Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars for Ross
Got this DVD for my Grand son Ross as he has taken a liking to playing golf so this will help him to play he has watched dvd 5 times just trying to pick up tips
Got dvd very quickly and in good order thankyou
Published on 4 Aug 2010 by Douglas Durie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Golf fans should lap it up ..... but for the rest of us?
An aspiring golfer (Glenn Ford) and his new bride (Anne Baxter) take the plunge and go on the golf tournament circuit in the hopes that he can make a name for himself in the golf world. After a very slow start, he becomes a champion golfer but because of his chilly persona, he's not liked in the golf world. Then, a horrible accident threatens to end his golf career...
Published 13 months ago by The CinemaScope Cat


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars for Ross, 4 Aug 2010
By 
Douglas Durie (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ben Hogan - Follow The Sun [DVD] (DVD)
Got this DVD for my Grand son Ross as he has taken a liking to playing golf so this will help him to play he has watched dvd 5 times just trying to pick up tips
Got dvd very quickly and in good order thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Golf Classic, 25 Oct 2013
By 
JHvW "JHvW" (Pays Bas, Europe) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ben Hogan - Follow The Sun [DVD] (DVD)
If you are a student of the game of golf you will be familiar with Ben Hogan. You will also enjoy this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shows what one can achieve when determined a inspiration of the power we have in our lives, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ben Hogan - Follow The Sun [DVD] (DVD)
Great story of a mans determination. Inspired by the man. Shows that with hard work and effort he reached his dream
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Golf fans should lap it up ..... but for the rest of us?, 30 May 2013
By 
The CinemaScope Cat - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ben Hogan - Follow The Sun [DVD] (DVD)
An aspiring golfer (Glenn Ford) and his new bride (Anne Baxter) take the plunge and go on the golf tournament circuit in the hopes that he can make a name for himself in the golf world. After a very slow start, he becomes a champion golfer but because of his chilly persona, he's not liked in the golf world. Then, a horrible accident threatens to end his golf career forever. Based on the life of golf legend Ben Hogan, the film follows the formulaic path of sports bios: failure, success, tragedy, triumph and the little wife who stands by her man through it all. Is there a less cinematic sport than golf? Even pool (THE HUSTLER) and poker (THE CINCINNATI KID) have proved more thrilling than golf on film. Of course, I must confess I'm not a golfer and I suppose to someone who golfs the film might have an excitement that eluded me. Still, I don't play baseball either but baseball movies have proven pretty thrilling on occasion. The film does contain cameos by famed golf champions like Sam Snead and Jimmy Demaret. Directed by Sidney Lanfield. With Dennis O'Keefe in the film's best performance as a hard drinking golfer who clowns around to mask his insecurities. Also with June Havoc, Warren Stevens, Larry Keating and Nana Bryant.

The Duke DVD is a decent B&W transfer in its appropriate 1.33 aspect ratio. There are no extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ben Hogan Follow the Sun (dvd), 1 Dec 2009
By 
W. Andrew J. Pollock (Woburn, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ben Hogan - Follow The Sun [DVD] (DVD)
A bit dated now but a very contemporaneous film about Hogan at a pivotal point in his career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ben Hogan - Follow The Sun [DVD] (DVD)
Bought for an old friend who had tried for years to find a copy. Within seconds I was able to find.order & receive and made an old man happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars true story, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ben Hogan - Follow The Sun [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent picture very close to the real story of his life. one of the golfing greats. glen ford plays it well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ben Hogan - Follow The Sun [DVD] (DVD)
If you are a golf fan then this was really good, Glen Ford portrays the man well. Even if you're not a golf fan it's still enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Follow Ben Hogan, 20 Sep 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ben Hogan - Follow The Sun [DVD] (DVD)
SAFE READING - NO SPOILERS

I do not think it is necessary to enjoy a film about someone overcoming tremendous odds to become not just a "normal" person again but an inspiration to millions all over the world, a major sportsman and legend. Such is the story of Ben Hogan.

To write any more will spoil the story so just go ahead and watch the DVD. Glenn Ford plays him very well.

PS If viewers are golfers, it will probably enhance the viewing experience and leave them in awe of what he did achieve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truely amazing, 4 Jan 2011
This review is from: Ben Hogan - Follow The Sun [DVD] (DVD)
A truely amazing story - I didn't realise he'd been so badly injured and then made his comeback - What a guy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ben Hogan - Follow The Sun [DVD]
Ben Hogan - Follow The Sun [DVD] by Sidney Lanfield (DVD - 2004)
9.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews