Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best ballet setting of the music
I enjoyed this setting of Mendelssohn's superb music much more than Ballanchine's effort, which I found completely overblown and unnecessarily augmented.
Ashton's choreography is totally in tune with the whimsicality of the piece, and he pays as much attention to the minor roles as to the principals.
I found all the dancing excellent. A real pleasure.
Published on 10 Mar 2010 by Stuart Hill

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful performance, but intrusive audience
Superb music.
Superb dancing, with Puck seemingly defying gravity. His lightness and precision of movements are a joy to watch.
Nice dreamy setting.
Beautiful costumes, although I feel that Titania's dress lacks a bit of impact, perhaps too pale. Oberon's costume is very striking in comparison.
I drop a star like I. Giles because this DVD is too...
Published on 21 Dec 2012 by Cécile


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best ballet setting of the music, 10 Mar 2010
By 
Stuart Hill (Worthing, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frederick Ashton: The Dream [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I enjoyed this setting of Mendelssohn's superb music much more than Ballanchine's effort, which I found completely overblown and unnecessarily augmented.
Ashton's choreography is totally in tune with the whimsicality of the piece, and he pays as much attention to the minor roles as to the principals.
I found all the dancing excellent. A real pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Typical Ashton ballet well done but at only 54 minutes total playing time this seems poor value these days, 11 April 2012
By 
I. Giles (Argyll, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Frederick Ashton: The Dream [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This short ballet, (54 minutes in this performance), by Frederick Ashton was written in 1964 to celebrate the 400th anniversary of Shakespeare's birth. It contained star roles for Antoinette Sibley and Anthony Dowell and the rights to the ballet were left to Dowell in Ashton's will after he died in 1988. Anthony Dowell created this production for the American Theatre ballet seen here.

The ballet contains all the hallmarks of Ashton's work having a perfect blend of grace, humour and narrative clarity. These characteristics are portrayed with complete success in this production. All the starring roles, Titania by Alessandra Ferri, Oberon by Ethan Stiefel, Puck by Herman Cornejo, Bottom by Julio Bragado-Young, Hermia by Stella Abrera, Lysander by Carlos Molina, Helena by Marian Butler and Demetrius by Ethan Brown, are played and danced to perfection and it is difficult to imagine a more successful account on those grounds than here.

Equally the costuming and staging are completely magical in their effects and the orchestral arrangements of Mendelssohn's music by John Lanchbery are just as Ashton would have wanted I am sure.

The whole thing is topped by excellent camera work without any movement blur and in equally clear sound presented in DD 5.1, DTs 5.1 and stereo. Any snags? Well, at just 54 minutes total playing time without any extras, this seems rather pricey. On the other hand, judged purely as artistic value for money, this would probably still score 5 stars. However, we do live in a commercial world. This is still short playing time, there are no extras and it is not a Blu-ray issue even though, recorded in 2004, it could probably be presented as such.

For these purely monetary considerations therefore, I feel that, to be fair to other similar products being marketed in a competitive world, a drop of one star to 4 is probably a required judgement. I personally still get 5 stars of enjoyment out of it though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful performance, but intrusive audience, 21 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frederick Ashton: The Dream [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Superb music.
Superb dancing, with Puck seemingly defying gravity. His lightness and precision of movements are a joy to watch.
Nice dreamy setting.
Beautiful costumes, although I feel that Titania's dress lacks a bit of impact, perhaps too pale. Oberon's costume is very striking in comparison.
I drop a star like I. Giles because this DVD is too expensive for a 54 minute playing time while you can buy a box of 3 DVDs for much less.
But I also drop a star for the silly applauses not only at the end of each « number », but sometimes in the middle of it, covering the music. It's tacky and distracting, turning this beautiful ballet into some kind of circus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frederick Ashton: The Dream [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
wonderful film of a wonderful ballet. I loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ashtons Choreography not up to Balanchine's, 15 April 2009
By 
Arthur Wyatt (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frederick Ashton: The Dream [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
The ballet does not rate as good as Balanchine's Midsummer Night's Draam which uses much of the same material and music. Good performance which I need for my collection. On this one and only time Sir Frederic Ashton comes second!
Rated on performance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Ballet, 8 Sep 2013
By 
Ms. D. Grey (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frederick Ashton: The Dream [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I saw this ballet as a child (Royal Ballet production) and really enjoyed this version. Terrific performances by all the principals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frederick Ashton: The Dream [DVD] [2005]
Frederick Ashton: The Dream [DVD] [2005] by American Ballet Theatre (DVD - 2004)
Used & New from: £14.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews