Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ....But wonderful anyway
This collection is edited like a collage (slamming from black and white to color sequences, giving the endings no room to breathe) and the little snippet interviews are pointless and inane. There is nothing here that reaches the heights of half of "Not Only", almost nothing you'd hold up as their best work (maybe the Swedish interviewer, and Pete and Dud are always...
Published on 8 Mar 2006 by John Ellis

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars vintage stuff
Well you can't have everything but this id a fair taster of Pete & Dud's stuff.Leaves you wanting more.If only there was enough to make up a proper box set.
Published 17 months ago by P. S. Addison


Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ....But wonderful anyway, 8 Mar 2006
By 
John Ellis "jonthes" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peter Cook and Dudley Moore - The Very Best of Goodbye Again [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This collection is edited like a collage (slamming from black and white to color sequences, giving the endings no room to breathe) and the little snippet interviews are pointless and inane. There is nothing here that reaches the heights of half of "Not Only", almost nothing you'd hold up as their best work (maybe the Swedish interviewer, and Pete and Dud are always on game). A rudimentary Sherlock Holmes sketch was stretched into the rudimentary feature film. And yet, it's still mostly wonderful, with the usual high level of visuals on what was a television budget, and very sharp writing and characterizations. If this was the only Cook/Dudley material to be had, they'd be discussed as the equals of Monty Python, at least. So buy "Bedazzled" and "Not Only" first, but this is essential too. Hope there is more (how about a collection of the rest of the existing "Not Only" shown on the BBC as specials years ago and whatever was left off this - hell, or anything else they did).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Quick Goodbye, 21 Nov 2005
By 
Gary W. McClintock (Clive, IA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peter Cook and Dudley Moore - The Very Best of Goodbye Again [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Urg. So finally Goodbye Again in a format I can watch in the U.S. only to get a very expensive 90 minutes of sketches frequently cropped at beginning and end (I'm reasonably certain some portion of the cropped sketches must exist complete since the intro to one appears on the audio CD of Cook In His Own Words but doesn't appear on this DVD.) Worse still is the sketches are interspersed with pointless little snippets of interviews with Shaun O'Riordan, Bob Brydon, and Richard Ingrams that first appear seemingly out of nowhere since there is no introduction before the sketches begin. These snippets apparently are meant to provide some kind of introduction or insight into the following sketch but they are just a huge annoyance. Otherwise the full interviews with O'Riordan and Ingrams also included on the DVD are quite good to have. I'm not certain I see much point in the interview with Brydon. Do I really need to say much about how brilliant many of these sketches are? So, five stars are for Pete and Dud. DVD is only about three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love and laugh, 4 May 2014
By 
Mr. J. A. Little (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Cook and Dudley Moore - The Very Best of Goodbye Again [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Great to see these two again, a delight and a laugh. Classic comedy. Would certainly buy more. Also bought the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's not bad, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Cook and Dudley Moore - The Very Best of Goodbye Again [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
It's pretty good. It's not bad. Can't complain. Doesn't have everything that I would put in a The Very Best of Goodbye Again. but that's my own fault for not compiling the collection myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The very best of goodbye again, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Cook and Dudley Moore - The Very Best of Goodbye Again [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I very much enjoyed this dvd. I been years since I watched Peter Cook and Dudley Moore, I never realised how funny they were. I would thoroughly recommend this dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dud and pete, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Cook and Dudley Moore - The Very Best of Goodbye Again [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
watched these two in the sixtys , some ive not seen found after 30 years , give them a go younger ones ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars them at their best, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Cook and Dudley Moore - The Very Best of Goodbye Again [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
this shows how they both became famous actors and were the comedians of their day everyone should watch this GREAT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BOUVARD AND PECUCHET, 1 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Cook and Dudley Moore - The Very Best of Goodbye Again [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This novel, written by Gustave Flaubert, in the middle of the nineteenth century, tells the story of two enthusiastic, nave et somewhat stupid mates. Exactly like Peter Cooke and Dudley Moore in "Pete and Dude". For a French, watching the most gifted TV humorists of the last century, it's a plasure as good as drinking a Chateau-Giscour in a "Three Stars" restaurant. They are exceptionnally brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars vintage stuff, 21 Feb 2013
By 
P. S. Addison - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Cook and Dudley Moore - The Very Best of Goodbye Again [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Well you can't have everything but this id a fair taster of Pete & Dud's stuff.Leaves you wanting more.If only there was enough to make up a proper box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Item not yet received, 6 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Cook and Dudley Moore - The Very Best of Goodbye Again [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This item is long overdue notyet
received may be due to Christmas
holidays.

I shall review it if i ever get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews