Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Heartfelt Production
In the early 19th century on the lone, shivering Yorkshire moors, the owner of Wuthering Heights brings home an orphan from Liverpool named Heathcliff (Timothy Dalton). When the kindly Mr Earnshaw dies, his son Hindley forces Heathcliff to work as a stable boy. Though clearly despised by Hindley, daughter Catherine develops an intense kinship with the dark, brooding...
Published on 9 Aug. 2005 by absintherocker

versus
13 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a complete loss
A classic book so you're unlikely to be unfamiliar with the story.
This version of the movie is eminently forgetable except for the presence of Timothy Dalton as Heathcliff. Young and gorgeous with a voice that can make you melt, I can happily watch this film skipping through it just to watch his scenes.
However for something acually worth watching him in,...
Published on 13 Feb. 2006


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Heartfelt Production, 9 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Wuthering Heights [DVD] (DVD)
In the early 19th century on the lone, shivering Yorkshire moors, the owner of Wuthering Heights brings home an orphan from Liverpool named Heathcliff (Timothy Dalton). When the kindly Mr Earnshaw dies, his son Hindley forces Heathcliff to work as a stable boy. Though clearly despised by Hindley, daughter Catherine develops an intense kinship with the dark, brooding Heathcliff that blossoms into fervent love. When Cathy (Anna Calder-Marshall) meets wealthy neighbour Edgar Linton (Ian Ogilvy) and encourages his attentions, the devastated Heathcliffe runs away. Cathy marries Edgar, and a few years later the resentful Heathcliff returns with his own wealth and sophistication. Still obsessively in love with each other, Cathy gets deathly ill and the plot ensues with tragic consequences for all involved.

What a delightful, haunting tale of sheer brilliance and disturbing imagery. Filmed on location in Yorkshire, the scenery is spectacular, foreboding and beautifully depicts the characters sense of desolation and hopelessness. Director Robert Fuest dishes up plenty of mood, atmosphere, and some rather delectable performances from his two leads, particularly Timothy Dalton as the tortured, gorgeous Heathcliff. This film is not without faults, it does not zealously follow Emily Bronte's novel and some viewers might find this annoying. Overall, a stunning, heartfelt production that I warmly recommend to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captures the atmosphere and great theme music., 6 July 2008
By 
Jeffrey Davis "jmd555555" (Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wuthering Heights [DVD] (DVD)
I have just watched this on DVD having originally seen it at the cinema in Morecambe in 1974, whilst a student at Lancaster University. The atmosphere of this version and especially the appropriately haunting theme music, composed by Michel Legrand, has stayed with me ever since. I was, therefore, delighted when the main title music appeared on a CD 'The Essential Michel Legrand Film Music Collection' released on the Silva Screen label recently.

I largely agree with the review by Ellen and although, like almost any film based on a novel, the movie takes liberties with the plot, it maintains the essential atmosphere of Bronte's world, being beautifully filmed in the West Riding of Yorkshire. Above all I liked the performances by Anna Calder-Marshall and Timothy Dalton, as an appropriately brooding Heathcliffe. The final sections were especially haunting (no pun intended) and my wife, who was watching the film with me, was in tears at the end, which has to be an indication of the film's success!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wuthering Heights - Great British film making, 17 April 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wuthering Heights [DVD] (DVD)
I have to say I loved this film. It tells the story of Heathcliff, adopted into the Earnshaw family in rural Yorkshire, and the effect he has on the family, especially his adopted sister Cathy. Heartache and tragedy ensue in this dark tale of passion.

Directed by Robert Fuest (yes, he of Dr. Phibes fame!) and starring Anna Calder Marshall as Cathy and Timothy Dalton as Heathcliff, this is an impressive film. The actors all bring their characters to life, especially Dalton who really gets the passionate, brooding Heathcliff pitch perfect (And who could also teach Russell Crowe a thing or two about doing a Yorkshire accent!). He's got a lively twitchiness to him, and a capacity for great emotion whether it be love or malice that really suits the part. Calder-Marshall is an impressive Cathy, and the two work very well together. Julian Glover menaces as the dissolute Hindley, and Harry Andrews is a stern yet somehow kindly patriarch.

The cinematography of the Yorkshire dales is similarly impressive, and the director has used it to good effect to emphasise the ruggedness of the characters and the world they inhabit. It's directed with quite some flair and style, never allowing the actors to ham it up too far and packing some real emotional punch.

It strays quite a way from the book, only giving us the story of Heathcliff and Cathy, and not the second generation story of their children. It also somewhat changes the fates of several main characters and doesn't show Heathcliff's revenge on Hindley. But these changes I think were necessary to make a film of manageable length, and with a distinct ending. Purists may hate the ending, but I think it is perfect for the film, and leaves you feeling emotionally drained at its intensity.

This film is streets ahead of the 2011 version, which lost all sense of character and story. This version conveys both in spades.

This release of the film presents it in widescreen with an unimpressive mastering that is OK, but you feel it could have been cleaned up a bit. The sound is excellent and allows Michael Legrand's fine score (another big plus for this film!) to come through nicely.

A slightly mediocre release of an absolutely classic film, 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It could have been so much better, 3 Dec. 2008
By 
V. Augustic - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wuthering Heights [DVD] (DVD)
- had the whole story been told (& more faithfully)...
First of all, this film won't please those who are big fans of the book. They should probably skip it altogether. The dialogues are somewhat simplified, the film takes a lot of freedom with the plot (Cathy & Heathcliff's relationship/Hareton...) and the ending, although beautiful and haunting, is not what the book describes.
However, I give it 4 stars because this film is lovely as it is. Better viewed perhaps as `inspired by the book' rather than `an adaptation of the book'. Cathy, Heathcliff, Edgar and Nelly were all perfectly cast in my opinion & the music score by Michel Legrand was wonderful. It's a shame this version didn't cover more of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The film that 'gets' Catherine and Heathcliff, 19 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wuthering Heights [DVD] (DVD)
This for me is the best Wuthering Heights film because Anna Calder-Marshall and Timothy Dalton truly capture the passion of the characters of Catherine and Heathcliff as they are in the novel, particularly Catherine's madness and in that sense, really do the book justice. It could be a film designed simply to pull in crowds at the cinema, yet for me achieves far more than the Laurence Olivier/Merle Oberon effort ever could.

The film deviates from the book and makes up its own ending, presumably because it would have been a very long film if it had not, but I would prefer that than have Catherine and Heathcliff portrayed as a couple of people on a farm who shoot a few meaningful gazes at each other, as has happened in numerous other productions. So many productions are based on the two actors staring at each other a number of times and little else.

Given that, for me, Anna Calder-Marshall in particular has captured Catherine so perfectly when there have been so many productions that have fallen so far short, I am not sure anyone could play Catherine in the way that Anna does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wuthering Heights, 11 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wuthering Heights [DVD] (DVD)
Timothy Dalton does glowering and gloomy very well, helped by his "gypsy" dark looks. Can't make up my mind about Anna Calder-Marshall's part - at times instead of being passionately in love she seems almost nervous of Heathcliff. However, grit your teeth those of you who hate the classics to be messed with, not only is one character killed off but the ending is SO not the haunting dramatic story its supposed to be. Still, good Heathcliff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wuthering Heights [DVD] (DVD)
Timothy Dalton at his best. He was just amazing as Heathcliff. What a broody character. For Bronte fans everywhere, and people who believe in true love never dying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well done, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wuthering Heights [DVD] (DVD)
Well done and well acted. I watched it with a friend who had not read the book and he loved it.

I have read the book several times and I was aware of omissions. For instance,Hareton doesn't appear in the film, and Nellie Dean is played as a young kitchen maid. It was difficult to evaluate the film because I was so familiar with the story that I kept thinking about what was left out.

It was well acted and enjoyable and yes, I enjoyed it. But my friend who didn't know the story was swept away by the movie and he loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moving and Evocative Version, 16 July 2014
By 
N. G. Harverson (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wuthering Heights [DVD] (DVD)
I am glad to see that others have recognised that this is a worthy version. The scenery is stunning and the incredibly beautiful theme by Michel Legrand is haunting. Timothy Dalton and Anna Calder-Marshall are brilliant and the film brilliantly captures their passion and the ultimate tragedy. Would rather have this than the Olivier version anyday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A cult movie, 14 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wuthering Heights [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very honest adaptation to Brontë's Wuthering Heights.
As an adaptation, it has limits and this must be take in consideration.
It's really a pity the director did not dare to show the whole E. Brontë story, cause
in this movie we have the right actors, the right location, the right photography,
the right music, etc. Obviously, Marshall's CAtherine is not the same elder Catherine: she is sadder and humbler than
the original. Timothy Dalton really born to play Heathcliff, he is perfect here. But this Heathcliff is not the same
that the original. Even Edgar Linton is not so meek in this adaptation.
As I have said, it's a pity not dare to transport the Gothic, opressive and cruel atmosphere of the book
to the screen movie, because every part of this production were superb: actors, music by the great Michel Legrand, photography and the real Yorkshire location.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wuthering Heights [DVD]
Wuthering Heights [DVD] by Robert Fuest (DVD - 2005)
£4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews