Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another genius series from the Simpsons team!
Seems like Fox Studio is getting faster at pumping these DVDs out. This season is my person favourite when it comes to choosing. And I assume it will be jam - packed with great special features! The fifth season includes the following episodes:
Homer's Barbershop Quartet: While looking through old records, the kids discover their dad was in a barbershop quartet...
Published on 21 Nov 2004 by matthewharris538

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Season Let Down By Dodgy Batch
Bought this for Hubby at Christmas and unfortunately found that the third disc was faulty and couldn't play properly. Amazon themselves were brilliant and swiftly exchanged the item, but unfortunately again had the same fault (something that another customer experienced earlier on in the year) making me believe that Amazon currently have a dodgy batch of this DVD...
Published 6 months ago by Michelle Precious


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another genius series from the Simpsons team!, 21 Nov 2004
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 5 [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Seems like Fox Studio is getting faster at pumping these DVDs out. This season is my person favourite when it comes to choosing. And I assume it will be jam - packed with great special features! The fifth season includes the following episodes:
Homer's Barbershop Quartet: While looking through old records, the kids discover their dad was in a barbershop quartet. Guest appearnce by George Harrison.
Cape Feare: Side show bob is out to kill Bart and the family is put in the witness relocation program. Includes the famous "hello Mr. Thompson" scene.
Homer Goes to College: After a nuclear plant inspection, Homer has to go to college. The episode is a send up of popular college movies of the 80's (e.g. Revenge of the nerds or animal house). Homer falls in with the nerd crowd.
Rosebud: In a long turn of events, Mr. Burn's childhood teddy bear ends up in Maggie's hands. Burns and Homer negotiate for the return of the bear. Special guests: the Ramones.
Treehouse of Horror IV: Homer sells his soul for a donut, Bart spies a gremlin on the side of the school bus (ala twilight zone), and Homer kills the vampire Mr. Burns (ala Braum Stroker's Dracula).
Marge on the Lam: In a spoof of Thelma and Loise, Marge and her neighbor go on a cross country chase, when her neighbor steals her ex's car.
Bart's inner child: A self-help guru uses Bart as an example of freeing one's inner child. A "do what you feel like" style festival ensues. Guest stars James Brown.
Boy Scoutz in da Hood: After a sugar binge, Bart and Milhouse find themselves enrolled in the boyscouts. Hilarity ensues.
The Last Temptation of Homer: When a beautiful woman starts working at the plant, Homer's faithfulness is put to the test. Guest starring Michelle Pfeiffer.
$pringfield: Mr. Burns opens a casino in Springfield. Homer works at the casino, while Marge develops a gambling problem.
Homer the Vigilante: A catburglar is loose in Springfield. Homer forms a watch group (read mob) to catch the thief.
Bart Gets Famous: While working on the Krusty the Klown show, Bart inadvertantly steals Krusty's thunder and has his 15 minutes of fame. Guest starring Conan O'Brien (who used to write for the show).
Homer and Apu: Homer gets sick after eating rotting meat from the Quickie Mart. As penance, Apu moves in to be a servant for the Simpsons. Homer and Apu then try to get Apu's job back.
Lisa vs. Malibu Stacy: Lisa fights back against corporate America's barbi-style image by producing a doll designed to give girls a positive image for themselves.
Deep Space Homer: Homer competes for and wins (by default) a spot on the spaceshuttle. His incompetence nearly kills them, and then saves the crew. Stars Buzz Aldrin and James Taylor.
Homer Loves Flanders: Homer sucks up to Flanders when he learns Flanders has football tickets. His relationship grows with Ned (uncomfortably so for Ned), until Homer realizes that Flanders is a jerk.
Bart gets an Elephant: Through a wacky radio contest, Bart wins an elephant. Unable to care for it, he is forced to give it up to a wildlife refuge.
Burn's Heir: Bart competes for, and wins a spot as the heir to Burn's fortune. But he renounces the throne when Burns wants him to fire Homer.
Sweet Seymore Skinner's Baadasssss Song: Bart's hijinks finally get Seymore fired as the school's principle. He re-enlists in the army. Bart and Homer try to get him back as principle when Ned Flanders becomes the new school principle.
The Boy Who Knew Too Much: When Bart skips school he witnesses a crime, allegedly committed by the Mayor's brother. Bart's testimony can clear him, but Seymore will know Bart cut class. Homer serves on the jury ("I know you can read my thoughts boy...meow meow meow meow...")
Lady Boivier's Lover: Marge's mom falls for Homer's dad, only to fall for Mr. Burns.
Secrets of a Successful Marriage: Homer teaches class as a marriage counselor, but ends up dishing the dirt on his own marriage. Marge kicks him out, and Homer is forced to look after himself.
A great buy over all and hopefully it will be a short time for season 6 like from season 4 and 5! The 5 stars are for the episodes original broadcast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Into The "Golden Age" of The Simpsons, 28 Mar 2005
By 
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 5 [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Series 4, 5, 6, and 7 of The Simpsons is considered to be the period of time during the mid-to-late 1990's that the show was most definately in its PRIME and hit the top of its game continually throughout this year and 2 more thereafter.
With the arrival of Series 5 of the show to DVD, this heralds the "Golden Age" of the Simpsons where literally every show (up until series 8) is an absolute classic !! and proves just how good the Simpsons used to be before it became a parody of itself.
"Cape Feare" has gone down in Simpson's folklore as probably Sideshow Bob's finest hour stepping on not one not two but nine rakes ! smacking him in the face ! Each greeted with the same mumbling distain as the last. Also Homer's hilarious "Mr. Thompson" skit where the Witness re-location programme agents just can't get him to understand ! - It's genius !
"Treehouse of Horror IV" - Contains probably two of the best "horror" shows ever. Flanders as the Devil "Smithers who is that goat-legged fellow, I like the cut of his gib ?" - Mr. Burns and Mr. Burns as Dracula. - A reminder of how great a character Mr. Burns is to the show and a great credit to Harry Shearer.
James Woods guest stars in "Homer and Apu" with the great Apu as a "humming bee" on the CCTV, Buzz (2nd comes right after 1st) Aldren in "Deep Space Homer" has the great "Watch out they're ruffled !" line about Homer's potato chips and even Robert Goulet in "Springfield" is great smacking Millhouse with his microphone in Bart's Tree-top casino !
All in all a great series show-casing the Simpsons at its peak, more so a great DVD box set which is quite simply a must-have. Enjoy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simpsns Season 5, 16 Sep 2007
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 5 [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
This season of the Simpsons is definately one of their best. Some of my all time favourites are in this series including: "Rosebud", "Bart Gets Famous", "Homer The Vigilante" and THOH 4. This season also has some of my favourite Simpsons quotes including "Don't worry I've been working on plan. During the exam I'll hide under some coats and hope that somehow everything will out" and also "Son, when you particapate in sporting events it's not whether you win or lose, it's how drunk you get"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Amazon!!!, 3 July 2009
By 
J. K. Vickers "Judy V" (Cleethorpes UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 5 [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Needed to buy this for a present for my 11 year old son.. Decided he wanted the season 5 at short notice. Couldnt find it in shops unless wanted to be paying silly money! Was told about Amazon so thought i'd give them a go. Great site, easy to navigate and order and amazing quick delivery time. Big smiles all round from me and my boy!! Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yellow Gold!, 18 May 2008
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 5 [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Throughout season 5 (first broadcast between September 93 - May 94), The Simpsons was on top of it's game, and these 22 episodes serve as a reminder as to why the show was (and still is) so popular.

The series really had everything together at the time, the writing was first rate, the animation and the voices were perfect, it was simply great entertainment that could be enjoyed by people all over the world, of all ages. I think it speaks volumes that although these episodes are over ten years old now, they haven't dated at all, and still remain as funny and fresh as they did at the time.

Highlights from this season include 'Cape Feare', the infamous parody of the film 'Cape Fear' and Sideshow Bob's best outing (the episode is, in my opinion, a very strong contender of the best ever Simpsons episode), another classic spoof is 'Marge on the Lam', a parody of 'Thelma and Louise', and there is also a milestone: 'Sweet Seymour Skinner's Baadasssss Song', which marked the 1,000th episode of the show, no mean feat, and an impressive (even to this day) achievement.

As I can't say I dislike any episode, it's difficult to single any more out, although Bart's dilemma in 'The Boy Who Knew Too Much', Homer playing detective in 'Homer the Vigilante', and trying to resist the idea of an affair in the 'The Last Temptation of Homer', have long since been personal favourites of mine. As always, the DVD boxset is loaded with features: commentaries on all 22 episodes, commercials and deleted scenes for 14 episodes to name just a few of the added extras.

I think that the fifth batch remains my personal favourite season of the Simpsons, and with no ending in site, it looked like the show would go on forever, and it has to this day, even though the quality has greatly gone hill.

However, this is pure Simpsons gold, and highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 5th Biggest Boxset Of Our Favourite Dysfunctional Family!, 21 Oct 2007
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 5 [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
This Is The 5th Season And Has All 22 Episodes Of Season 5!. Loads Of Extras Including Delted Scnens, A Look Back With James L. Brooks, An Intro From Mat Groening And Loads More. With Four Discs, 10 page Booklet Of Episodes... What More Could You Want? (Well Appart From All The Other Simpsons Season Boxsets!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The start of the Simpsons at their best!, 12 Mar 2005
By 
Mr. N. Morgan "Green Knight" (High Wycombe, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 5 [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
To me, season five marks the first of the best half-dozen or so of the Simpsons 16 seasons.
As so many reviewers have said so much & listed the series contents, I'll not add much other than to say if you're debating whether or not to buy this series, just do it as this is the best of the five series released to date!
Time does not permit to tell of Sideshow Bob & the rakes sketches from Cape Feare: why they were included I don't know, but they're brilliant. Also Homer Simpson's fake "I'm really paying attention" glasses from The boy Who Knew Too Much, Montgomery Burns' condemnation of reporters in Rosebud, the BRILLIANT sendup of Howard Hughes in Springfield (Or, How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love Legalized Gambling) and the sheer brilliance of the sketches in the toy department from Lisa vs Malibu Stacey. Watch out for Homer trying to persuade Marge that the toy fort is safe for Maggie - magic!
Will I be buying this series? Do I really need to answer that question?
Just buy it... you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 5 [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
As described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best sitcom something something, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 5 [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Ace. The top of the toppest. Great. Fabulous. Funny. Witty. Satirical. Hilarious. Inventive. Addictive. Beguiling. Smart. Bravura. A toast to the host who can boast the most roast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must see, 29 Jan 2014
By 
George Adamides (Cyprus) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 5 [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Always perfect. If you haven't seen The Simpsons family you haven't experience the world of art, completely. For me The Simpsons, is fine art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Simpsons - Season 5 [DVD] [1990]
The Simpsons - Season 5 [DVD] [1990] by Dan Castellaneta (DVD - 2005)
11.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews