Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius on show, 1 July 2009
By 
P. J. Keane "pjkeane" (South Shields) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beckett On Film [DVD] (DVD)
Given the strictness of the Beckett estate on the staging of his work, the imagination and variety here are staggering. Excellent casting and performances help but the real star here is the writer. Existentially challenging but also deeply tender and and unexpectedly funny. Despite a forbidding reputation, watching Beckett in performance is an uplifting experience, and the opportunity to have them all together is too good to miss. Cheap at double the price. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Superb, 23 Jan 2009
By 
pkx166h (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beckett On Film [DVD] (DVD)
This 4DVD Box set contains cinematic versions of all 19 plays that Beckett wrote. Each play has a different director and set of actors (including among others John Geiguid (his last ever appearance on screen or stage), Alan Rickman, Juliet Stephenson, David Thewlis, Michael Gambon, Kristin Scott-Thomas and many more) so it isn't simply a 'rep's' perspective of all the plays. Nor are they simply films of the play being acted on a stage, the point of the 'Becket on Film' project being to bring Beckett to the big screen using cinematic techniques.

Each DVD also contains a short 'addenda' programme explaining the history and salient points of the plays with an occasioinal interview with the director of the plays that are on their respective DVDs.

There is also a short documentary on the final DVD describing the whole project of putting the plays onto the 'big screen', how it came about in the first place and the difficulties and objections/critiques of putting Beckett on film.

Without going into the pros and cons of making Beckett plays into a cinematic experience; for the unitiated this is an ideal introduction to the canon. Indeed I have seen 'Godot' many times on stage, but the version here is, in my own opinion, the best one I have had the pleasure to watch. Not all of the plays of Becket are immeidiately accessible as has been said, but this project takes a giant step forward in bringing Beckett to the masses.

While not cheap, I grant you, I cannot recommend this enough and will be something you will watch over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beckett devotee!, 31 Aug 2010
By 
Emmy "Emmy" (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beckett On Film [DVD] (DVD)
These versions of Beckett's plays are striking. They are not always quite what Beckett might have intended (the cries in 'Breath' are not birth cries; in 'Not I', we do not have a single maintained perspective and there is no listener present, for example) but they offer stimulus for discussion and are perhaps a little more accessible then Beckett at his most stark might be. For diehard Beckett fans, they offer a challenge to established perceptions; for newcomers, they give an insight into this remarkable playwright's thinking. They are certainly worth buying and watching repeatedly - just as Beckett himself would probably have done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Time Passes. Now with words', 29 Mar 2006
This review is from: Beckett On Film [DVD] (DVD)
This set is intriguing, beguiling, captivating and frustrating. I'm no Beckett purist, so I found some of the liberties taken with the films, such as 'What Where' the most exciting pieces on this set. 'Play', however, is the high point here, with the perfect marriage of Beckett's text and a thoroughly visceral use of camera. There is little negative to say apart from the actual DVD design itself, with the same snatch of music used for every menu, and the same interviews included in both the extras accompanying the plays and the documentary about the project. This makes the high price for this set a little hard to bear. But the films themselves are worth it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some masterpieces, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beckett On Film [DVD] (DVD)
These film versions of Beckett's plays have on the main, tried and succeeded in being faithful to his original vision.
There are some plays ( in this context films) on this collection that are very dry and some would say boring even for a Beckett fan but this box set is about getting more frequent access to these works and there are some really wonderful interpretations. Each one of the longer plays is done justice with great versions. Godot, End Game, Happy Days and Crapp's Last Tape are all strongly and appropriately cast, but a lot of the short plays are also well cast and captivating such as Play and Come and Go, Catastrophe and Damien Hirst's direction of the 30 second Breath. it is reasonable to regard Waiting for Godot and End Game as masterpieces of 20th Century theatre but there is no shortage of intensely interesting and darkly amuzing thought and expression throughout these dics and a proliferation of great British actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beckett best on film, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beckett On Film [DVD] (DVD)
I am one of those people that think that becket doesn't always work on theater and that the isolation that is possible throw a camera suits his work mush better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Began loving Beckett even more with this, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beckett On Film [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD package is absolutely meeting my expectations, even more I love the documentary to it, the many many reviews by the directors themselves and their thoughts for making the films of the Beckett stuff. Immediately fell in love with Waiting for Godot and could not wait to see the other films. Great stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beckett on Film, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Alex Balmforth "Alex B" (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beckett On Film [DVD] (DVD)
I once heard Sam Beckett described as a 'Marmite' playwright, you either like him or don't, there being no neutral ground. These plays/playlets are extremely well produced and realised. A standout is the new take on 'Play', fast moving and sympathetically photographed. I believe Sam would have approved...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Light Escapist Entertainment, 23 Oct 2010
This review is from: Beckett On Film [DVD] (DVD)
. . . . hard work . . . . rewarding . . . good, often young, actors, Machael Gambon, Alan Rickman, Juliet Stevenson, Kristin Scott Thomas, Gielgud, John Hurt, Jeremy Irons, Julanne Moore, . . . . quite strong Irish connection . . . . grim scenarios . . . surpising humour . . . . breaks traditional format expectations in order to communicate the focus and the range of Beckett's work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 14 Nov 2008
By 
Moonshine. "Spara Fugle" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Brilliant Beckett at his best!
Excellent standard in every way.
Thoroughly mind boggling!
The human condition is lurking about somewhere in here..where I don't know
but it's swirling around each piece like a fog .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beckett On Film [DVD]
Beckett On Film [DVD] by Damien O'Donnell (DVD - 2005)
87.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews