Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value - 4/5 years old
We have a number of Orchard Toys, and with the exception of the Greedy Gorilla game, have found them to be of a consistently high quality. Pop to the Shops is no exception. Our 5 year old daughter loves this. It took her a while just to get her read round how the money works, with change etc. but she really took to this game, and its a firm favourite.

The rules...
Published on 31 Oct 2007 by Mr. J W

versus
42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Educational but not fun.
I love Orchard Hill games and we have owned this one for a couple of years but we have found it is too difficult to gain much fun from it.
The games last too long and my children have always lost patience with it before the games end.
The main problem we find is it involves too many throws of the dice to get to each shop and the children often lose track of...
Published on 7 Nov 2008 by debbie8355


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value - 4/5 years old, 31 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. J W "john_w" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orchard Toys Pop to the Shops (Toy)
We have a number of Orchard Toys, and with the exception of the Greedy Gorilla game, have found them to be of a consistently high quality. Pop to the Shops is no exception. Our 5 year old daughter loves this. It took her a while just to get her read round how the money works, with change etc. but she really took to this game, and its a firm favourite.

The rules are simple to pick up, the board is colourful and encourages them to get involved, and it brings through some good role play for shopkeepers! Can't really think of any minuses!

All in all - very good value, and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for starting to learn about money, 18 Jan 2007
By 
Max (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Orchard Toys Pop to the Shops (Toy)
An excellent game for 5- and 6-year-olds (my daughter, 5, loves it; little brother, 2, loves joining in though the maths is somewhat beyond him!) to help them start to learn to count and add up money. There are only 10p, 20p and 50p coins but that's plenty to get them started with adding up simple amounts in their heads. The game takes maybe 15-20 minutes to play and (as well as being terribly educational) most importantly it's fun!

Like all Orchard games (we've got plenty!) it's simple, well-thought-out and well-made, with nice bright cartoony pictures of familiar things. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little complicated, but worth it and lots of fun!, 12 Jan 2009
By 
E. Brodie-Gold (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Orchard Toys Pop to the Shops (Toy)
This game is a little more complicated than some of the other games in this range, but well worth it. My daughters ask to play it again and again. My 5 year old and her friends are enjoying learning to distinguish the coins and add them up to pay for items. My 3 year old also loves the game; it holds her concentration and she is starting to recognise the different coins.

One of the most fun aspects of the game is the roleplay element; when the time comes to buy something, the shopkeeper and customer have to talk to each other politely and you can experiment with different voices and accents for the shopkeeper which adds to the fun.

As other reviewers have mentioned, it is quite a long game and also it takes a few minutes to set up. But it's easy to make the game quicker by declaring in advance that the first person to buy (eg) 4 items will be the winner, instead of waiting until someone has bought 6 items.

The game is most fun with 4 players and wouldn't be so much fun with just 2 players.

If your children enjoy the Orchard Toys 'Shopping List' game, this is the ideal next step from age 3 1/2 up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Educational but not fun., 7 Nov 2008
By 
debbie8355 "*" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Orchard Toys Pop to the Shops (Toy)
I love Orchard Hill games and we have owned this one for a couple of years but we have found it is too difficult to gain much fun from it.
The games last too long and my children have always lost patience with it before the games end.
The main problem we find is it involves too many throws of the dice to get to each shop and the children often lose track of which direction they should be moving their people markers.
From an educational point of view it is potentially brilliant in the way
each child has to pay for each shop item with the correct coins but the added confusion of matching cards and taking the correct card makes it more hard work than fun. To be honest ny children have much more fun playing shops with a pretend till and counting out correct play money.
I'm all for children learning through play but this game is too difficult for small children and not interesting enough for older children.
Sorry to be a dissenting voice but this is one purchase I regret.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Game, 18 Nov 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Orchard Toys Pop to the Shops (Toy)
An excellent game for children starting to learn about money. My kids (8 years and 5 years) both really enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun - yet Educational at the same time!, 14 Sep 2009
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Orchard Toys Pop to the Shops (Toy)
My 5 yr old son & 7 yr old daughter love this game. It is highly durable and they play it well together. My son is only just now able to cope with the money part of the game - but they have both played it for more than 2years - and they still love it! As an adult - it is a little tedious - but the kids love it and beg to play a game when they come home from school.

As with all Orchard toys - the board quality and strong pieces makes the game very robust.

Good Value for money too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for starting to learn about money, 14 Jan 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Orchard Toys Pop to the Shops (Toy)
Nice little game in which you have to purchase items, whilst running a shop yourself, selling your items. I bought it for my 7 year old and he enjoys playing it with his 5 year old sister. It is great for helping them to learn about the different coins (50p, 20p and 10p provided), giving change and adding the coins together to make the correct amount.
A straight forward game, made fun by the different items that you need to buy and excellent value for money. I would recommend it for 6-7 year olds based on our experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun learning, 19 Sep 2010
By 
Meandtheboys (Chesterfield, UK) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orchard Toys Pop to the Shops (Toy)
A fun game for pre-school and up. Bought this last xmas for my then 5 year old who is now getting to grasps with money. This has helped with that and with maths. My 3 year old does sometimes walk away mid game, but that's his age I think, it can go on a bit if you throw a 1 every time! I think this one's a keeper. Especially when you consider the cost of it compared to some of the commercial rubbish that's for sale. Orchard toys are quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars looks better than it is!, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orchard Toys Pop to the Shops (Toy)
This game is really tiring if I am honest with you I was a little disappointed as it looked good on the box, it is for the first ten mins of playing and then your kids might get fed up like mine did.it gets confusing who's turn it is, the money is quite difficult to work out anyway for my 5 year old but you have to keep referring back to the board to remember what change you are giving out my 5 year old got herself in a pickle, she does get this game out and wants to play it again though.
I have also now lost the instructions and don't know how much to give to each player at the beginning of the game so cant play it now until I have found it. The board of this is not small but not big enough for three or four players to be around and to put all the little pieces on too, could of been bigger and better and bit more fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 1 April 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orchard Toys Pop to the Shops (Toy)
Just got it in the post. Played it straight away and children wanted to play again.

Can take a little while to get to the shop which extends the time and also we got confused as to whose turn it was because everyone seems to be involved in the transaction. But that adds to the fun. Youngest 4 yrs not at school needed help but 7 yrs old loved it and she had banker role as well.

Accidently, my fault (late at night purchase) got 2 but think will keep the "spare" and give as a birthday present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa750533c)

This product

Orchard Toys Pop to the Shops
8.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews