Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest Kung Fu Movie
What can I say! This movie is a must see but only the original version, as the stupid american version has cut out the best bits. The story evolves around Stephen Chow and pals trying to update Shaolin Kung Fu, by incorporating the moves with football. I must say the best moment for me is the hilarious shaolin cabaret act... I bought this film for my cousins and we...
Published on 14 May 2006 by S. Bruno

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Only Dubbed version available on Amazon Instant Video
This is an amazing film; in my view as good as Kung Fu Hustle; but with a lighter tone.

Unfortunately on Amazon Instant Video only the dubbed version is available; hence 1 star instead of 5.
Published 4 months ago by Mince


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest Kung Fu Movie, 14 May 2006
By 
S. Bruno "SueBru" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shaolin Soccer [DVD] (DVD)
What can I say! This movie is a must see but only the original version, as the stupid american version has cut out the best bits. The story evolves around Stephen Chow and pals trying to update Shaolin Kung Fu, by incorporating the moves with football. I must say the best moment for me is the hilarious shaolin cabaret act... I bought this film for my cousins and we laughed so much we kept on rewinding this scene.

I can't reccommend this film enough. If you have a silly sense of humour and like your kung fu slap-stick style, than this gem is definately for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best comedy from Asia and one of the best of all time!, 24 Jan 2005
By 
This review is from: Shaolin Soccer [DVD] (DVD)
Nice! The west have finally caught on.
But Ignore the promo quote.. "The Matrix meets Match of the day" Very insulting to any film goer, casual or not. This came before The Matrix way back in 98. Watchowskis "borrowed" the special effect ideas and thats it! And MOTD... yeah so they kick a ball....
The title says it all... you don't need a quote like that!
It's about a group of disbanded Shaolin Monks forced into drab everyday jobs in our commercial times. One day though.. a crippled ex soccer star who after decades of being bullied by a git soccer promoter/manager decides to form the best soccer team ever after seeing what the Shaolin dudes can do! In combo we get "SHAOLIN SOCCER!" Now if only that were true!!
This is like no film you have ever seen.. throw away reality, forget about "midiclorians" And just watch it. It's pure comical genius! wrapped around the best use of CG imagination.
Remember some factoids before watching though...
1. Being chinese myself I need to tell you that Stephen Chow uses OTT expressions and gestures in most of his films which adds to the comedy effect.
2. The Karaoke scene is stupidly funny if you know that even in Chinese it does not ryme and is embarrassing to hear. This is why Stephen Chow and 1st brother are laughing for real.
3. The big boned monk's martial art is "sui seung piu" which when he used to be thin.. the art was "to walk on water"
Ironic comedy..
4. "Ah Miu" the love interest. You are meant to believe that she has been to some womens Shoalin school or class..
5. The singing scene where Stephen meets Ah Miu... he starts singing, that used to be the chinese way or courting... very ancient, try it. Also used in Hakka opera... in this it's serious taking the wee wee.
6. The pain and violence in this is normal in oriental comedy.
7. There are also serious acting in this just to be even more ridculous!
8. Watch it uncut! Like milk in tea!!You must!
This is Stephen Chows best flim to date.. until I get to watch Kung Fu Hustle which has just finished in Asia.
Now watch this muvver and dance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great! Football worth Watching!, 12 Feb 2007
This review is from: Shaolin Soccer [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this film on television, at 3 o clock in the morning so my memories might be a bit blurred, but what i remember is the best game of football i've ever seen. A funny, silly but very watchable film the martial arts and special effects made the matches hilarious and epic as the players flew through the air and sent the ball flying through the air in flames. the romance (theres always some, even in chinese films) is slightly strange, but it all works out in the end. The film is done with subtitles, but i think i prefer that to the over american dubbing thats done on alot of films

overall a funny stunning film that makes any football match afterwards seem boring and incomplete
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Own Goal, 11 Aug 2005
By 
Donald Thompson "waldo357" (Belfast N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shaolin Soccer [DVD] (DVD)
I was a little apprehensive about this movie, after all kung fu football? Even more left field than the average baseball movie! But its a hoot, never a dull moment, even if its obvious what is going to happen at the end. A ragtag team of dreamers, disillusioned drifters and failed entrepreneurs, with an alcoholic crippled ex-footballer as a coach take on the all conquering Team Evil. Now what do you think happens? This is pure escapist fun from Stephen Chow and his team of usual suspects. No great acting on show here, simple one dimensional characters and a hackneyed storyline. Yet carried off with so much verve and panache its impossible not to love. This movie does exactly what it says on the tin. But watch the cantonese version, its longer, makes more sense and the jokes are even better than the stilted english delivery. And thats not even mentioning the incredible action and stunts.............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Combine kung fu and soccer, and you get a very funny film, 31 Dec 2005
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shaolin Soccer [DVD] (DVD)
Shaolin Soccer makes for perfectly ridiculous fun when a team of down and out kung fu masters coalesce around a degraded legend turned coach to take the sport of Chinese soccer to new heights (literally). For twenty years, Golden Leg Fung (Man Tat Ng) has limped around in the service of Team Evil Coach Hung (Yin Tse) waiting for his chance to be a coach, only to be ridiculed and driven away. Then he meets a poor kung fu master out on the streets and, after seeing what incredible leg power the fellow has, comes up with the crazy idea of forming a soccer team of kung fu masters. Mighty Steel Leg Sing (Stephen Chow), who had been looking for a way to spread kung fu teachings among more of the populace, quickly seeks out his former Shaolin brothers, none of whom are interested - at first. Eventually, the new dream team is assembled. There's Iron Shirt Tin, Iron Head, a very hefty Light Weight, Lightning Hands, and Hooking Leg (each of them named after his particular kung fu specialty). They don't know the first thing about soccer, and Golden Leg has a time trying to coach them up in time to enter the big, upcoming soccer tournament. Just when everything appears lost, the guys' kung fu powers are reawakened, and it's Game On from that point on. They aren't exactly intimidating when they come out in their yellow bathrobes, each one of them less athletic-looking than the next, but it's immediately obvious that these guys, with their high-flying, ball-screeching skills, are a force to be reckoned with. They are most definitely a sight to see.
There's one more kung fu master in town, a shy young woman named Mui (Zhao Wei) who has no self-confidence and works making sticky buns (using kung fu, of course). Might Steel Leg Sing befriends her, and there's a weird kind of romance between the two, but their weird relationship is sort of a weak spot in the story - although Mui herself is certainly a character of great importance. The film is really just about absurdly unreal kung fu soccer moves on (and above) the field and their culmination in the championship game between Team Evil and our beloved Shaolin Soccer Team. Hung, never above cheating, manages to put a team on the field that can actually outmatch the seemingly invincible kung fu soccer team, making it a contest unlike any you've ever seen before. CGI effects aplenty accompany each and every move on the field, serious injuries abound, and the enthusiastic crowd loves every minute of it. You'll see soccer play that even Pele could not have dreamed of (largely because it's all physically impossible) in this ultimate battle of good and evil. There's never really much doubt about how things will end, but that doesn't take away from any of the zany super-soccer special effects that make this the most exciting soccer game in history.
Shaolin Soccer is funny by design, and the key to making such a film is to go all out with the special effects. That's exactly what Stephen Chow does in this hilarious blend of soccer, kung fu, and comedy. Even when it takes on a distinctly cartoonish air, Shaolin Soccer proves more entertaining by the moment. With its constant humor and spectacular special effects, the film all but guarantees that a good time will be had by all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 7 Nov 2013
This review is from: Shaolin Soccer [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It is a great movie! To bad it didn't get a U.S release but at least I found a uk version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I hate football but I loved this!, 4 Jan 2009
By 
P. White (Cambridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaolin Soccer [DVD] (DVD)
Oh this is a great film. The main character realizes that he can use football to promote kung-fu and does so with astonishing humour and delight. You'll either love it or hate it I suspect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish my local team played like that., 26 Jan 2008
By 
This movie caught my attention due to the combination of kung fu and football. Two of my favourite things in one so it can't be too bad, right? Yeah it's kind of a strange concept but it sounds good, right?
Absolutely right.
This film exceeded all my expectations. It's twice the film I expected it to be. First we have the shaolin masters down on their luck. With nothing much to rely on in the modern world but their kung fu skills and sadly that doesn't pay the bills. Add to this a washed up soccer coach living in the shadow of his former team mate and you've got your starting point. I won't give too much away but they go on to form a team and enter a major tournament. I'll leave the rest for you to find out.
This film has action, comedy and great effects. Even if you don't like football this is well worth a watch. I highly reccomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 3 Jun 2005
By 
J. Ghosh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shaolin Soccer [DVD] (DVD)
i can't think of a single thing to fault in this movie, apart from a nagging feeling that the offside rule might be being violated in a large part of it. Luckily I'm not a soccer fan, so I really couldn't care less!
Watch out for 'Bruce Lee' in goal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesom, 27 Mar 2004
By 
G. Coope "Anim" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It starts good, gets even better and finally blows you away. This film had me going from laughing my head off to totally gripped.
As an example...
there was a scene with a booming vibration as the camera pans down to a plastic cup (Jurasic park style) with the water rippling. You then see one of the footballers kicking a ball at a wall. The wall is really far away but he kicks so hard that it screams across the grass, smacks into the wall with thunderous iimpact and comes straight back to him.
There are so many great special effects in this film that you don't want it to end.
Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shaolin Soccer [DVD]
Shaolin Soccer [DVD] by Patrick Tse (DVD - 2005)
3.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews