Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hope he had the 1000-minute calling plan
I've yet to succumb to the temptation to own a cell phone. CELLULAR has me thinking that perhaps life is passing me by.

Jessica Martin (Kim Bassinger) lives the good life in the SoCal suburb of Brentwood - you know, where OJ lived - with her realtor husband Craig (Richard Burgi) and 11-year old son Ricky (Adam Taylor Gordon). One day, after waving Ricky off on...
Published on 8 Jan 2005 by Joseph Haschka

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mobile madness
Chris Evans crashes across the screen in a race to save captive Kim Basinger (who must have been told to act especially frail in this!)and her son from the evil doings of Jason Statham and a bunch of corrupt cops. William H Macy puts in a star turn as the quirky good cop on the edge of retirement but it's the suspenseful chase sequences that make this a gem of a film...
Published on 20 Jun 2012 by Steven


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hope he had the 1000-minute calling plan, 8 Jan 2005
By 
Joseph Haschka (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cellular [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I've yet to succumb to the temptation to own a cell phone. CELLULAR has me thinking that perhaps life is passing me by.

Jessica Martin (Kim Bassinger) lives the good life in the SoCal suburb of Brentwood - you know, where OJ lived - with her realtor husband Craig (Richard Burgi) and 11-year old son Ricky (Adam Taylor Gordon). One day, after waving Ricky off on the school bus, Jessica's home is invaded by three thugs led by Greer (Jason Statham). After shooting the housekeeper - perhaps one of the shortest bit parts in history, the intruders carry Martin off to a house in the hills (with a million $ view of the San Fernando Valley), where she's locked in the attic with a smashed phone until Craig hands over an item about which she knows nothing. Being a high school science teacher, Jessica coaxes the phone back to life and dials out by touching two wires together. Calling blindly, she manages to reach the young and irresponsible Ryan (Chris Evans) cruising the coast down by Venice Beach. After much tearful pleading, Martin convinces Ryan that her plight is real, and this launches the latter off on a day-long odyssey of chases and violence as he tries to rescue Jessica and her soon-to-be-abducted son, all the while maintaining that tenuous phone connection to the near-hysterical woman. Obviously, Ryan has never heard the old adage, "No good deed goes unpunished."

CELLULAR has everything necessary for a vicarious, nail-biting thrill ride at the movies. There's the truly vicious villain (Greer), the gorgeous damsel in distress (Jessica), and the completely engaging knight-errant (Ryan), all perfectly played by their respective actors in an ingenious plot. Then there's the delicious supporting role of William H. Macy as Mooney, the police desk sergeant who reluctantly gets involved in the mayhem when all he really wants is to retire and run a day spa with his girlfriend. And to top it off, the film's creators bedevil Ryan with those little daily annoyances that the viewers will personally know so well: a patronizing sales clerk, having to "take a number" in a crowded store, an obnoxious lawyer, bad cellular reception in tunnels and stairwells, an officious security guard, a driver in the next car playing the stereo too loud, slowpokes in the fast lane, and street delays caused by inopportune construction.

CELLULAR isn't one of the year's great cinematic achievements, but, for pure entertainment value and fun, it rates 5 stars if you're not too discriminating and willing to overlook a few credibility gaps. I mean, you can't actually park your car curbside in front of the terminal at LAX.

Finally, Jessica's knowledge of human anatomy, when combined with a sharp object, gives fair warning that you probably don't want to p.o. your high school science teacher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hope he had the 1000-minute calling plan, 3 Jan 2006
By 
Joseph Haschka (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
I've yet to succumb to the temptation to own a cell phone. CELLULAR has me thinking that perhaps life is passing me by.
Jessica Martin (Kim Bassinger) lives the good life in the SoCal suburb of Brentwood - you know, where OJ lived - with her realtor husband Craig (Richard Burgi) and 11-year old son Ricky (Adam Taylor Gordon). One day, after waving Ricky off on the school bus, Jessica's home is invaded by three thugs led by Greer (Jason Statham). After shooting the housekeeper - perhaps one of the shortest bit parts in history, the intruders carry Martin off to a house in the hills (with a million $ view of the San Fernando Valley), where she's locked in the attic with a smashed phone until Craig hands over an item about which she knows nothing. Being a high school science teacher, Jessica coaxes the phone back to life and dials out by touching two wires together. Calling blindly, she manages to reach the young and irresponsible Ryan (Chris Evans) cruising the coast down by Venice Beach. After much tearful pleading, Martin convinces Ryan that her plight is real, and this launches the latter off on a day-long odyssey of chases and violence as he tries to rescue Jessica and her soon-to-be-abducted son, all the while maintaining that tenuous phone connection to the near-hysterical woman. Obviously, Ryan has never heard the old adage, "No good deed goes unpunished."
CELLULAR has everything necessary for a vicarious, nail-biting thrill ride at the movies. There's the truly vicious villain (Greer), the gorgeous damsel in distress (Jessica), and the completely engaging knight-errant (Ryan), all perfectly played by their respective actors in an ingenious plot. Then there's the delicious supporting role of William H. Macy as Mooney, the police desk sergeant who reluctantly gets involved in the mayhem when all he really wants is to retire and run a day spa with his girlfriend. And to top it off, the film's creators bedevil Ryan with those little daily annoyances that the viewers will personally know so well: a patronizing sales clerk, having to "take a number" in a crowded store, an obnoxious lawyer, bad cellular reception in tunnels and stairwells, an officious security guard, a driver in the next car playing the stereo too loud, slowpokes in the fast lane, and street delays caused by inopportune construction.
CELLULAR isn't one of the year's greatest cinematic achievements, but, for pure entertainment value and fun, it rates 5 stars if you're not too discriminating and willing to overlook a few credibility gaps. I mean, you can't actually park your car curbside in front of the terminal at LAX.
Finally, Jessica's knowledge of human anatomy, when combined with a sharp object, gives fair warning that you probably don't want to p.o. your high school science teacher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Got better as I watched it, 5 Aug 2005
By 
A. P. Greaves "apgreaves" (Hants, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cellular [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I was unsure about this film when I started watching it. Granted, it gets into the action within minutes of starting but I didn't believe it was Kim Basinger at the start because of her crocodile tears and acting. That has to be down to the director. However, as I watched it, I started to enjoy it more and more. I found it kept me on the edge of my seat and I like it when you can see the bad guys are going to get their just rewards. The plot was a bit far fetched, but who cares! I also found it good to see an 'action' film putting more effort into supplying a little humour as opposed to gratutious violence. This is born out by the fact that Jessica is never once hit in the whole film, just thrown about a bit, but I thought her early acting deserved at least one good slap ;-) I'd recommended it to anyone wanting to put their feet up for an evening with a bottle wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Predictable but..., 25 Sep 2006
By 
Dodster (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cellular [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Still worth a watch. The whole premise of the movie, that Kim Basinger, as a kidnapped mom, manages to put together a broken phone and contact someone who is willing to risk all to help her is unbelievable. Yes. But so are so many 'Thrillers' of this genre. It's one of those 'only in America' movies.

The movie starts slowly, but hang in there, it gets better. By the end it I felt I had got my moneys worth. It is exciting, suspensful with the usual shoot outs, car chases and an unlikely hero who comes good.

I thought the best performance was put in by William Macey as the only straight cop on the force.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly clever, 15 Dec 2009
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cellular [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
For a film that looked like it was going to be a tawdry repeat of the 'girl in trouble'/techno-thriller genre, Cellular is surprisingly clever and, unlike so many films, gets better and cleverer the longer it goes on.

Kim Basinger, playing biology teacher Jessica Martin, is older than she used to be, and, quite soundly, doesn't try to use glamour to move the plot along. But (and we've seen this before) she does emotional desperation quite well, and out of desperation and some basic electrical knowledge, she manages to twist the wires together on the telephone her kidnappers smashed, and make a call. She stays on the call for most of the film, giving an almost Hitchcockian closeness to the narrative, as unlikely hero Ryan (Chris Evans, no, not that Chris Evans) first accepts what he believes is a prank call, and then takes it the police, before continuing to investigate it himself. The script then plays through all the things that can go wrong with a mobile phone call (losing the signal going into a tunnel, battery running flat, crossed line call, etc) before Ryan is in so deep that he no longer needs the call.

From there, we think we've lost track of the mobile phone element for a bit, but we haven't. After the series of accidents and reversals which keep the tension rising, Director David Ellis manages to pull two further very sweet coups out of the mobile phone motif, which together completely resolve the plot. I didn't quite gasp when I saw the first one, but I really did when the second came along to finish stuff off. I don't remember being impressed by the cleverness of a film's resolution in that way for a long, long time.

Why only four stars, then? This is good, but it's not great. The dialogue is fairly unremarkable, and the characters just a little like what we have seen before. But the magnificent flow of ideas really does lift this above the run-of-the-mill.

Worth watching, and worth watching to the end, even if it seems a little humdrum half-way through. You will absolutely love the conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Leave a message after the beep, 4 Nov 2010
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
"Isn't it funny? A phone rings and it could be anybody. But a ringing phone must be answered."

Those words were Kiefer Sutherland's closing lines in Phone Booth [2003] [DVD] and they could easily be the last words in Cellular, too. It's interesting that the script comes from the writer of Phone Booth (that would be Larry Cohen, the brains behind Maniac Cop [DVD] [1988] and The Stuff [DVD] [1985]), a movie about a man trapped in one tiny place on the phone to a complete stranger and yet Cellular is about a man trapped on the phone to a complete stranger who is free to go anywhere he wants.

Only Cellular is a more satisfying and complete film than Phone Booth. It doesn't make any attempt at satire, or make fun of the media, but does have terrific energy and intelligence. No, Cellular is NOT a no-brainer.

Ryan, played by Chris Evans (no, not the ginger, speccy nerd from British TV), is a punk kid who never takes anything seriously and is far too laid back to keep his girlfriend happy. But his life crosses paths with a woman in trouble. Will he finally grow up when her fate becomes his responsibility? Kim Basinger (aging more gracefully than I previously assumed) is that woman. She's being held in a spooky old attic by corrupt cop Jason Statham and painstakingly "repairs" a broken phone. She's about to reach out to somebody, anybody. The only number she manages to hook up to is Ryan's.

He immediately takes the problem to the fuzz. The only cop who will listen is Mooney (William H Macy), but he's too fed up and dismissive to take much notice. Not at first, anyway. As Ryan races around the city, overcoming difficult and dangerous obstacles, Mooney puts it all together and slowly realizes things ain't what they seem.

I had only ever seen Evans in the rather dull Perfect Score before this movie, but he made for a totally cool hero that everyone can relate to. Most actors his age irritate the hell out of me. I can only imagine how bad this film would have been with Seann William Scott, or Shai LeBeouf.

Basinger does everything she can with her damsel in distress. It's usually quite insulting to an actress's intelligence to reduce her to such a cliché, though she manages to bring integrity and desperation to the role more convincingly than most actresses her age.

And of course we all love and adore Jason Statham. He may be a skinhead with a funny sounding voice, but be it hero or villain he's dead cool and makes Vin 'Donald Duck' Diesel look real lame despite being nothing more than a low-rent Bruce Willis himself.

Director David Ellis races through the far-fetched plot without looking back and keeps everything fast-paced and exciting right up to the last minute. He's the man who made a good sequel out of a bad original (that would be Final Destination) and with many other directors the ludicrousness of the plot would be all too apparent. Here, we don't get a single breath to take it all in.

The show-stealing is split two ways. Macy is great as the Ned Flanders-type cop, but Rick Hoffmann is hilarious as an obnoxious lawyer who stands in Ryan's way and gets his comeuppance not once, not twice, but thrice.

There's not been a kidnapping thriller as gripping as this since Kurt Russell lost his wife in Breakdown [DVD] [1998]. Cellular is definitely the right number.

Oh, and in case it was bugging you, that movie the bad guys are watching is Final Destination 2 [DVD] [2003].

Warner really ought to release a Blu Ray, the DVD looks good, but a 1080p remaster and lossless sound would be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Don't ever call me on the phone again!", 29 Jan 2005
This review is from: Cellular [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Although Cellular has B movie sensibilities - complete with an overly dramatic movie score, which completely envelopes the action - it is loads of fun and moves along at such a fast pace, that one could be forgiven for finding it a rather guilty pleasure. While certainly not as a sophisticated crime thriller as Collateral, Cellular certainly has some entertaining moments, providing that viewers don't take the totally implausible plot too seriously.
Set in sun-drenched Los Angeles, with most of the pivotal action scenes taking place along Santa Monica Pier, Cellular revolves around the kidnapping of the gorgeous science teacher Jessica Martin (Kim Basinger), whose daywear consists of sexy high heals, dark sunglasses, and a slinky black dress. Just after Jessica returns home after dropping her young son off at the school bus, she's brutally kidnapped by some nasty gunmen led by Ethan Greer (the hunky Jason Statham). They shoot her maid, and lock Jessica up in the attic of a deserted house high in the hills above Los Angeles.
While hanging out on the Pier, hunky surfer Ryan (a sexy Chris Evans showing us all his hairy muscle), gets a call on his cell phone from Jessica, after she cleverly rewires a smashed rotary phone, telling him what has happened and begs him to please, just go the police. When a horde of angry skinheads swarms the nearby police station and interrupts Ryan's meeting with Officer Mooney (William H. Macy), the young brash hero determines he is Jessica's only hope for survival. Ryan soon learns that Jessica's husband, a real estate agent, has something Greer wants, and with the help of his cronies, is willing to kill for it.
As the plot unfolds Ryan races against time to find out where Jessica is, while trying to keep her on the phone. Ryan races all over the west side of Los Angeles, from Los Angeles International Airport to Century City, in a series of borrowed and stolen cars, on the trail of an intricate and despicable conspiracy. There's lots of fast driving, hold-ups, and shootouts, as Greer and his henchmen try to outwit both Ryan and Jessica.
One of the great attributes of Cellular is that there's very little exposition, with the action starting right away, which is probably for the best, because then viewers will have little time to consider why Jessica a mere science teacher can afford a brand-new Porsche Cayenne, a Brentwood mansion with live-in help, or why, on a day when school is in session, this particular science teacher is not at work.
The actors all do a good job with their perspective roles: Kim screams and shakes a lot, while tossing her gold locks of hair in frenzied panic. Statham is suitably malevolent and nasty as Greer, but by the end of the film most viewers will probably be laughing at his perpetual sneer. And after a shaky, awkward start Chris Evans, is pretty charismatic as Ryan, the self absorbed, narcissistic and reluctant hero. Evans certainly seems much more comfortable with the action sequences than the more intimate moments when talking to his girlfriend - but he looks fantastic, so who cares if he can't quite act.
There's a silly subplot tacked on involving Macy's character and his efforts to help out his beautician wife, which doesn't quite work and slows down the pacing. But generally, Cellular is full of action, suspense, and enough silly plot twists to keep most viewers entertained for the full ninety minutes. Mike Leonard January 05.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cellular, 21 July 2009
By 
M. Colgan "Maz mad" (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cellular [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I like Jason Statham and have seen all his films. He isn't in this one very much but its a good story and well worth looking at. I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mobile madness, 20 Jun 2012
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cellular [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Chris Evans crashes across the screen in a race to save captive Kim Basinger (who must have been told to act especially frail in this!)and her son from the evil doings of Jason Statham and a bunch of corrupt cops. William H Macy puts in a star turn as the quirky good cop on the edge of retirement but it's the suspenseful chase sequences that make this a gem of a film. It's one of those movies that had little in the way of publicity and your lucky to stumble onto it. I'm glad I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice bit of tosh!, 4 Nov 2006
This review is from: Cellular [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
O.K. Lets get one thing straight!This is a ludicrous,unbelievable bit of complete tosh,from start to finish.Got it?And yet,it's been a long time since I saw a film so unashamedly entertaining.Sometimes a good piece of nonsense goes a long way when all you want to do is put your feet up and leave the world behind for 90 minutes.

Highly reccomended for those nights when theres nothing on T.V. and you've got nothing better to do,give this one a spin.Good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cellular [DVD] [2004]
Cellular [DVD] [2004] by David R. Ellis (DVD - 2005)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews