Customer Reviews


156 Reviews
5 star:
 (127)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


553 of 555 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Rathbone & Bruce Film Collection
This set is absolutely stunning. And at the price - its also a 100% bargain.

As a big Sherlock/Rathbone fan, in a mad attempt to get decent copies of these films, I've been buying Sherlock DVDs on many different labels since I've had a DVD player. Most of the ones I have acquired originate from USA. They've all been released in this country by Orbit Media. The...
Published on 25 Feb 2005 by D. KNIGHT

versus
20 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why NO Subtitles????
Good old Optimum.
Another "longed for" set rendered totally useless to me by the absence of Sub-Titles.
Why Optimum, WHY ?????????
My money is waiting to buy many of your products just as soon as you add subtitles !
Published on 17 Dec 2011 by S24


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

553 of 555 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Rathbone & Bruce Film Collection, 25 Feb 2005
By 
D. KNIGHT "knightd68" (Radlett - Herts UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes - The Definitive Collection (Digitally Remastered) [DVD] (DVD)
This set is absolutely stunning. And at the price - its also a 100% bargain.

As a big Sherlock/Rathbone fan, in a mad attempt to get decent copies of these films, I've been buying Sherlock DVDs on many different labels since I've had a DVD player. Most of the ones I have acquired originate from USA. They've all been released in this country by Orbit Media. The quality of the pictures & sound is generally poor. Some of the copies I've paid out for are nothing short of miserable.

This set absolutely wipes the floor with EVERY other Rathbone Holmes DVD on the market. For picture quality & sound clarity it is positively without rival. Quality is simply pristine.

As for the films themselves - you probably know! I'm aware the Brett fans will argue til the cows come home that he was the best (and I can see why), but for me, Rathbone WAS Holmes. Nigel Bruce's bumbling Watson has been an iritant of serious Sherlockians since these films were made, but as someone who largely came to Holmes through this series, I personally have a lot of affection for both the actor and his clumsy, pompous Watson.

One of the discs contains a short documentary, detailing the lengths that the producers went to get this set as brilliant as it is. It was 10 years in the making!

There are expert and insightful audio commentaries by David Stuart Davies on 5 of the films. These were full of fascinating facts about a whole range of subjects connected to the pictures you were seeing; from subtle props (that I hadn't previously spotted) through to mini biographies of the actors who pop up throughout the 14 films. It's honestly just wonderful!

The films are;

1939: The Hound Of The Baskervilles
1939: The Adventures Of Sherlock Holmes
1942: Sherlock Holmes And The Voice Of Terror
1942: Sherlock Holmes And The Secret Weapon
1943: Sherlock Holmes In Washington
1943: Sherlock Holmes Faces Death
1944: Sherlock Holmes And The Spider Woman
1944: The Scarlet Claw
1944: The Pearl Of Death
1945: The House Of Fear
1945: The Woman In Green
1945: Pursuit To Algiers
1946: Terror By Night
1946: Sherlock Holmes And The Secret Code ("Dressed To Kill" In The USA)

Cheers to whoever's idea it was to finally give these films the respect they deserve! You've made my decade (at least in a DVD sense)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


214 of 218 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Holmes Series Restored., 5 Dec 2005
By 
John Austin "austinjr@bigpond.net.au" (Kangaroo Ground, Australia) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes - The Definitive Collection (Digitally Remastered) [DVD] (DVD)
There’s hours of enjoyment to be found in this valuable package. It contains all 14 Sherlock Holmes films featuring Basil Rathbone and Sir Nigel Bruce dating from 1939 to 1946. There’s also a fascinating account of the films restoration history, in which we are told that the work occupied almost a whole year for each film, and also that one or two of the films, including one of the last of them, “Pursuit to Algiers”, were almost ready to disintegrate. The resultant visual quality is amazingly good – I can distinguish the various tweeds from which the coats of Holmes and Watson are made.
Mainly produced and directed by Roy William Neill, the series originated in England where the first 2 films were made. Each used “period’” costume and setting, although only the first was based on a Conan Doyle story. Then production was transferred to Hollywood where mainly British cast members were still used, but the settings were now contemporary and sometimes the films were unashamedly war propaganda.
With a presence, appearance and inimitable diction, Basil Rathbone is unsurpassed as an exponent of Sherlock Holmes in film. His wish to be relieved of the role and the death of regular producer and director Roy William Neill terminated the series. Nigel Bruce, as Doctor Watson, replicates the bluff, doddery English buffoon that he played so well in numerous films of those years. It’s nothing like Conan Doyle’s original, but wonderfully endearing.
These were never more than B Grade film productions in their day, most lasting little more than one hour. Somehow, their appeal remains strong. If the opportunity arises, and visitors and relatives of all ages survey my shelves, one or other of these films is often chosen in preference to something of more substance. “The Hound of the Baskervilles” is the most often chosen, but my favorite is “Pursuit to Algiers”.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just to say........, 4 Nov 2006
By 
Jezz "Jezz Bullock" (NEWCASTLE, STAFFS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes - The Definitive Collection (Digitally Remastered) [DVD] (DVD)
Just wanted to comment on the quality of the transfer. Who ever decided to go through and remaster these films deserves a pat on the back.

Some of the older films whilst still having an appeal are spoilt by the distraction of the quality. This is not the case here!!

Whilst watching them you could all most believe they were filmed recently. Even on LCD and plasma they still stand out as quality.

Even if you have the earlier unmastered copy's I would say still get this copy you will be amazed at the difference, and the price amazon have them at it won't break the bank either!!

Roll on to them winter afternoons with the snow outside and fire inside, watching one of these, there is no better way to spend an afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


434 of 449 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So what's on it???......So, HERE'Swhat's on it!, 25 Feb 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes - The Definitive Collection (Digitally Remastered) [DVD] (DVD)
For the benefit of the reviewer above here's a list of all 14 films:
1. The hound of the Baskervilles
2. The voice of terror
3. The adventures of Sherlock Holmes
4. The secret weapon
5. Sherlock Holmes in Washington
6. Sherlock Holmes faces death
7. The spider woman
8. The pearl of death
9. The scarlet claw
10. The house of fear
11. Pursuit to Algiers
12. The woman in green
13. Terror by night
14. Dress to kill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


159 of 165 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 14 Rathbone/Bruce Movies in one superb set, 1 Sep 2005
By 
Julian Evans "Jules" (Darkest Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes - The Definitive Collection (Digitally Remastered) [DVD] (DVD)
The 14 movies (on 7 discs) are:
The Hound of the Baskervilles 1939
The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes 1939
The Voice of Terror 1942
Sherlock Holmes and the Secret Weapon 1942
Sherlock Holmes in Washington 1943
Sherlock Holmes Faces Death 1943
The Spider Woman 1944
The Scarlet Claw 1944
The Pearl of Death 1944
The House of Fear 1945
The Woman in Green 1945
Pursuit to Algiers 1945
Terror by Night 1946
Dressed to Kill 1946 (Known in the UK as Sherlock Holmes and the Secret Code)
Yes, I think Jeremy Brett is the best onscreen Holmes, but I grew up watching Basil Rathbone and these films are still wonderful, atmospheric movies that capture the spirit of Holmes the master detective.
The box set makes a great addition to any DVD collection.
Picture it; an open fire in midwinter, a glass of something in your hand and one of these movies flickering away on the TV. Bliss.
I also recommend the Sherlock Holmes radio shows that Rathbone and Bruce made in the 30s and 40s, they're great too - and the whopping great 23 DVD set of the Granada TV/Brett series (another excellent buy from Amazon).
I love being transported back and losing sight of the 21st century for an hour or two, and this DVD box set does that wonderfully.
The DVD transfer is excellent. The films look better than I have ever seen them.
Come on, get your credit card out... the game's afoot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last! The true definitive brought up-to-date., 5 Feb 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes - The Definitive Collection (Digitally Remastered) [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant. A superb collection of the best Holmes and Watson ever - yes even better than the very good modern alternatives. OK they might be a bit corny if you are judging on today's standards but nothing compares to the magic and atmosphere of these excellent digitally remastered black and white editions.
The DVD's come in a really well designed and easy to use package that takes up no more room than a thick book.
Buy them, sit back on a rainy Sunday afternoon or on a dark winter's evening and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Boxset Of These Classic Iconic Films, 1 Aug 2007
By 
Scott "A Likely Lad" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes - The Definitive Collection (Digitally Remastered) [DVD] (DVD)
This was a collection that I had waited years for and it didn't disappoint. Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce will always be Holmes and Watson for me and the chance to see these great 1940's films in a clear remastered form was too good to miss.

I'm not going to go into plot details of each film as that has already been done, the boxset's highlight apart from the remastering of the films themselves is the great documentary on the restoration of the series, the amount of work that went into restoring these old prints was staggering and took years but the results show, depending on the original condition of each film a handful of them look as if they were filmed yesterday while the others have been improved enormously. The one downside is that I would have prefered a mini documentary on each of the film's restoration rather than the same general overview of all the films that is repeated on every disc, good though it is.

A selection of the films has the original movie trailers attached and these have not been restored but are so interesting and rare that I don't really care and in a way being presented in their raw form as it were does invoke a strange kind of Pathe newsreel type footage feeling and I can imagine being in the old cinemas watching this, another great special feature.

There are audio commentaries on selected episodes by various Holmes experts and they are among the best that I have ever heard, the amount of information that they provide is astounding, not only about the Holmes films but movies of the time in general. There are also reproductions of a selection of the movie posters on postcard that are varied in each boxset, a friend's set of 5 cards are completely different from mine.

These films are classic and brilliant and for the remastered footage alone any Holmes or old movie fan simply must own this boxset, with the excellent and rare special features making it even more indispensible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired Sherlock Holmes Series!, 24 July 2006
By 
Roger Clark (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes - The Definitive Collection (Digitally Remastered) [DVD] (DVD)
Mr Davies is right. This definitive series of Basil Rathbone's interpretation of Sherlock Holmes is inspired. Forget the carpers. They complain about anomalies and say the updated stories are not true to Conan Doyle's originals. But Hollywood's interpretations work in their own right - even the films where the great detective fights the Nazis!

Basil Rathbone is the definitive Holmes. Spot on with his interpretation of the character. Far from seeming old fashioned Rathbone seems curiously modern. He speaks fast, but with wonderful clarity and force. And Nigel Bruce is superbly funny as Dr Watson. Rathbone and Bruce are one of the great double acts in cinema history. You can see they were friends in real life by the way they react and bounce off each other in these films.

Who said B movies can't be classics? These are. Lovingly made and filmed. And now wonderfully restored. If anything can bring about a Basil Rathbone revival it's this boxed set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vintage holmes., 7 May 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Ward Davies (Canterbury , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes - The Definitive Collection (Digitally Remastered) [DVD] (DVD)
i can not express enough the feelings of joy and relief, to discover that someone has gone to a lot of time and effort in methodically remastering all fourteen sherlock holmes films with the incomparable Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce. what a joy to behold.

there is a feaurette explaining how all this was done, and is informative.

the previous D.V.D release of these films was pitiful to put it politely. picture and sound quality left a lot be desired.

so sit back and enjoy the number one interpretion of the famous detective - yes that is you Basil and not the over- rated Brett(he is okay).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute gem!, 28 July 2008
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes - The Definitive Collection (Digitally Remastered) [DVD] (DVD)
I must confess, I didn't wait for the boxed set. As soon as I heard about UCLA's work on these movies, I imported them from the States. Let's get one thing straight, most of these were essentially propaganda B-movie fillers released during WWII and have no relation to the original Conan Doyle mysteries. Yet, Rathbone plays Holmes with complete conviction - he IS the Great Detective. Let's ignore for the moment the technical quality of this release and look simply at the movies. They are fantastic quality, superbly directed, with wonderful camera-work making the most of the B&W medium. The dialogue is well crafted, the mood music stunning, and the quality of the supporting actors belies the B-movie categorisation of most of these classics. But the quality of the prints was generally very poor until UCLA got to work. The results are astounding. I've been watching these films for 40 years and these are the best versions I have seen. The sound quality, in particular, is probably better than the original. The prints are not perfect, there are limits to the restorers art. They cannot create something out of nothing. I look forward to getting my hands on more of UCLA's work. The job they do is nothing short of miraculous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0bd16c0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews