Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you never know, you just might like it
I wouldn't exactly call myself a 'folkie' but have always had an interest in traditional music. This was one of my first folk albums, and it was a great start to my growing collection. Both Maddy Prior & June Tabor are first rate artists and hearing them sing together is priceless. Both have such unique voices and there is that magic where it all just blends together. I...
Published on 5 Oct 2006 by C. Walker

versus
2 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sorry - but this is not Silly Sisters !!!!
Maybe I am a bit biased.
Long time ago I got (as a vinyl) the first Silly Sisters record and I loved from beginning to end.
It was English Folk (Rock) Music at its best with typical instruments like accodeon.

Now, without knowing, what they have done in the meantime, this CD was a little bit of a shock.
Many near a-capella-songs, the other songs...
Published on 23 Jun 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you never know, you just might like it, 5 Oct 2006
By 
C. Walker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No More To The Dance (Audio CD)
I wouldn't exactly call myself a 'folkie' but have always had an interest in traditional music. This was one of my first folk albums, and it was a great start to my growing collection. Both Maddy Prior & June Tabor are first rate artists and hearing them sing together is priceless. Both have such unique voices and there is that magic where it all just blends together. I never tire of listening to this, especially 'Somewhere Along the Road' - it's just beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful fusion of two exceptional talents, 2 Aug 2012
By 
T. Holt "Tom Holt" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No More to the Dance (Audio CD)
The first Prior/Tabor collaboration, "Silly Sisters", was charming but somewhat muted and unadventurous; Prior was very much the senior partner and the choice of songs was solidly traditional and homogenous. It was a fine album; but if your house burnt down with the last surviving copy of it inside, you'd probably be more upset about the house than the record.

"No More To The Dance" is on a wholly different level. Prior and Tabor have figured out how to blend their voices to maximum effect. They've chosen material that showcases their exceptional talents and abilities,their range, versatility and scope.

All the tracks are good, but for my money there are two that stand out; "Fine Horseman" and "The Old Miner", both of which will be on my desert island. Once you've heard them, you can't get them out of your head for days afterwards.

Two lifetime favourites on one album. Do yourself a favour; buy this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silly Sisters "No More To The Dance", 18 Feb 2012
This review is from: No More To The Dance (Audio CD)
A fabulous CD for lovers of folk music, at an amazing price. If you know me, you'll be getting it for birthday or Christmas. A very underrated, undermentioned pairing of two exquisite talents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A landmark in the folk revival, 21 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No More To The Dance (Audio CD)
A brilliant album by two highly regarded singers who, individually, can be a bit of a pain (June Tabor, particularly, seems to take herself very seriously these days) but together have created two excellent sets of traditional music. This is firmly in the tradition of early Steeleye and early Albion Band, but with a musicianship and taste that those groups didn't have at the time. There aren't any stand-out tracks - they are all great - but listen to "Fine Horseman".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Speedy delivery, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No More To The Dance (Audio CD)
I'd forgotten how well these two voices complimented each other, ,I bought the cd to replace a long lost vinyl disc, nice to revisit such a brilliant album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tabor the Grimm, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No More To The Dance (Audio CD)
I have heard a lot from June Tabor and love her west country lyrics as I do Maddt prior and the older English folk music. Put the two togethyer and thay are a real winner. More please..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars combination of two excellent voices, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No More To The Dance (Audio CD)
bought to replace my original vinyl - very good combination of voices from two excellent singers; very good accompanists but suspect might be done slightly differently of accompanying today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For Old Trad.Folks Sake!, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No More To The Dance (Audio CD)
Excellent CD... Quality great .Really enjoyed hearing those songs again..
I still sing them at the folk club.
So Choffed !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Dec 2014
By 
Philip Hodgetts (Lewisham, London, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No More To The Dance (Audio CD)
great folk. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars June Tabor and Maddy Prior, 4 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No More To The Dance (Audio CD)
Maddy Prior was the voice of Steeleye Span, and she and June Tabor make an excellent job of the folky duets on this disc. Recommended for those who like this kind of thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No More To The Dance
No More To The Dance by Silly Sisters (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews