Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars290
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.05+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 April 2006
I'll get this out of the way immediately, this is not a film that will appeal to everyone. It is what could be only described as a 'marmite' film. Some will adore its comic irreverence, and some will quite frankly 'not get it'. To me personally this is my favourite comedy of all time, and quite possibly my favourite film in general. I will attempt to not use any of the classic quotations from this film as it will spoil the brilliance of hearing them for the first time.

The story is set in a sexist news studio in San Diego, America. The lead anchor Ron Burgundy (Will Ferrell) falls for a woman at a party, and she incredibly, to Ron, rejects his not so subtle advances. The next day that very woman, Veronica Corningstone is appointed as a journalist in their very newsroom. Cue brilliant pick-up attempts, witty one liners, emotional breakdowns and scenes that don't leave the mind for weeks. Brick is the lovable fool, who interrupts with odd - yet hilarious - lines at random parts of the movie, he is the weatherman. The sports commentator Champ Kind, is a more roguish persona, who suffers a mental breakdown after Ron decides to go on a date with Veronica instead of attending their monthly pancake breakfast. Yes it's that irrelevant. Bryan Fantana is the 'man on the scene' and is the typical ladies man. All the acting in this film deserves to be noted, they all convey the different personalities of the charchters superbly and somehow without laughing.

All in all I thoroughly recommend this film to anyone with an irrelevant humour or in need of something up-lifting, which this film oddly fulfils. A cult classic in the form of Zoolander. Do watch out for the battle scene and a cameo from Jack Black. Pure comic brilliance.
22 comments|45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2005
This film is by far the best since Smokey and the Bandit 2. Will Ferrell is the new and improved Jim Carrey (although they've probably been around the same amount of time).
"Ron Burgundy has a voice that could make a Wolverine purr and suits so fine he makes Sinatara look like a hobo!" The film is filled with brilliant and quotable material such as "I have many leather bound books and my apartment smells of rich mahogany" - That's a chat up line from the legendary news anchor!
Best character in the film has to be "Channel 4's man on the street" Brian Fantana! Brian has a wonderful array of aftershaves which prompts RB to ask - "What cologne you gonna go with? No wait, let me guess - London Gentlemen or blackbeards delight?"
I love this film so much it gets better everytime you watch it. How many people do you know that can read the news AND play Jazz flute???
If you like this, you'll also enjoy the best of Saturday night live with Will Ferrell. Hilarity guarenteed.
I'll leave you with this - "I WANNA BE ON YOU!"
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Some films are so bad they're good and occasionally we feel affection for them because, if nothing else, they evoke feelings of nostalgia for a supposed `golden age' when imagination and creativity were almost commonplace and the bottom line. However, don't be fooled into thinking that because you found Dodgeball, Meet the Fockers, Happy Gilmour, etc. funny you'll respond similarly to this.

Having dutifully sat through ninety minutes (it was a gift) of utter cringe-inducing garbage I can't help but wonder whether Ferrell will ever be trusted with money again. There is supposed to be a joke hiding somewhere in this film but obviously I blinked at the wrong time. If you have the sense of humour of an emotionally retarded orang-utan you might just enjoy it but be sure not to blink!

The one remotely saving feature is the performance of Christina Applegate as Ferrell's `love interest' who, at least, tries to invest her role with some degree of integrity. Oh, and you might derive some `enjoyment' along the way by trying to guess from which superior efforts this travesty has stolen; The Day Today, and 1987's Switching Channels, being merely the most obvious.

My idea of hell - being forced to watch this vomit-inducing trash over and over again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 March 2007
Anchorman is one of the funniest films ever to come out of the States. Will Ferrell plays the obnoxious Ron Burgundy, an egocentrical prime time news anchorman who is horrified to learn he is to be partnered with a female co-anchor. Burgundy struggles to come to terms with his feelings for the lovely Veronica Corningstone whilst at the same time philosophising with his demented channel 4 news team buddies and avoiding the scheming evening news team.

Anchorman is Ferrell at his very best, with bonkers improvised script ('i'll punch you in the ovaries) and surreal, meaningless conversation ('i love lamp'). Add bad 70's wigs and moustaches, dog homicide and a gladiatorial street battle with rival news teams and you have the funniest film in years.

Like this? Try: Old School
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2005
but in an excellent way. the anti feminist plot is asking for hilarity. i thought this was the funniest movie in the last 10 years. after dumb and dumber. it is filled with lovable characters like brick. steve (bruce almighty) carell. the most random bloke you will ever witness. he is the funniest character by far but what makes the film so good is that will ferrell plays an excellent part of a big headed anchorman. even baxter the dog is brilliant. this film is sheer class and i will watch it again and again. the cheesy one liners, the street fights, and the slapstick humour is all i would want in pure comedy. well worth the money i paid for the cinema. the cameos from ben stiller, luke wilson, vince vaughn, tim robbins and jack black made it even more worth while.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2006
I watched this at the cinema a few days after watching Dodgeball and was originally disappointed by it in comparison.

However after buying it on dvd and re-watching it, over and over again (far more times than my Dodgeball dvd) I've realised what a real gem of film this is.

The script, characters and everything else in this movie is brilliant, and as mentioned earlier this film is soooo wacthable especially considering the amount of subtle jokes, background activities and cameos.

The extras on the disc are equally as funny and the commentary is hilarious.

Buy this film, if you don't like it the first time round give it a second chance before bad-mouthing it.

:-)
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2007
Will Ferrell heads up another silly comedy, with many of the jokes in the same weird vein as films like Dodgeball and Zoolander, with as many zany catchphrases, perfect for a t-shirt or to fire off at a friend once in a while.

While it's not the most intelligent comedy in the world, it never fails to make me laugh, although it's the kind of guilty chuckle normally associated with dirty jokes overheard in the office.

The cast are all spot-on, with Steve Carell really stealing the show with his mentally challenged weatherman character and Fred Willard acting every inch the flustered manager. Christina Applegate, too, captures the indignant feminism of the up-and-coming 1970s career woman, used to having to break down barriers of chauvinism at every turn.

It's one of those films you can watch over and over again, too, but it only gets the 4 stars because I need to be on the floor laughing to give anything 5.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2011
Not only does Will Ferrell authentically capture all the cheesiness of the 1970's perfectly-coiffed, mustachioed, male chauvinist, he revels in it. It's so funny watching him react to everything in life while using his "broadcast voice." It turned many scenes from being just funny to being hilarious! The supporting cast is just as strong with scene stealing from Steve Carrell and Fred Williard. The real "star" of Anchorman is Ron Burgundy's dog, Baxter: what a cutie! There are several cameos that make you go from "oh my God that's..." to peeing your pants! I would recommend this movie to anyone who remembers just how laughable the 70's were. "Six Million Dollar Man" sound effects, sappy love songs, a cartoon sequence and men who name their p****: it's all here! Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2005
I thought I should respond to the previous review, which I didn't understand. Having seen Dodgeball and loving it, I was also told to watch Anchorman, and found it absolutely hilarious, and just about funnier than Dodgeball.
I do feel, however, that this type of humour might not appeal to everyone, and agree with a previous review that it's like Marmite, you either love it or hate it- I can't see any middle ground.
To summarize, if you like films like Old School, Dodgeball or American Pie, or programs like Little Britain or Trigger Happy TV, I would heartily recommend you give Anchorman a watch.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2015
absolute rubbish. couldn't take more than 15 minutes before turning it off.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)