Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars BOB'S BRLLIANT BRIGHT BAND AID IS BACK!
Dido, Robbie, Chris, Ms Dynamite, Beverly, Sugababes, Pop Idol stars and the list, is like Santa's good list. Marvellous, magical, mystical, musicians are piling, begging outside Bob Geldof's home. That's right, after 20 boring Christmas days, Band Aid is back! Funky, fabulous and it "feeds the world"!
Cute reindeers? Small, adorable polar bears? What was Bob Geldof...
Published on 7 Dec 2008 by Lil' Josh

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Impossible to surpass the original
I've just heard this on Radio 1 and what can I say? Well, it's different. The song opens up with the sombre sound of a piano, and the strumming of guitars. Is this the same song? Chris Martin confirms it is with those classic opening lines. Dido next, yawning '...and in a world full of plenty...'. Thank God for Robbie, putting some much needed power into the song, doing...
Published on 16 Nov 2004 by M. Hall


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Impossible to surpass the original, 16 Nov 2004
By 
This review is from: Do They Know It's Christmas? (Audio CD)
I've just heard this on Radio 1 and what can I say? Well, it's different. The song opens up with the sombre sound of a piano, and the strumming of guitars. Is this the same song? Chris Martin confirms it is with those classic opening lines. Dido next, yawning '...and in a world full of plenty...'. Thank God for Robbie, putting some much needed power into the song, doing his bit with '...but say a prayer, pray for the other ones...'. Sugartarts, I mean babes, up next with their totally un-emotional offering. Travis' Fran Healy next doing a good job with '...where the only water flowing...'. Will Young and Jamelia team up next doing quite a good job continuing with '...is the bitter sting of tears...'
Now the bit we've all been waiting for; music's biggest star Bono with his unforgettable line '...but tonight thank God it's them, instead of you...'
I won't go into the rest of the song for risk of spoiling it for people who haven't heard it yet, but I do have to comment on the inclusion of a rap by Dizze Rascal half way through the song: I nearly choked on my corn flakes this morning when I heard this and it just does not go with the song whatsoever. I would say the artists that stand out on this have to be Tom 'Keane' Chaplin, Fran Healy and Bono. People will argue about this song for many months, if not years, to come, but at the end of the day all these artists (and Ms. Dynamite) gave up their hard earned time to record this song for one of the most deprived regions in our world today, so good on them. Don't forget, ALL proceeds from this single will go to help starving children and to help rebuild broken lives. So, 2 stars for content, 5 stars for the cause.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BOB'S BRLLIANT BRIGHT BAND AID IS BACK!, 7 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: Do They Know It's Christmas? (Audio CD)
Dido, Robbie, Chris, Ms Dynamite, Beverly, Sugababes, Pop Idol stars and the list, is like Santa's good list. Marvellous, magical, mystical, musicians are piling, begging outside Bob Geldof's home. That's right, after 20 boring Christmas days, Band Aid is back! Funky, fabulous and it "feeds the world"!
Cute reindeers? Small, adorable polar bears? What was Bob Geldof thinking? "Please, Sir can I have some more". The famous Oliver Twist line is one which sums up this artwork. Overlapping-clatter, crowded creatures, no thought at all. Meanwhile, you have some sorrow! Why? Black and white boy, starving and yet standing backwards. No sad face features, to make you feel dreadful, just a simple boney-back. Yet, I still feel bad. Snow and rain mixed. What the hell? Even in the song it says "there won't be snow in Africa." Maybe, just maybe, they are to represent tears. But there everywhere? Are they saying people around the world, are crying or just one nation? It's very confusing!
White polar bears, I think look stupid. The CD profits don't go to a random animal trust. Even if it did, I'm sure there isn't polar bears in Africa. White could mean pure though, couldn't it! Well my English teacher told me that anyway. So, perhaps Bob Geldof wanted to make the people in Africa seem pure. Polar bears are also at risk of extinction, well according to the news. So it could be showing how African cultures are dying out.
The trees on the artwork are just crazy. Large grown trees on the edge with leaves and then a worn bare tree with no leaves. The tree wouldn't even be there if they were in Africa! Also, of course there isn't going to be leaves on the tree, its covered in snow. Now, tell if I'm wrong, but trees shed their leaves during winter, right. Red, cherries on the trees around the side looks really weird. Everything else is plain and then you have tiny, cherries. Could it represent blood? Death? Life? What could it be? Then, to the left of the artwork, we have a little tiny house, with all your homely comforts. Sounds like an auction! Everything else is depressing, upsetting, then we get this magical house. What were the artists thinking: Is it to make me compare them? Is it to make me feel joyful with Christmas? Or is it make me feel bad because I don't have a house like that?
The lyrics in the song, I think are flaming-fantastic. They aren't these stupid lyrics which don't even make sense, they actually mean something. Okay, Okay I have to admit it does get a tiny bit repetitive at the end, but the singers have such an amazing enthusiasm for the song, that you don't notice it. I mean, they aren't one of these singers who are there just for the money. They have a passion!
The repetition of "Christmas time", I think is great. It makes you think that your involved and you can do something. Whoever you are! The lyrics also uses times which, I myself have experienced. This makes you feel even more involved. WOW, Bob Geldof put a lot of thought into the lyrics. A shame it wasn't as much as the artwork. Anyway, the tune also makes the singers have their own bit of fame in the song. Well, Bob Geldof's fame anyway. This makes me feel, once again that everyone on this planet can get involved. Using religious aspects, "pray" and "God" (serious topic), can make you feel that you should do something more, if your religious, because, you might think that God is giving you the opportunities and you should grab them while you can. (Like items in the reduced shelf in ASDA).
Overall the lyrics are truly amazing, because it involves you in nearly (I said nearly) in every line. From whether you'll survive "if the table was turned", and when you appreciate receiving gifts but not giving them away. Well, everyone likes receiving gifts. Oh, if you're a bit confused on where that line is, it's "At Christmastime, we let in light and we banish shade".

The tune in the song, gets you grooving but yet also makes you sit and think. The various tempos makes you want to have a whole party with the whole world and then you want to sit and just think about what you have. Strange, isn't it. The variety of voices makes you feel that everyone is supporting the song and yet when you listen to a band, it sounds like one song. Its very strange, isn't! When I listen to, I get this sensation to do something about our planet, and yet I don't know why? Is it because , Bob Geldof has used Christmas? Is it because there is a variety of voices. Is it because of the different beats. Oh that reminds me, Dizzee Rascal sings a more upbeat section to make even more people who listen to hip-hop, rap music get involved as well. Bob Geldof has thought of everything.
The song, overall (yes, it's the end of the review), is that the tune is enthusiastic and has hope for the African countries and having tens of people involved, makes it seem more like a happy, jolly community. The one part Bob Geldof could improve is the artwork. It's just so boring and doesn't really get the message across. So I gave it a 4 1/2 out of 5! Well Done Bob Geldof.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not nearly as bad as most believe, 19 Nov 2004
This review is from: Do They Know It's Christmas? (Audio CD)
This was never going to be able to fairly compete with the excitement and event of 1984/85. However, as far as good intentions go, this is fine and a festive reminder to do the Right Thing. Chris Coldplay Martin and Ben Keane Chaplin play their emotionful parts as one is accustomed especially with the Feed The World chorus. Robbie Williams belts his lines with characterful gusto. Justin Darkness Hawkins eschews his querky histrionics for simple great singing and wrapped around his lines is the infamous Dizzee Rascal moment.
I really think this little section is essential for Band Aid 20. The rap is succinct, to the point and really works, moreover it is current and is an era defining moment for this record.
The gentle meloncholic beginning is swept away in the second half with rousing guitar breaks from Dan Hawkins and Jonny Greenwood building to the ensemble finale.
Unfortunately the great female soul voices of Bev Knight and Joss Stone don't quite get the space they perhaps deserve especially after the hugely popular, but distinctly mediocre Dido has a major opening role. You cannot help comparing Bono '84 to Bono '04, which, despite his explanations, feels far too limp and weak.
I'm sure everyone will buy this regardless (the original '84 version is included too) - If you don't like it then then buy it to show your children and grandchildren how charity records will have progressed / declined in another 20 years and to show the absurdity of how popular certain people were in the middle of this decade!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's about more than music., 29 Nov 2004
This review is from: Do They Know It's Christmas? (Audio CD)
It's simple.
If you like the new version, buy this.
If you prefer the original, buy this. It has the original on.
If you want to hear the Live Aid version, buy this AND buy the Live Aid DVD.
If you don't like the song at all, buy it anyway or go to the website
and cut out the middle man.
It's time to make poverty history. This is a small step in that direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for them and good for us., 16 Dec 2004
By 
Junglies (Morrisville, NC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Do They Know It's Christmas? (Audio CD)
I really do not care what anyone thinks of this song whether it is good or bad all of which is relative anyway BUT I do think that it is a good idea and a good thing for the rest of us when these so called pampered pop stars get off their backsides, record a song and donate the proceeds to a good cause.
It may not be the best song in the world but you can always sing along when you are full of the Xmas spirits, or hum the tune or sing along when you are driving to visit your family. If it encourages you to give to this or any other charity then good for you and good for them.
It is a good thing to think of others less fortunate than ourselves at this time of the year and the people in Africa are getting hit harder than most.
I would implore people to order this item from Amazon right now, send one to everyone they know and tell the world. Ask them if they know it's Xmas and encourage them to do the same.
We are the world, you and I. As the Beatles sang, the love you take is equal to the love you make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Band Aid - Do They Know It's Christmas? Original Recording, 1 May 2011
This review is from: Do They Know It's Christmas? (Audio CD)
This recording, which I formerly had on vinyl is impossible to find in the U.S. Bob Geldof called on the greatest artists in the U.K. to do a British version of "We are the World", which had recently been recorded in the U.S. Both recordings proceeds were donated to feed starving Africans. A true gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK!, 25 Dec 2004
This review is from: Do They Know It's Christmas? (Audio CD)
No it's not as good as the original, but it's not that bad either! The original packed more power and, of course, it was completely original. However, the new version has some things going for it. First off, it actually has women singing some of the main lines rather than relegated to the chorus alone. Next, the transition from the first part to the "Feed he world" chorus is actually handled better on this version; I really like the plaintive female voice used here.
Overall, buy it , cos you'll get both versions anyway. Of course you could just send the money to charity, but that won't keep the "buzz" going, and get more people thinking and acting like having this CD the biggest seller of he last 5 years or whatever will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth because the original is the b-side, 6 May 2008
By 
Shorty11857 (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Do They Know It's Christmas? (Audio CD)
Redoing a classic song is always doing to make people complain (even if the song isn't bad) about the how the original was so much better. However in the case of this song, people have every right to complain as this song does not even come close to the greatness of the original. It has too many parts that are just completely unnecessary (such as the rap part). But on a high-note the b-sides are the original (classic, far superior) version and the great live version from LiveAid.

This single is something that should be bought more for the cause than the actual song. If you're like me you'll barely ever even listen to Band Aid 20 but you'll definitely give Band Aid a few listens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What's wrong with it?, 14 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Do They Know It's Christmas? (Audio CD)
Everyone is slating this single, but personally I think that re-making it was a good idea. Children now who won't have heard of the song before and won't have understood what it represented at the time will now understand, and they will be educated about problems facing people in different parts of the world. I think that by involving more modern artists will help this process. I don't think the remake is as bad as it's being made out to be, and at least the rap in the middle brings something different to it! And it's for a good cause! I think it's OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, Hate it, Please Buy it!, 16 Dec 2004
This review is from: Do They Know It's Christmas? (Audio CD)
The original is great, I like the new version as well, with such a range of different voices, from Justin Hawkins to Joss Stone, Tom Chaplin to Beverly Knight, Bono with his famous line. I saw the making of television program the other day. You could clearly see why the record was being made, not to be great, and musical and fun, but to make a difference, the video shown moved all the artists and frankly anyone not moved by it must be incapible of emotion, so if you won't buy it because you like the version, or because you liked the original which is also on the CD, buy it to make a difference, buy it to change someones life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Do They Know It's Christmas?
Do They Know It's Christmas? by Band Aid 20 (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews