Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Underated Film - Great Entertainment
I love this film, its got a great cast, a decent story line and looks fabulous on the screen.

No HD audio but does have DTS sound.

I like all the references to World War 2. Like the design of the film - film noir 40's look. Not alot to fault. Its got lots of action, robots, dinosaurs, rockets, special effects, exposions, planes that turn into...
Published on 10 Jan 2009 by cornwallnick

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It seemed like a good idea at the time...
Even on Blu-ray, Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow has serious image problems, although the fact that the movie is deliberately stylised makes it a little less of a problem. Unfortunately, the two-tone, almost sepia color and the excessive diffusion of the image tends to bleed the film of vitality at times and does no favors whatsoever to Gwyneth Paltrow, who looks...
Published on 13 Dec 2006 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Underated Film - Great Entertainment, 10 Jan 2009
I love this film, its got a great cast, a decent story line and looks fabulous on the screen.

No HD audio but does have DTS sound.

I like all the references to World War 2. Like the design of the film - film noir 40's look. Not alot to fault. Its got lots of action, robots, dinosaurs, rockets, special effects, exposions, planes that turn into submarines, and a older looking version of Captain Scarlet's Cloudbase - Whats not to like?

Will be a blu ray that will be put on regularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art Deco/Film Noir/Film Serial Triumph, 1 Dec 2008
By 
Stuart L. Macrae (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One of the first movies to be shot completely via blue screen and a joy to behold on blu-ray. With a nod to german expressionism, the shadows and mise-en-scene of 30s/40s Hollywood film noir, and a plot reminiscent of the Flash Gordon/Buck Rodgers adventure serials this is terrific entertainment and a feast for the eyes. The cast are superb; Law and Paltrow recreate a Bogart & Bacall/Tracy & Hepburn-esque love/hate relationship convincingly and with great humour, whilst Jolie has some fun with a stiff-upper lip accent (not easy with her lips!). Director Kerry Conran took four years to make a short black and white trailer for this movie at home on an apple computer to convince Hollywood to get behind this project - thank goodness they did! I am really looking forward to seeing more movies from this cinematography genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missing the point?, 29 May 2005
Bottom line - if, like me, you love Flash Gordon, King of the Rocket Men (incidentally, when's that going to get a release?) and Undersea Kingdom, you're going to enjoy this. And no, there's little character development or complex scripting. The reason being: it's a film about big robots and spaceships. Simple as that folks, if you don't get your jollies at the sight of a plane with flapping wings, this just isn't going to work for you. Me, I used to watch Manhunt of Mystery Island in the school holidays and this took me right back there again.
This is the anti-Star Wars (no faux-emotional undertones or god-awful 70s mysticism). It's what adventure films used to be like. If I want serious stuff, I'll watch Das Boot or Brazil. If I want to see Jude Law blow things up whilst Angelina struts about in an RAF fetish outfit and eye-patch, I think this is where I'll be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extreme means to a magnificent end, 21 Mar 2005
By 
Michael Bo (Frederiksberg Denmark) - See all my reviews
Of all the things that I appreciate most about this movie is the way that it, in the best possible taste, refuses to become yet another cheap spoof on a genre movie. Nothing could be more tempting, and obviously the references to other pieces of sci-fi fluff abound, but the cuteness never gets out of hand, it remains tongue in cheek but never goes overboard. In a self-indulgent post-modern world this is not a given.
So, we get Buck Rogers and Flash Gordon, The Day the World Ended, the silent Fritz Lang epic, Indiana Jones, we get Jude Law and Gwyneth Paltrow looking so much like Alan Ladd and Veronica Lake that it is uncanny, we get Metropolis and Lost Horizon, the whole history of 20th century pop culture, diffused by gentle irony, but never crass or vulgar. Rolled into one sublime dish of a film that looks like nothing ever did outside of a comics book.
Let me add this: I loathe CGI, the artificiality of it, when it strives to look naturalistic and offers no texture, no three-dimensionality. Here, CGI is an extreme means to an end, and first-time director Kerry Conran shapes his work with utter conviction, with subdued, dark colours, slightly blurry like in old, preserved celluloid, and every image is so richly saturated and aesthetically perfected that it makes your jaw drop.
And yet, 'Captain Sky and the World of Tomorrow' is not style without substance. No more so than any other action movie in history. The characters are nicely written, and I must say that I did not think either Law or Paltrow had it in them. Joe and Polly Perkins are not character parts, never aimed to be, but they have as much depth and more real emotion than the majority of action or sci-fi roles, just try and compare it to any of the 'Star Wars' characters, and this one wins out without even half-trying.
'Captain Sky' proved to be no box-office hit, but that does not detract from its abundant cinematic and narrative wealth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Novice movie maker Kerry Conran's big time eye candy, 20 July 2005
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
"Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow" represents the triumph of style over substance, the P-40 Tomahawk over mechanical monsters, and computer generated actors over death itself. That last part is actually the tip of an ethical iceberg that has the potential of being the biggest point of contention in Hollywood since Ted Turner broke out his box of crayons and started colorizing black & white classic films. But for now we can just enjoy director-writer Kerry Conran's tribute to both the decade and the serials of the 1930s done with enough digital magic to make going over the rainbow seem like an unnecessary journey.
The story begins in a New York City untouched by either the Great Depression or the madness of Hitler's Nazis. But there is still a Teutonic threat beginning to encroach on the civilized world courtesy of the brilliant, mysterious, and apparently evil Dr. Totenkopf (enjoy the surprise). Polly Perkins (Gwyneth Paltrow), an intrepid reporter for "The Chronicle," stumbles upon the first significant clue about the good doctor only to be distracted by the legion of giant killer mechanical men walking down the streets of New York City. In defense of the city comes Joe Sullivan (Jude Law), the Sky Captain himself, whose P-40 Tomahawk with its Flying Tiger teeth has been souped up by his sidekick, Dex Dearborn (Giovanni Ribisi). Of course Polly and Joe had something in the past, so there is a lot of subtext to her backseat driving as they go merrily along.
In the grand tradition of the Saturday morning serial the hero and his gal get on the trail of the bad machines, fueled by Dex being kidnapped by a mysterious Asian woman (Bai Ling) and helped by a few old friends, most notably Franky Cook (Angelina Jolie), the commander of a most unusual British airship. The running gag for the second half of the film is that Polly has only two shots left in her camera and keeps bypassing visual wonders, such as the real Shangri-La, because there could be something better around the corner.
Visually, "Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow" is a visual treat, filled in the same sort of sepia tones we associate with the first reel of "The Wizard of Oz," a film that is clearly a reference point for Conran. Much is made of the fact that the actors performed in front of a blue screen to which Conrad added all the dazzling images of the mechanical creations in the art deco style of a lot of the architecture we see in the film, all glowing with a blue light. But Law, Paltrow, Jolie and the rest of the cast get credit for playing these roles straight without ever getting too tongue in cheek. This is an earnest homage and not parody, and while the result might not be great cinema it is still as much fun as any of the Saturday morning serials it wants to emulate.
This film wants to be "Raiders of the Lost Ark" for a new generation of filmgoers weaned on computer generated images, but it is not up to that level. The difference can be simply quantified by saying Kerry Conran is not Steven Spielberg, but it would be more worthwhile to point out that in his first film Conran has a much better handle on the cinematic over the dramatic aspects of movie making. His next project is the long awaited adaptation of Edgar Rice Burrough's "A Princess of Mars," with a screenplay by Mark Protosevich ("The Cell"), which should help firm up the dramatic half of the equation. Given the stunning eye candy provided in his debut effort, whatever Conran does in the future will certainly be worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, but 'suspend your disbelief', 22 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Sky Captain & World Of Tomorrow [DVD] (DVD)
This review contains no plot spoilers. Highly recommended for all the family (may be scary for under-7's); but you need to completely 'suspend your disbelief'.
A stunning cinematic '1930s sci-fi' blend of Doc. Savage pulps, Luther Awkright, Eisner's The Spirit, Jerry Cornelius, The Wizard of Oz, and many more. The final visualisation of this blend is highly successful; but our engagement with the characters often lacks strength. Their back story is, however, successfully conveyed and the characters themselves are more than strong enough for the purposes of the plot. The superflous 'Lost World jungle scenes' might have been replaced with something quieter that gave the main characters a little more time to 'flesh out', and also gave the audience a breather from action before we plunge into the final quarter of the film.
The DVD transfer & audio quality is excellent. This is definitely a 'cinema' film, ideally needing to be seen in the dark & with good headphones. Seeing it on an average living-room TV in daylight is probably not going to do it any justice at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sky Captain and The World of Tomorrow, 17 Jun 2005
Superb genre-busting action featuring Jude Law as Sky Captain and Gwyneth Paltrow as Polly Perkins, an inquisitive journalist. Angelina Jolie pops into the film late on as a stiff and rather plump upper-lipped British Air Force commander and former flame of Jude Law's character.
A combination of film-noir, black and white sci-fi like the Flash Gordon or Rocket Man cinema series and all-out actioner and romance, the film manages a great deal of style and invention, while keeping the plotline moving on quickly. It is like nothing you have ever seen and will delight fans of retro / futuristic flying machines and robots. Maybe there is even an influence from Japanese monster movies like Godzilla.
Great performances from Law and Jolie as they camp it up with forties-style British accents and from Paltrow as she plays the dame with a mission and only two photographs left. A good dose of humour keeps the fantastic world the director has created from becoming overwhelming as well as offering up some great film stereotypes, including mad German scientists and plucky backroom boys ready to save the day.
So many films have influenced this creation it is hard to keep track, but it could be described as a combination of the Wizard of Oz, Lost Horizon, War of the Worlds and the Maltese Falcon. This kind of electicism makes for a great and surprising movie and a visual feast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An impressive achievement - a film with Gwyneth Paltrow and Angelina Jolie which after 25 minutes we just want to end already..., 14 Mar 2014
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky Captain & World Of Tomorrow [DVD] (DVD)
I was very disappointed by this film and I barely managed to finish watching it. Below, more of my impressions, with some limited SPOILERS.

In an alternate history, in 1939, the zeppelin Hindenburg III arrives in New York City, mooring at the Empire State Building. A frightened scientist named Dr. Jorge Vargas (Julian Curry) makes arrangements for a package containing two vials to be delivered to a Dr. Walter Jennings (Trevor Baxter), then vanishes. Polly Perkins (Gwyneth Paltrow), a newspaper reporter for "The Chronicle", looks into the disappearances of Vargas and five other renowned scientists. Then suddenly an army of giant robots attacks New York City... Nothing more will be said about the story.

This film was an attempt at launching a new kind of SF sub-genre, the "diesel punk" (after the futuristic "cyber-punk" and the XIX century based "steam punk") with extravagant stories situated in the years 1918-1939. This kind of world already exists by the way, in the game system "Call of Cthulhu" and it is quite an interesting thing. Here however the attempt completely failed, not because the idea was bad, but because the execution was horrible.

The BIG problem with this thing is that it is B-O-R-I-N-G! I failed to get involved into the story, I couldn't care less about the main character (Sky Captain played by Jude Law), the mystery was hardly very mysterious, there was no credible villains (a pity because this film wasted one of the coolest names ever for a villain - Dr. Totenkopf!), action scenes were rather pathetic, etc. etc.

Even more incredibly the director chose for Gwyneth Paltrow a look which transformed this one of the most gorgeous women alive into a barely average chick... Angelina Jolie, even with an eye patch, looks way hotter, but her appearance is, to my considerable regret, very short.

This kind of action films with a brave hero and a gorgeous, clever girl, needs good dialogs and humour to be succesful (like in first "Indiana Jones" or in "Mummy"). In this film humour is mostly missing in action and there is may be a grand total of three good one liners, if that.

This kind of film is also supposed to end with a great dramatic finale in form of massive fireworks - but here the ending is a half-dysfunctional fire-cracker. After watching it I was all "Meh" - nothing more.

Bottom line, this film is a failure. Boring, mostly humourless, wasting three excellent actors and some good ideas, this is a serious let down and it VERY DESSERVEDLY bombed when released. My advice is to skip it entirely and if you really want to watch it, rent rather than buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It seemed like a good idea at the time..., 13 Dec 2006
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Even on Blu-ray, Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow has serious image problems, although the fact that the movie is deliberately stylised makes it a little less of a problem. Unfortunately, the two-tone, almost sepia color and the excessive diffusion of the image tends to bleed the film of vitality at times and does no favors whatsoever to Gwyneth Paltrow, who looks absolutely terrible throughout the film (the fact that her performance is not just bad but plain unlikeable much of the time doesn't help: small wonder that Angeline Jolie steals the film from her). Kerry Conran does manage to recreate some of the visual style of the old Max and Dave Fleischer Superman cartoons (Mechanical Monsters in particular), but without their vivid three-strip Technicolor, and he gives good montage. Unfortunately, he's better at visual design than directing actors or action - this should be a lot more fun than it actually is. Jude Law is a particularly weak hero, lacking steel or much in the way of charisma, once again proving that he's a better character actor in supporting roles than a credible leading man. It's watchable enough and the big undersea dogfight shows how much better it could have been, but never draws you in and carries you along enough to be as much fun as it wants to be. And if you're going to use footage of Laurence Olivier to `play' the villain, at least find a voice double who actually sounds like him!

Good extras on the two-disc set, including the original 7-minute short 'opening chapter' that inspired the feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a Flash Gordon/Dan Dare comic - fantastic, 22 Feb 2005
By 
D. M. York (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky Captain & World Of Tomorrow [DVD] (DVD)
Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow shows science fiction take a step backwards and look at the vision that was held in the 50s: tough handsome heroes, beautiful cunning damsels, giant robots and the implacably evil bad guy. Though for all its old-fashioned routes the film represents the apex of computer generated images, from the huge robots to the scenery itself.
Polly Perkins is a confident and fiesty journalist on the trail of a hot story, and doesn't care where she ends up to get it. Sky Captain is an international hero/mercenary who will fight to the end to save the world. Classical stuff.
The storyline is fairly typical: mad scientist hellbent on destroying the world, and Polly and Sky Captain's efforts to stop him. The film is fairly low on plot as much of what happens is fairly predictable, but not boringly slow. On the other hand the visuals are first rate, some superb action/attack sequences.
This film is not in any way to be taken seriously. It is very far-fetched and sometimes very silly, but enjoyably so. If you enjoy science fiction but don't mind when the film isn't as series as a dental exam, you will love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sky Captain & World Of Tomorrow [DVD]
Sky Captain & World Of Tomorrow [DVD] by Kerry Conran (DVD - 2005)
2.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews