Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another genius series from the Simpsons team!
Seems like Fox Studio is getting faster at pumping these DVDs out. This season is my person favourite when it comes to choosing. And I assume it will be jam - packed with great special features! The fifth season includes the following episodes:
Homer's Barbershop Quartet: While looking through old records, the kids discover their dad was in a barbershop quartet...
Published on 21 Nov 2004 by matthewharris538

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Season Let Down By Dodgy Batch
Bought this for Hubby at Christmas and unfortunately found that the third disc was faulty and couldn't play properly. Amazon themselves were brilliant and swiftly exchanged the item, but unfortunately again had the same fault (something that another customer experienced earlier on in the year) making me believe that Amazon currently have a dodgy batch of this DVD...
Published 6 months ago by Michelle Precious


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Simpsons, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 5 [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
My nephew adores The Simpsons so any DVD would have been fabulous. He says this one is where the stories are better and funnier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Season Let Down By Dodgy Batch, 4 Jan 2014
By 
Michelle Precious "mrspresh" (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 5 [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Bought this for Hubby at Christmas and unfortunately found that the third disc was faulty and couldn't play properly. Amazon themselves were brilliant and swiftly exchanged the item, but unfortunately again had the same fault (something that another customer experienced earlier on in the year) making me believe that Amazon currently have a dodgy batch of this DVD. Cannot get another exchanged so have been refunded instead.

To avoid disappointment don't order until this has been resolved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 2 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 5 [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Bought it for myself. I am doing the whole collection. It is perfect if you are a Simpson fan or as a present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent "Season", 28 Nov 2013
By 
John HOLLAS (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 5 [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Maybe not quite as good as some of the earlier Seasons but as funny as ever. As in so many extended series, there is a temptation, which should be resisted, to try something different from the excellent scripts that we are used to. Most of us want the same old, same old .....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Simpsons Season 5, 29 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 5 [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Let me start by saying I'm a big Simpsons fan, I own tons of the DVD's and loads of the merchandise and I have to say this is one of the best seasons released. This has loads of great episodes including
Marge on the Lam, Deep Space Homer (My favourite episode!) and Homer Loves Flanders. Don't hesitate in buying this product today it kept me amused for hours on end and I'm sure it'll keep you amused to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So funny., 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 5 [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
I personally love the Simpsons so these season boxsets are perfect thing. Non-stop Simpson fun! I think I've actually gained an addiction to buying these...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Simpsons, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 5 [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
A classic season for The Simpsons, although be aware that the deleted scenes are on the final disc as well as on the individual episodes (you don't have to watch the episode again with the small deleted scenes!), and that deleted scenes featured in the 138th spectacular aren't repeated on this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simpsons season 5, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 5 [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
This was a gift for someone who really enjoys watching the simpsons and trying to complete the collection. they were pleased to recieve it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Simpsons Season 5, 8 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 5 [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
it's a brillant season but i had seen most of the episodes but i bought it for my collection worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, more or less, 26 Feb 2012
By 
Little Cat Voom (The middle of England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 5 [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
The season where everything is bang-on; the writing, the animation, the voices, it`s all sublime. Hard to believe they aired over eighteen years ago, but it doesn`t matter because they haven`t dated...in fact, they`ve got funnier.

"Homer's Barbershop Quartet" - *****, Homer tells of a time when he had the music industry at his fingertips.
"Cape Feare" - *****, AAARGGHH! SIDESHOW BOB!
"Homer Goes to College" - *****, Homer is in danger of losing his job, just because he`s "dangerously unqualified".
"Rosebud" - ****, Mr Burns as Citizen Kane.
"Treehouse of Horror IV" - *****, Three fantastic ghoulish tales, especially Burns as Nosferatu.
"Marge on the Lam" - *****, Brilliant Thelma and Louise parody.
"Bart's Inner Child" - ****, A self-help seminar is too light on discipline, causing havoc.
"Boy-Scoutz 'n the Hood" - *****, Homer is confused how Bart can attend a Father-Son exercise - he doesn`t have a son!
"The Last Temptation of Homer" - *****, Is there a greater scene than Lenny and Carl as cherubs singing "Homer loves Mindy"?
"$pringfield (Or, How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love Legalized Gambling)" - *****, The first time we see Marge`s gambling problem. And Homer battles the Boogeyman!
"Homer the Vigilante" - *****, Homer creates a vigilante group; "because it makes me feel like a big man" is on the reasons list.
"Bart Gets Famous" - *****, The cruel nature of showbiz revealed, as Bart goes from zero to hero and back.
"Homer and Apu" - ****, Apu`s village has an unusual way of apologising, and Homer just can`t say no to frozen shrimp, even if it "smells funny".
"Lisa vs. Malibu Stacy" - A great performance from Kathleen Turner, as a drunk creator of a Barbie-esque toy.
"Deep Space Homer" - *****, Homer realises that the Planet of the Apes was Earth all along!
"Homer Loves Flanders" - *****, One of my personal favourite episodes, brilliant all the way through.
"Bart Gets an Elephant" - *****, Another favourite, as Stampy wreaks havoc, and Homer proves he is a jerk.
"Burns' Heir" - *****, Michael Caine struggles to pronounce "D`oh" and suggests Homer may have a mental impairment, when Burns hires actors to show Bart he should discard his family and become...well, Burn`s Heir.
"Sweet Seymour Skinner's Baadasssss Song" - ****, Superintendent Chalmers fires Skinner, and Skinner and Bart realise they need each other.
"The Boy Who Knew Too Much" - ****, Skinner is like some "non-giving up school guy", while Homer enjoys perks of jury service.
"Lady Bouvier's Lover" - ****, Homer worries that if Marge`s mother marries Abe, then they`ll have horrible children with blue eyes, blonde hair, five fingers and no overbite!
"Secrets of a Successful Marriage" - *****, In a matter of minutes, a lonely Homer is as dirty as a Frenchman. But he just can`t keep his mouth shut about Marge`s peccadillos in the bedroom.

Not a bad episode in sight, and many that are absolutely marvellous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Simpsons - Season 5 [DVD] [1990]
The Simpsons - Season 5 [DVD] [1990] by Dan Castellaneta (DVD - 2005)
11.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews