Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast and Fun
I've just created a 'Listmania' list of the 10 best games my 3 children have and this is definitely a must have purchase for age 3-7. It is excellent value for money and great fun.

This game is ideal for very young children as it is a very simple introduction to board games. It's much easier than similar board games (like the excellent washing line game, pop to...
Published on 27 Oct. 2008 by debbie8355

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not much good.
My daughter was bought this at a gift... we usually love the orchard games... it took less than 5 minutes to play and she was bored by it. Not as good as other orchard games.
Published 22 months ago by MyCookieMonsters


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast and Fun, 27 Oct. 2008
By 
debbie8355 (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Orchard Toys Tummy Ache (Toy)
I've just created a 'Listmania' list of the 10 best games my 3 children have and this is definitely a must have purchase for age 3-7. It is excellent value for money and great fun.

This game is ideal for very young children as it is a very simple introduction to board games. It's much easier than similar board games (like the excellent washing line game, pop to the shops etc) but still has a huge fun factor. It is also a quick game so children don't lose attention. There are also no small pieces like dice or counters to struggle with.

You take a board each which has the outline of a glass, dessert glass, knife, fork and middle plate and you start of with one face down pile of cards. Each player choses a card in turn from the main pile or a face up card from the discard pile. You match the card to your board and have to shout "tummy ache" if you take a card covered with spiders, maggots or other types of yukky stuff. The aim to to collect enough 'healthy' eating cards on your plate to win. If there is a space on your card you must place a yukky card down but the aim is to swap it for a 'heathly eating' card. The winner is the first person to fill up their card/place mat with 5 edible choices.

It has great educational value for this age range as the children have to match their cards to the background. It teaches them which side the knife and fork usually go (although doesn't work for left handers like my daughter) and most importantly can set a discussion going about healthy eating choices. Most of the food with the bugs are the unhealthy options like pizza, burgers, chips, ice cream. It is not a preachy game though as there is also a frog in the water, millipedes on the lettuce leaves and worms on the tomatoes.

My children love shouting "tummy ache" when they pick up a gruesome card and have to place it on their place mat. The games also only last a few minutes (less than 5) so in a playing session you can have a few games and a few winners so different children have a good chance of winning this completely random game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab Food Frenzy, 26 Oct. 2008
By 
L. Betts (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Orchard Toys Tummy Ache (Toy)
This game was given to our son for his 3rd birthday and a year on it's still a firm favourite and is played at least once a week. The fun seems to come from yelling 'TUMMY ACHE' at the top of his voice - unsurprisingly. He's got so good at playing it that he can now play 2 boards simultaneously.

The aim is quite simple, collect a main dish, one vegetable(with fork), one starch (with knife), one drink and one desert. If you get a 'tummy ache' card yell it out loud and then wait for your next turn to hope to get rid of it. The Tummy Ache cards include hamburgers, ice cream and potato waffles all with a gruesome selection of bugs crawling all over them.

The child learns a little about balanced diet while having a lot of fun. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TUMMY ACHE!!!!, 15 July 2009
By 
Dottymama (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Orchard Toys Tummy Ache (Toy)
I bought this game when my children were aged 2 and 4. It was an instant hit then and is still one of their favourites a year and a half later. The concept is so simple that even very small children can join in, but it is still lots of fun for older children and even the adults.
Boo hiss to the reviewer who wanted it to be more 'educational'. For pities sake, aren't things allowed to be just fun anymore? The fun in the game comes primarily from trying to get your 'favourite' cards. In our house this means the trifle and the strawberry milkshake, and I doubt that the game would be half as much fun if they were forced to choose low fat yoghurt and water in order to win.
A top game from Orchard Toys. Very hightly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tummy Ache, 10 April 2009
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Orchard Toys Tummy Ache (Toy)
Great fun. Quick & easy to play. My 4 & 10 year old girls love it. Requires mainly good luck but a little skill can be used when choosing to select a new card or to take one discarded by previous player. Does not take long so no time for boredom to set in. Lightweight & easy to pack for trips away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Orchard Toys do it again, 2 Jan. 2009
By 
P. Maley (paris) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Orchard Toys Tummy Ache (Toy)
You can pretty much buy anything in the Orchard Toys range with your eyes closed and know that it'll be a hit.
All together now: "Tummy Ache, Tummy Ache !"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Orchard Toys are the Best, 13 Jun. 2009
By 
A. Shearer (Aberdeen, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Orchard Toys Tummy Ache (Toy)
My oldest son received his first Orchard Toy game two years ago for his 4th birthday. We loved it so much that we have purchased many more since and regularly give them for gifts. Tummy Ache is no exception. The game pieces are sturdy and colorful. And, the game itself teaches the importance of eating healthy foods versus junk foods in a fun way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Great, 22 July 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orchard Toys Tummy Ache (Toy)
I played this game as a child 30 odd years ago and was delighted to see that it is still on the market. My children love it and it has been a firm favourite ever since it was first opened. It has really helped language development too, discussing whether something is good or horrible and what should be swapped. It is incredibly simple but effective and helps everyone to take turns.

This version is also very much based around healthy food, which can't be bad. Anyone for spider and chips?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orchard Toys Tummy Ache (Toy)
Bought at christmas for my 4 year old grandson to keep him amused over the feastive period - he loved it and got very involved
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 14 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orchard Toys Tummy Ache (Toy)
I bought this game for my Godson who is 5 and he loves playing it with his brothers who are slightly older than him. A hit all round!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not much good., 18 Mar. 2013
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Orchard Toys Tummy Ache (Toy)
My daughter was bought this at a gift... we usually love the orchard games... it took less than 5 minutes to play and she was bored by it. Not as good as other orchard games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Orchard Toys Tummy Ache
Orchard Toys Tummy Ache by Orchard Toys
£9.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews