Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Brown's Schooldays
Absolutelt FANTASTIC! Great for all of the family! I was on the edge of my seat to see what was going to happen next. There were points in it were I cried, points where I laughed it was an emothional rollercoster that I wanted to never stop! This is a MUST SEE for the whole family starring the great Steven Fry and the adorable 14 year old Alex Pettyfer. You guys just have...
Published on 8 Jan 2005 by angelikchild

versus
20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A horrible waste of a good opportunity
Perhaps this was doomed to mediocrity from my point of view, because I have read and loved the novel on which this was based.

It falls at many hurdles, not the least of which are: the horrible machete-job done to the plot; the distortion of key characters; the PC'isation done, presumably, to not offend anyone (seemingly a capital offence these days); and some...
Published on 16 May 2009 by Jamie Sleeman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Brown's Schooldays dvd, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays [2004] [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Good adaptation of an old classic tale of 'triumph over adversity'. Stephen Fry is the best at all he purveys. A true gent and an awesome actor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 28 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays [2004] [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Excellent viewing; all our family enjoyed this film, including our 8 year old. Entertaining and yet thought-provoking; this is the best version of Tom Brown's Schooldays, that I've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No sense of the era: modern people in costume, 1 July 2009
By 
Michael J. Brett "Michael Brett" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays [2004] [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This has no sense of the time or the people. Matthew Arnold says things like 'Let's move on' which no-one would have done, for example. It has no contemporary sensibility. The old 1950s one is better in being much closer to the atmosophere of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent yarn, 2 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays [2004] [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
My son has been pestering me about going to boarding school. I don't think he'd do that well away from home and I don't relish the expense, so I wanted a cautionary tale that he could digest which would illustrate the anarchic mayhem that ensues at lights out. I reckon this did the job. Trouble is, our fearless protagonist is subsumed in the subculture like a borg and that endearing schoolboy loyalty which develops as a by product of belonging is so alluringly depicted. Ho hum - maybe 'If' next...maybe not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Weak and politically correct, 17 Dec 2007
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays [2004] [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Stephen Fry appalling in comparison to Iain Cuthbertson in 1971 edition. Generally much less true to the book or the times. Fry appears smarmy and insincere and left this viewer totally unmoved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars P.C Yet still a good watch, 25 Jan 2008
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays [2004] [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
All family enjoyed this
Not strictly accurate to original...is anything?
The film engrossed young boys in family and theme inspired debate.
In fact it was enjoyed so much we watched again at later date.
I cannot award 5 stars as could have been less P.C. and been even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brillant, 5 Jan 2012
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays [2004] [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
thanks for the dvd was great, brillant quality looked just like new... was very happy and will recomend this service to other people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, 14 Dec 2009
By 
H-ban (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays [2004] [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Two words: loved it, bought it as a gift for my sister. Only dissapointment was lack of good special features. Great one for Alex Pettyfer lovers though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its dead good, 11 Jan 2005
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays [2004] [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I watched it on the TV over Christmas and thought it was really good. It gives you a really good insight on the pains and joys of life at that time. There are some sad and happy moments in it that will make you want more. A must see I would recomend getting it so do!!!!!
PS- tick the box that says that what I have said has been useful because as you can see from the others mine is just amazing compared to theres sooooooooooooo THERE!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must see, 3 Dec 2004
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays [2004] [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Me and my friends are in it, its great, if you are looking at it you must buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tom Brown's Schooldays [2004] [DVD] [2005]
Tom Brown's Schooldays [2004] [DVD] [2005] by David Moore (DVD - 2005)
£7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews