Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you know it makes sense
A new Pat Metheny Group album always brings with it a knot of anticipation and expectantcy - and not a little trepidation. Seasoned campaigners have become used to acccepting that there is no such thing as a typical Pat Metheny album. But what you always do get is Jazz music in it's widest sense from a musician who understands clearly the language that is "Jazz"...
Published on 28 Dec 2004 by P. Cottom

versus
12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More Yes than Miles Davis
I know I'll be slated for saying this, and I'll never again receive any free concert posters from Ted Kurland Associates, but this album is sheer confectionery -- another concoction of Metheny sweetmeats with no soul. For those of us who've been following the Metheny-Mays combo since the 1970s, it is depressing that they have come up with something that is better labelled...
Published on 25 Jan 2005 by Gavin Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Smooth, 7 April 2009
By 
N. D. Onions "Nigel O." (Bromyaard, 'Erefordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Way Up (MP3 Download)
Easy on the ear if played in the background, but complex if you listen in detail, nice production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slow burning classic, 1 Sep 2006
By 
SL "stef_cd" (Bournemouth, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Way Up (Audio CD)
I think this work will become a jazz classic. To me it is a synthesis of Pat Metheny and Lyle Mays work over the last 20 years or so but is in no way a retrospective. Having seen this incarnation of the group live you can see a new dynamic and can hear it on this album.

Though the music is not challenging like some of Pats recordings it does take a few run throughs to pick up the compositional thread. Give it a chance.

The cover art is great too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More Yes than Miles Davis, 25 Jan 2005
By 
Gavin Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Way Up (Audio CD)
I know I'll be slated for saying this, and I'll never again receive any free concert posters from Ted Kurland Associates, but this album is sheer confectionery -- another concoction of Metheny sweetmeats with no soul. For those of us who've been following the Metheny-Mays combo since the 1970s, it is depressing that they have come up with something that is better labelled as '70s progressive rock' than 'jazz'-anything. This has as many pointless changes of key, pace and tone as anything put out by Yes, Gentle Giant or Hatfield and the North. This is Metheny's 'Topographic Oceans', not his 'Kind of Blue'.
There comes a point in the life of many a successful musician where family becomes more important than the music. Suddenly you find you're living half a continent away from your main collaborator and, despite the connectivity of the Internet, you've lost that creative spark. Making music becomes a job rather than the passionate fulfilment of a dream. The more I think about, the more I feel this happened for Metheny in the late 1980s, around the time he switched from ECM to Geffen.
Certainly the switch from Geffen to Nonesuch seems to have achieved no change in direction. (They're both Warner subsidiaries, aren't they?) Like most of the Geffen albums, THE WAY UP (68:10) contains a bit of something for everyone. Even the cover design is the multi-coloured pot-pourri that characterised the Geffen years. (With ECM, you tend to get a much more focussed album cover, with a harsh Nordic simplicity. Some would say the 'chamber-jazz' recording style of ECM is also preferable to this heavily layered symphony.)
I am part of the loyal fan base, in that I dutifully buy the albums and go to the concerts when they visit our area. But I just feel the guys could achieve so much more -- possibly by making it much simpler. Perhaps it's time for another Metheny-Mays duo album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much noodling, 10 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Way Up (Audio CD)
PM is never anything less than inventive and even his least successful projects are always worth hearing. For me - and I've been listening to him ever since his first album - this one belongs firmly in the latter category. While there are some thrilling moments on this album there are too many sudden changes of tempo where normally a new track would begin, and far too much aimless noodling that leads nowhere. A musician this fine is, however, never dull, but he has produced much better and infinitely more satisfying music than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars technically good, 14 Mar 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Way Up (Audio CD)
on hearing the intro to the album you think your in for something special, but thats where it ends... i'm sure pat & the band worked hard to create this music, but it's far to self indulgent, if your looking for jazz with beautifull melody then go for STILL LIFE TALKING. I sat & listened to THE WAY UP with some freinds about half way through we had all had enough of the total abcence of melody.A bit like juggleing, technically good, but could you tollerate watching it for more than 5 minutes?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing album from a genius, 8 April 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Way Up (Audio CD)
After being introduced to Metheny's Group a number of years ago, and gradually collecting all his albums, I eagerly awaited The Way Up. Disappointment soon followed as I found this work not only inaccessible to the general listener but, quite frankly, boring. Speaking of Now was a wonderful work, showing the skill and ability of each of the musicians and the composer(s) but The Way Up is a complete contrast, and has now been consigned to the 'charity bag' pile. A real disappointment - and what has happened to Richard Bonar?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Chocolate box musak., 24 Jun 2005
This review is from: The Way Up (Audio CD)
Repeat after me....never purchase an album on the basis of gushing reviews.
Several minutes in and I simply couldn't stand anymore.It reminds me of RTF's pompous Romantic Warrior or several albums by McLaughlin since the great one ( sadly ) lost his way.Technically brilliant BUT with no soul whatsoever.High class wallpaper music destined for countless restaurants and coffee shops.
I own a few Methany albums but really,this is classic Emporers clothing stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Way Up
The Way Up by Pat Metheny (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews