Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even more disturbing than the first...
After seeing the first film (and then the subsequent just-about-passable US remake), I stumbled upon this on a recent trip to Hong Kong. And all I can say is 'oh my god'. If you thought the first one was pretty scary, this one is even better...

This isn't really a sequal in the classic sense of the word, it just tells further stories of 'that' house, and the...
Published on 13 Mar 2005 by PhillyG

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a pale imitation of a sequel
Sequels are a bit like the infamous "difficult 2nd Album", in that they are difficult to do well. Some almost succeed but are not quite up to the original, such as Die Hard and Die Harder (ludicrous title don't you think?), some are better on every level (I'm thinking Spiderman and Spiderman 2 here), and some succeed by being totally different films (Alien and Aliens for...
Published on 21 Jun 2007 by Mr. Rwj Nixon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even more disturbing than the first..., 13 Mar 2005
By 
This review is from: The Grudge 2 (Ju-On) [DVD] (DVD)
After seeing the first film (and then the subsequent just-about-passable US remake), I stumbled upon this on a recent trip to Hong Kong. And all I can say is 'oh my god'. If you thought the first one was pretty scary, this one is even better...

This isn't really a sequal in the classic sense of the word, it just tells further stories of 'that' house, and the different people terrorised (and then killed) by the mind-curdling curse that affects it's residents or anyone even vaguely connected to it. Having said that, it still holds it's own as a great standalone horror film.

The shifts in the film's timeline will leave your brain spinning, but I just about worked it all out on a second (and probably necessary) viewing - the film keeps jumping around to show you how previous and/or future events tie in with other characters - which actually works quite well and will leave you turning it all over in your mind for ages afterwards. Not the easiest film to follow but DEFINATELY worth the return on your investment in terms of scares delivered.

The scenes regarding the 'thumping sounds on the wall' seemed to me to be shoehorned awkwardly and unnecessarily into the US remake of the first film, but here they make much more sense and are far more terrifying when left to play out properly. There are many more memorable moments of spine-freezing terror too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Scariest And Most Disturbing Films Ever Made!, 11 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Grudge 2 (Ju-On) [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is absolutely brilliant! Unlike the first movie, Kayako can attack you when your dreaming which has scared me for life. The ending has to be one of the most frightening experiances ever! Not only is it one of the best horror sequals, but one of the best horror movies ever made! It is much more eerier and disturbing than the first installment. I absolutely love this movie and the extras are brilliant too. If you enjoyed Ju-On: The Grudge, I recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sequel that matches its predecessor, 24 Oct 2005
By 
This review is from: The Grudge 2 (Ju-On) [DVD] (DVD)
The Grudge was a fantastic film full of some of the most scary scenes known to recent cinema, remade from 2 tv movies that created Japanese horror fans screaming for a big screen version. It relied on the story to grip you, holding no barriers to its victims. 90% of the time I am disappointed when a sequel is made, not so in this case.If like me after watching the 1st film you woke up in a cold sweat dreaming about"crab girl" and her creaking noises this film will tattoo them upon your memory, more bizarre deaths and some icy cold moments. A top class horror movie worth more than just one viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a pale imitation of a sequel, 21 Jun 2007
This review is from: The Grudge 2 (Ju-On) [DVD] (DVD)
Sequels are a bit like the infamous "difficult 2nd Album", in that they are difficult to do well. Some almost succeed but are not quite up to the original, such as Die Hard and Die Harder (ludicrous title don't you think?), some are better on every level (I'm thinking Spiderman and Spiderman 2 here), and some succeed by being totally different films (Alien and Aliens for example). However, many are simply pale imitations of their predecessors, and it is into this trap that Grudge 2 stumbles and falls.

Essentially Grudge 2 gives us more of the same as we got in the first film, picking up the story of the haunted house and the curse that dwells there an indeterminable length of time after the events of the first film. A group of documentary makers discover the urban legend surrounding the house, and decide to make a program about it, including their special guest star, a movie actress known as "the Queen of horror" Kyoko (Noriko Sakai). Needless to say, once again the house begins to wreak its terrible effect on the film-makers, cast and crew, as restless and vengeful spirits Kayako (Takako Fuji) and Toshio (Yuya Ozeki) exact their terrible retribution. Thrown into this very similar plot (hey, if it ain't broke don't fix it) is a subplot concerning Kyoko's unborn child, which may or may not be hers following an encounter with little Toshio.

Whilst the film uses much the same techniques as the first film (a distinctly unnerving use of sound effects, a non linear narrative, a creeping sense of dread and very little explicit violence) it fails to form a coherent whole. The first film demanded your attention and rewarded you as a result, and this demands the same of the viewer, but unfortunately seems rushed and more than a little unfocused in a lot of places. I actually find it hard to believe that this film was written and directed by the same man as the first film, Takashi Shimizu, because although it shares a similar style with the first film, it is in no way the equal of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Edge of the seat movie, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grudge 2 (Ju-On) [DVD] (DVD)
if you are a horror movie fan you will love this one. keeps you on the edge of your chair makes you jump
and gets your andrenalin moving. just dont watch it on your own before bedtime unless your with hubby lol!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Second Grudge film disappoints., 6 July 2005
By 
Kryptos (Johannesburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Grudge 2 (Ju-On) [DVD] (DVD)
After eagerly awaiting the viewing of this film, since the lack of sleep the first one caused, I finally popped it into the old DVD player and readied myself for more nail-biting moments. Well all I can say is that I was disappointed.
Personally I never found Ju-On: The Grudge to be confusing and it had an edge of anticipation that was lacking from the sequel. Perhaps it is the fact that you are expecting the white faced ghosts to jump out around every corner and then they do. The film seems to show too much.
The film also had a more b-grade feel to it, in my opinion. Where in Ju On: The Grudge I constantly got the pins and needles feeling when something happened, here I felt far too safe. Also gone is the sense of the house as the centre of the danger (as this is very underplayed), the claustrophobic feel that was so prevalent in Ju On: The Grudge. Here the danger seems more general and more disconnected.
Where it is still far superior to disasters like Ju Rei, I would rather recommend something like Dark Water or The Eye. And let us not forget Ring and Ring 2, where the sequel was far better than what we have here.
It is a pity, as I think Ju On 2 could have been much better. If you are new to J-Horror there are far better options to add to the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing, 28 Nov 2004
By 
woody_tng (Chelmsford, Essex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Grudge 2 (Ju-On) [DVD] (DVD)
The first movie was confusing and you would expect the second movie to answer some of the various unanswered questions! It totaly avoids doing this, but sucsessfully keeps the tension at a high beyond that of the previous film!!! If you liked the original Ju-On Episode this is a must. Psycological horror at its very best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A sequel too far., 23 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Grudge 2 (Ju-On) [DVD] (DVD)
I have to disagree with some of the previous reviewers. Having recently re-watched both Ju-Ons (the cinematic versions) I think this is a hugely inferior film. It doesn't have the atmosphere or chills of the first, although this must partly be due to the fact that we have already been exposed to the first film. I think that Ju-On was really a film to stand on its own and does not need a sequel. Right from the start of this I found myself getting bored and wanting to watch something else.
(BTW I know that Ju-On is a remake of an 80s TV movie, but having never seen it I can't really comment on that.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In my opinion; this is easily as great - and perhaps even more terrifying - than the first instalment., 29 Oct 2007
This review is from: The Grudge 2 (Ju-On) [DVD] (DVD)
By now, most audiences will be fairly familiar with the Japanese series of films known as Ju On: The Grudge; the phenomenally successful saga that began with the straight to video projects Ju On: The Curse, parts 1 and 2 - in which jealousy and adultery in a quaint Japanese suburb leads to an awful murder that marks the house for anyone who subsequently enters it - right the way through to the larger-budgeted Hollywood remake of the film and it's equally glossy sequel. Subsequent films following on from The Curse have taken the initial murder as their starting point and created around it a film of loosely connected horror vignettes, mostly in which a series of hapless characters end up in the film's iconic haunted house and then find themselves marked for death by the two most prominent apparitions of the story.

If you have already seen the American re-make of The Grudge with Sarah Michelle Geller then there's a good chance that this follow up to the Japanese original will come as something of shock. Unlike its US counterpart, this grudge features no real central character and has no real plot development (at least, not in the traditional sense). I personally don't see this as a bad thing, as it allows director Takashi Shimizu to concentrate on crafting a number of scenes of gripping high tension - as the collection of disparate innocents (this time a TV crew shooting a horror film based upon the events of the original film) who unknowingly come into contact with the infamous house and then must come to terms with the unexplainable horror that is happening all around them. However, viewers who look for things like narrative closure, explanations of plot developments and something approaching a hero that they can root for might be sorely disappointed.

As I mentioned above, this version of The Grudge instead strings together a series of inter-woven scenes that establish the significance of the curse whist setting up a number of fantastic, edge-of-your seat moments of haunted house horror. This isn't a gritty gore-fest with annoying, smug, ultra-cynical characters (as seems to be the trend with much contemporary horror - think Wolf Creek, Hostel, Cabin Fever, The Hills Have Eyes remake and 28 Weeks Later) but rather, the kind of horror that should appeal to anyone who has had to walk home late at night through an empty park and felt the presence of someone (or something) following closely behind. Your heart starts racing as you quicken your step and become convinced that you can hear footsteps rapidly approaching from the left of your shoulder! When you finally pick up the courage to turn around and look, you realise your mind has been playing tricks on you, but the thrill was still heart-stopping regardless.

I prefer this kind of horror, which is why I'm such a huge fan of the horror films coming out of Japan, China and North Korea; great works like The Eye trilogy, Wishing Stairs, Abnormal Beauty, Premonition, Infection, Chaos, A Tale of Two Sisters and Takashi Shimizu's own Grudge-follow up Reincarnation. It's slow moving and slow building, almost ambient even; often coming at you from the rear speakers rather than full and on in your face, which for me, really creates a great, eerie atmosphere that works perfectly if you're watching it at 1:30 AM and have to pause for a toilet break and to let the dog out to stretch her legs.

Unlike a lot of his American contemporaries, Takashi Shimizu realises that horror isn't about what you see, but what you don't see, and with this in mind he saves any prolonged glimpses of our ghostly antagonists until right towards the very end. He also manages to create a wonderful feeling of isolation, alienation and hopeless emptiness; not only from the haunted house so central to the story, but even in the brightly-lit suburban streets, schools, office blocks and apartment buildings that our characters inhabit. The film is also shot very simply and traditionally, with none of the hyper-cutting and frantic camera movements of western horror, which again, gives the Grudge a more believable and authentic feeling that only heightens the senses of horror and tension. This is also helped by the wonderful performances of the cast who manage to ably convey the right sense of fraught emotion without descending into screaming histrionics.

For me, The Grudge 2 is easily as great the first instalment; although some viewers may find the more outrageous elements of the closing scenes to be a little too much (I'm guessing the planned third instalment will pick up on and explain some of these ideas, but we'll have to wait and see). This is horror for those who want chills rather than spills, and those who like to invest some serious time in something that is slower, more deliberate and more dramatic than the usual stalk and slash type stuff (not that I don't love that kind of horror as well, but it's nice to have an intelligent alternative). As mentioned previously, there will be some viewers who won't want to invest their time in such a film that has no obvious sense of narrative and no single identifiable character, but at the end of the day, that's their decision. But they're clearly missing out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just a bit more of the same ...., 23 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Grudge 2 (Ju-On) [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed the first Ju-On (Grudge) movie and found it genuinely scary. What a shame the same can't be said for this sequel.

If you've not seen the first instalment then you might find this scary in places - however if you have seen the first - you won't!

There is no story build-up as there is with the original and the imagery is exactly the same in both movies so there's nothing to surprise you.

A real disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb223209c)

This product

The Grudge 2 (Ju-On)  [DVD]
The Grudge 2 (Ju-On) [DVD] by Yuya Ozeki (DVD - 2006)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews