Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars68
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 March 2005
At last the programme that the BBC has shoved all around the schedules arrives in a package form where the viewer can binge on it. Who would have thought that a US TV network would come up with a comedy show that requires concentration, let alone one that requires as much concentration as this. There is just so much going on all the time that you cannot avert your eyes from the screen for a second. In fact you hit the rewind button so often because there's a belly laugh sewn in over a split second. Such concentration brings its rewards. This DVD features the extended Pilot , which you can immediately compare with the paired down Pilot and see the difference. The pace is phenomenal and the trimming of the product shows just what might have been lost if they had continued with the longer format. All the performances are superb but Jason Bateman must take a centre stage bow as the 'sane' member of the Bluth family- he can deadpan like nobody else and convey a thousand different thoughts in his expression. This whole 1st series package is a treat for those of the Larry Sanders, Seinfeld, Curb your Enthusiasm stable of fans and God Bless America for making it. Who said British TV is best ? 2nd series on DVD immediately please!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2006
Well, wow. I should start by saying that I love this show and I think it's the best comedy to come out of America in a very long time, if not ever. I first discovered it whilst reading a raging review in a newspaper; 'Why don't the BBC give this program a chance? It's hilarious!' it said, amongst other praises, and I decided to watch it. It had been, quite unforgivably, given an 11.20, Sunday night, BBC 2 slot, but I just could not see why for the life of me.
The show revolves around the hugely likeable Michael Bluth and his naive son George Michael. When the family business gets into trouble for committing 'light treason' Michael has no choice but to keep his family together and make them understand that they would no longer have pockets full of endless money. Not only does he have to quell their spending habits, but in most cases also their bizzare personailties: his mother Lucille is a spendaholic who doesn't know the price of a banana having never entered a supermarket; twin sister Lindsay also likes to spend and is somehow a very materialistic liberal who must rebel at all costs; her husband Tobias who, we are all sure (but never told), is secretly gay and undoubtedly weird; brother Gob, a failed magician with a simply fantastic humour behind him and the kids too. On top of that he's got his criminal Dad, his pothead Uncle, and his slightly slow younger brother Buster who cannot leave his mother's side even though he is at the end of his 20's.
All in all, the characters make the show. The actors playing them are unbelievably gifted. But the writing is also genious, with references to other shows and people all over the place, a warm narrative from Ron Howard, and situations with so much irony that you can just sit and cry with laughter for hours. If you haven't seen this show, then buy this DVD, watch a few episodes and by the time you get to know the family you will be in love with it too.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 March 2005
Despite a relative lack of publicity and success in America, other than its Emmy award win (which is totally deserved) this series is highly reccomendable. As the opening credits reveal its the story of one family who are struggling to manage following the arrest of their father George Bluth Snr. Holding them all together is Michael, the most well adjusted member of the family. The series is basically about the trials and tribulations that they undergo in trying to survive without the money that they were once afforded and changing set of circumstances which arose out of the patriarchs arrest. This series is consistently amusing and there are many laugh out loud moments (Tobias in general is hilarious) Its probably the best commedy out there at the moment, except maybe for C4s the Peep Show, and you will probably have to watch the episodes a couple of times just to keep up with the gags. If all that isn't enough Ron Howards the narrator, the ultimate stamp of quality!!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2005
Before I start, I'd just like to state that I'm not one of those irritating people who writes a review for a product that they've never even touched let alone used. I actually bought the American Region 1 Box Set a few months ago because I thought that they'd never release this genius show on DVD over here. Irritatingly they have decided to and now I must tell you to buy this or may you forever be subjected to the god-awful tripe that is Bo-Selecta.
I first came across this show coincidently, on the second episode, as it was stupidly not advertised at all by the BBC. You really can't help but burst into fits of hysterics each episode, so strong is the character acting by it's fantastic cast. It's a witty satire on the materialistic nature of American society pitted against one man's struggle to defy that in himself and his family. I can't describe it, please just BUY and watch.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2005
Some people have seen this on TV in the UK on the BBC. Others might have got hold of copies from America but anyone who has seen this show must agree. It is the most original, clever, multi-layered comedy that has been produced in a very long time.
Some people say that Britain produces the best comedy, well I'm afraid, we have never managed to make a show as perfect as this one.
Every single actor in this show is a Genius. David Cross regularly has me on the floor with laughter as Dr Tobias Funke. Jeffrey Tambor is still as funny as he was in The Larry Sanders Show and Will Arnett's character GOB will have you crying as he messes up every aspect of his life, including his career as a magician.
My favourite episode in this series is #10, Pier Pressure. It cannot be explained with mere words, but it is one of the funniest things ever to be seen on television.
There is plenty to say on this show, but no room to do it! Buy this DVD, you won't regret it and you may just help get the show renewed for a third season.
22 comments|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2007
We like to think that the Americans can only do sappy, cliched situation comedy and for the most part we're right! However, when they get it right they show us a thing or two and this maybe the best example of how they can do it right.

Having suffered from a lack of support from Fox and poor scheduling from the BBC over here it remains an undiscovered gem for many. The joke quota is so high that if one joke doesn't tickle you there will be another along almost immediately. DVD is the best medium to watch as repeat viewings are a necessity since set ups to jokes are being made up-to three episodes before the punch-line and after watching the whole three series five times myself I am still amazed to find new jokes tucked away.

Quite simply a great characters portraited by a superb cast, bolstered by great cameos and even better writing make this the best and certainly most underrated comedy in years.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2006
This is such an amazing show. Following a once-wealthy family, the Bluth's, as they descend into chaos following head of the family George Sr's arrest for building houses in Iraq, it reveals itself to have everything. Episodes only run for 20 minutes but it rivals the Simpson's for the amount of gags that fit in that time. From running jokes (so many you catch most on repeat viewings) to amateur magicians, the Fonz as a inept lawyer, to a teenager becoming a movie executive and an accidental recruitment to Iraq, Arrested Development Season One and the equally brilliant Season Two have it all!

Roll on season three...
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2006
Finally a funny comedy. After years of watching people drink coffee in coffee houses and watching cartoons tell me how life should be we have finally a comedy that gives us the one thing that will give us eternal life.A comedy that makes us laugh...a lot. The storylines are brillant and the stunning one liners( especially from Lucille) would make Larry David cry. Stunning acting,great writing and a title that makes you think 'Wow, they've nailed it here'.
Stop reading this review and buy AD now!!!!!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2005
This has to be the funniest programme ever conceived in America - it has everything, from laugh-out-loud gags to Office-esque awkward moments. There isn't one bad episode on the three DVDs, and you will be left wanting more.
It's difficult to express quite how hilarious this show is, particularly the character Gob, a magician with a history in stripping and an astonishing lack of respect for anyone else, especially his girlfiend Marta who is unfortunately cut out of the story quite early on in the series. What I wouldn't have given to see Gob take her for granted or insult her just one more time.
Overall this actually could be the funniest show I've ever seen, to the extent that I couldn't bare to wait for the next episode when watching the DVD, so I stayed up watching it all night, for over eight hours.
Be prepared: You could be in for the same sleepless night.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2007
I would say this is probably the best comedy series i have ever seen. Having seen Jason Bateman in a few minor roles in films i decided to give this a chance. The series is soo addictive. the comedy is not the usual DUH! style often used in american shows (although there may be one or two!). Highly recommended

EDIT:
Just to edit my review, if you haven't watched this yet you are truly missing out! Given the many ways of catching up on this TV series (hopefully before the full feature length film release) you owe it to yourself if you want to laugh your a** off.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)