Customer Reviews


213 Reviews
5 star:
 (159)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead Mans Shoes
I watched this film last night - for the umpteenth time and still found it almost as good as the first time. There are some segments that have the effect of stunning you when you first see them, but they are still incredibly powerful at the 20th time of viewing.
I can only echo the sentiments of other reviewers. In many senses this is minimalistic, stripped down film...
Published on 13 Feb. 2006 by R. Fox

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dark humoured, overrated, gritty revenge tale with a few twists
Basically a man goes in the army and when he comes back he finds his brother has been abused and tortured by a group of men. He then sets out to take revenge on them all. It has a twist near the end that you will not see coming but makes perfect sense as to why he is doing it, it also has a final sort of twist that is easiest to predict but is nonetheless tense and also...
Published on 4 May 2011 by Will


‹ Previous | 119 20 21 22 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shane Meadows at his best, 10 Aug. 2007
By 
R. Jenkins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Man's Shoes [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
How often do you admire an artists early work and be dissapointed by their later more commercial work. Well this is director Shane Meadows at his best, he will find it very hard to better.
As much as I love his latest movie "Outlaw" it is "Dead Mans Shoes" that sticks in my head. Simply put this is a must watch British movie with substance and guts. nuff said ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern updating of the Elizabethan bloody revenge tragedy, 24 Mar. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Man's Shoes [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
There's something almost classical in this modern day tale of bloody vengeance. While the plot may be a lot simpler than most classical revenge tragedies, the talking to the ghost of the dead man is straight out of Elizabethan theatre of blood, and lends an air of dramatic importance to an otherwise uncomplicated narrative. The depiction of the low lifes in a beautiful but depressed part of England looks absolutely spot on to me, as worrying as that seems, but it does highlight the real problem there is with drug use in Britain, especially in the post industrial areas most ravaged by Thatcherist policies and the globalisation of industry. It portrays characters who are practically professional wasters, totally submitted to a future of doing nothing but getting stoned on drugs to wile away the endless days. And it shows the real truth of some of them being dealers in the only profitable trade in the area.

An excellent setting then, for which to base a tale of sworn revenge for the death of a harmless and defenceless young man. All this is very promising, and then we get the lead performance from a relatively unknown actor that puts a lot of better known movie actors in the shade. The screenplay's pretty good, there is real tension and fear at times, and some of the scenes are memorably brilliant, like the feeding the junkies their own junk in one apocalyptic pot of tea - again, very Shakespearean. It is drenched in dark humour as well, so much so that it probably should be seen as a dark comedy more than as a straight thriller. The only down thing I found with it is the unrealistic total absence of police officers when big brother Richard sets out on his trail of revenge. This major flaw aside, it is a most captivating thriller, especially on the first viewing. Proves that you do not need a huge budget to make commited and captivating films. A real stunner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Man's Shoes [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
excellent film seen it before so had to buy it for my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Aug. 2014
By 
M. Marsh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Man's Shoes [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Received item quickly as described well pleased with my purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Man's Shoes [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Best film ever made. Enough said
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Man's Shoes [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
one of the best brit films ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No subtitles, 26 April 2013
By 
Mr. M. Vallis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I would have loved to have bought this, but there are no subtitles as far as I can make out. A shame if you're deaf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Man's Shoes [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Fantastic film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harsh but fair?, 28 Jun. 2005
By 
Chris Gummey "Bongohouse" (Zurich Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Man's Shoes [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is the ultimate story of revenge. The film is very well acted and produced. It shows you the darker side of the North of England in its surroundings and characters. It is a thought provoking movie - if you want a Romantic Comedy I would not suggest this one. It's on the level of Gangster No.1. What the brother does in this film is very harsh, but perhaps only fair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Man's Shoes [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
gripping
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 119 20 21 22 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Man's Shoes [DVD] [2004]
Dead Man's Shoes [DVD] [2004] by Shane Meadows (DVD - 2005)
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews