Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars42
3.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 April 2007
This is a beautiful film to watch. The cinematography and ambience are hypnotic - think THX1138, Bladerunner, Solaris and Lost in Translation. The vision of a genetically dominated future where the Have's live in comfortable yet overcrowded cities and the Have Not's live 'outside' in barren wastelands is not (unfortunately) unrealistic. The atmospheric music supports the overall feel (and there's one amusing surprise for us old punks).

To sci fi buffs there no surprises nor new ideas and this is what lets the film down. However there are some moral implications which do break new ground and give pause for thought (with a few "dude!!??!!" moments!).

The language-swapping was irritating and although it's used mainly in general conversation it would annoy those who don't have basic French, Chinese or Spanish. Bladerunner did it much better.

I didn't like one sex scene and although I suppose it was necessary to the plot, as a woman I found it disturbing. I also don't think [...] close-ups and endless minutes of puffing and panting and orgasms have any place in sci-fi films either.

Overall I enjoyed the film but with the wealth of talent involved from writing to production to acting I expected something much better.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
This is probably the best science fiction film you've never seen. Excellent performances from Tim Robbins and Samantha Morton, and a fascinating dystopian world setting.

WARNING: If you are going to buy the German import, there is some text in German at the start of the film that is very important for the plot. Make sure your seller provides you with a translation!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2010
I found this film hard to follow or make sense of. The whole thing seemed random and unrelated with individual scenes seeming irrelevant to anything in particular, dissapointing as the description made it sound promising.
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2005
This film is truly awful both in terms of plot line/premise and in terms of execution. There are some good ideas struggling to get out but they fail to justify what is a terrible film. The excellent cast are totally are wasted too.
This is not intelligent at all but a confused waste of money. I cannot believe that any well read, cinema loving, sci-fi fan could like this.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2014
Previous reviews have it covered. Top work from the BBC and UA. For those that thought it 'dull' then perhaps something more gung-ho is in order. This needed some investment: thought and imagination; you get out what you put in. A thought provoking work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
The movie as a dreamy, other-worldly quality enhanced by the amazing locations and music. Anyone who says that they don't get it is quite frankly thick, weened no doubt on movies such as Battleship and Pearl harbour
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2005
Boring, full of contradictions, emotionally sterile, pointless, pretentiously edited, good photography. The Coldplay track at the end was fittingly depressing.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2005
It reminded me of Lost In Translation. A strange story line to follow, boring in parts.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2005
This film had a feeling that i had seen it before. i then thourght of Lost In Translation. Good film but i'd recommend Lost in Trans
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2006
Luckily I only rented this film rather than buying it but I found it to be very disappointing. I cannot believe that Tim Robbins actually got roped into starring in this film!

It does start out OK, but I just found so many parts a bit unbelievable and pointless. Like the fact that they all intermittedly speak in another lanuguage - was that meant to convey the sense of it being futuristic??

I didnt really understand what her dream on the train was about either.

When they got together and Robbins had to leave, then he came back to find the girl had her memory of him removed, I thought it was from that point that it all started to get a bit ridiculous. From this point onwards the plot seemed to have been written as though they had run out of ideas and were just putting anything into the mix.

Very disappointing, only rent it if you want to see it.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.