesbury on 17 May 1975.
Only three Sheffield tracks from the Stupidity album are not on this CD (Twenty Yards Behind, All Through The City, She Does It Right) and there are performances from the Southend concert of all of these tunes, so this is a more than adequate substitute for that album. And you get a DVD, too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what used to be called "R & B", 14 Mar. 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This is UK rhythm and blues at it's purest in my book. The same sort of songs that the Stones played in 1962 but with an edge that wasn't allowed in 1962. The influence of the band on what came to be known as punk rock is blindingly obvious. Listen to that snarling guitar, it comes from the same place as "Janie Jones world" and "You did me no wrong", it was just 2 years earlier. This lineup of Dr Feelgood was the first live act I ever saw (15 years old)at Cheltenham Town Hall in 1975. I will always be grateful for that. There can be no better introduction to live music. Stage lights come on, 4 men in tight suits walk on stage. They play the first 4 notes of "I can tell" and then the world explodes.
Ta.
S.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, 6 Feb. 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I was lucky enough to see the Feelgoods back in the 70s with Wilko Johnson on guitar (before he left the band in 1977). Despite doing other things his name has always been inextricably linked to the Feelgoods so it's great that a DVD has, at last, been issued with this line-up.

With Lee Brilleaux's growling vocals, and Wilko's trademark black and red telecaster and manic stage act (Uncut magazine's review reckoned he looked "as if every nerve in his body had been wired up wrongly at birth" !), this is a piece of music history that anyone growing up in the seventies should own.

The only disappointment is that the DVD at around 35 minutes is half an hour shorter than the bonus audio CD of the SAME concert!
Why?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ORIGINAL AND THE BEST, 5 Jan. 2009
This review is from: Going Back Home [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
What can I say about this DVD / CD release. I was actually at the concert on the 8th November 1975 at The Kursaal in Southend, and I vividly recall the night - and a fantastic night it was. Then again it was always a great night when the Feelgoods played their (adopted) home town of Southend - or Saarfend if you prefer!

This DVD captures the band in full flight, thundering through a set list culled from their first two superb studio albums (Down By The Jetty and Malpractice). It was no surprise to see the resulting live album (Stupidity) reach the top spot in the UK album chart once it was released.

I saw the band many times over the years, several times with Wilko in the early days and subsequently with all the other guys that followed, and to me the band was always outstanding so long as Lee Brilleaux (a true gentleman and a man of immense pride and passion for his music) was at the helm.

This concert footage is about as good as latter day British R&B gets - the band are firing on all cylinders and the music is timeless. Sadly there are no bands around that play with this sort of enthusiasm anymore - not even the current Feelgood line up can match it - so what we have here is a piece of history, something to behold and something to be proudly held aloft as a worthy tribute to one of the best live bands the UK ever produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They did it right!, 6 Sept. 2006
By 
Colin Banks (NW England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
The DVD, although as has been said was short, it took me back to the day I saw Feelgood at Colston Hall, Bristol in ?1977 with Wilko still in place. The rawness of the live performance was what R&B was all about and the more clinical sounding studio albums somehow did not convey the seediness and slightly sleazy appeal of the band. "Definitive" is an overused word in reviews but it does apply to most of the songs on the DVD and CD in this set. I have heard better versions of "She does it right", Lee Brilleaux's diction falls apart (?Alcohol) but that would be the only slight gripe. Wilko was born to play Johnny B Goode.

It prompted me to look up my University room mate and email him to let him know. I have not spoken to him since 1979 and he now lectures in Biochemistry in Brussels. He said he would buy the set to replace his ancient vinyl records which are worn out. He introduced me to Feelgood so this is reverse evangelism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this DVD!, 24 Feb. 2005
By 
DriverJohn (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
You can't beat being there, but this is a line up you'll never see live again, so this DVD is as near as you can get. It captures so much of what this band was about, all up close. It's about the best music DVD I've come across - buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 30 Minutes of Rythm n Blues History, 22 Feb. 2005
By 
Andy Waller (Paisley, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I so nearly didn't buy this DVD and was only tempted due to it being bundled with Bob Marley and the Wailers live at the Rainbow. A big thank you therefore to Amazon and I hope others like me were tempted to do the same.
As the credits for this film roll with an aerial view of Southend in all its glory it immediately becomes clear that this is a 30 minute 'rockumentary' made by United Artists. The down side of this, as already mentioned in other reviews, is that it is edited footage of the concert. The up side is that it is professionally produced and showcases Dr Feelgood at their peak.
This being my first review on Amazon (that being a give away itself) I feel reluctant to go over the top in praise for the DVD. However, whichever way you cut it this is a simply superb treasure of one of the greatest bands of their time. Despite having seen Dr Feelgood and Wilko Johnson and the Solid Senders in 1980, I had forgotten what an incredible live act they were. I have often doubted the inclusion of Dr Feelgood in Punk/New Wave complilations, however the energy and passion of this concert does remind you of why compilers are tempted to lump Dr Feelgood with the Sex Pistols et al. That being said, the difference between Dr Feelgood and their Punk successors is that they were a mightlily accomplished group which ultimately makes them more satisfying. Wilko Johnson is truely unique, incomparable and his performance alone makes this DVD worth watching.
In summary, this is a must buy DVD for anyone who remembers and enjoyed Dr Feelgood. Thank goodness such a significant performance exists and moreover that it has been re-released. Surely, a Dr Feelgood style band is due a revival - although I wonder if any modern band could summon this amount of energy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars O U T S T A N D I N G !, 17 Feb. 2005
By 
M. Gobello (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Going Back Home [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Nothing better than this!!! NOTHING!!!!
The DVD is short but maybe the best rock & roll performance ever filmed...but the bonus audio cd...........MY GOD, its UNBELIEVABLE, a complete show!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It makes "Stupidity" pale...BUY A DOZEN AND MAKE OTHER LIVES BETTER...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old rockers never die -, 14 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Back Home [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Old rockers never die - Especially when their performance has been captured on disk.

This DVD is, as expected, dated but the raw energy, talent and damn good vibe still bursts through.

The CD is excellent, the DVD is not long enough, I could have watched another hour of this.

Recommended purchase. * * * * *
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Going Back Home [DVD] [2005]
Going Back Home [DVD] [2005] by Dr.Feelgood (DVD - 2005)
£8.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews