Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See the Original Invisible Man.
This most seminal of stories has given birth to many inferior versions too numerous to count, but it takes the BBC once again to be faithful to the original masterwork.
The underlying theme of which stresses that, not all scientific discoveries are beneficial to mankind.
The eponymous character is a brilliant but obsessive researcher, who's experiments in...
Published on 11 Nov. 2007 by Armchair Pundit

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh...
With other reviews stating it to be the best interpretation of the book, I guess I was expecting better... The book just couldn't have been that good... :( It does what it says on the box but I have seen far better & superior incarnations of the Invisible Man... I watched it once & gave it away...
Published on 20 Jan. 2013 by Fritz O'Skennick


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See the Original Invisible Man., 11 Nov. 2007
By 
Armchair Pundit "Armchair Pundit." (Durham City, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Invisible Man [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
This most seminal of stories has given birth to many inferior versions too numerous to count, but it takes the BBC once again to be faithful to the original masterwork.
The underlying theme of which stresses that, not all scientific discoveries are beneficial to mankind.
The eponymous character is a brilliant but obsessive researcher, who's experiments in Optical Densities lead him eventually into a downward spiral of crime, violence and Death.
Although made in 1984 the special effects are rather good, the scenes of Griffin becoming Invisible, layer by layer are worthy of a big budget film.
This is as close as you'll get if you haven't read the book.
And if not why not? it's excellent.
Produced by Barry Letts, screenplay by Terrance Dicks.
Story first publised 1897.
~~~~
DVD contents:~
Ep.1-The Strange Man's Arrival.
Ep.2-The Unveiling of the Stranger.
Ep.3-Mr Marvel's Visit to Iping.
Ep.4-Dr Kemp's Visitor.
Ep.5-Certain First Principles.
Ep.6-The Hunting of the Invisible Man.
Extra's-
Extract from "Did you See?"30/09/84
20 page collectors booklet.(By Andrew Pixley)
Broadcast:~4/9/84-9/10/84.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not seen very often, 5 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Invisible Man [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
Largely forgotten but very faithful adaptation of HG Wells' classic late Victorian book, produced by the BBC in 1984. Comprised of six 25 minute episodes with an accompanying booklet which even includes details such as viewing figures for each episode.
The special effects aren't ultra sophisticated but are usually convincing and quite often highly effective. Laden with an atmosphere of doom, you know the fear and hostility this 'abomination against nature' provokes wherever he goes, will pay the price.
I paid £4, a bargain, and thoroughly enjoyed the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gothic contemplation of science, 2 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Invisible Man [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
The review can be and should be kept as short as possible, and hence let me try this: this is the most faithful, atmospherically rich, minutiae-driven version of the classic novel written by H.G. Wells. The story, as is well known, involves an invention that has, including some others like teleportation, has remained impossible till date. This made-for-TV movie does not go into the science of invisibility, as many others have tried at their own cost. Rather, by sticking to the narrative of this composed and exceptional piece of story-telling, it succeeds in compelling all of us, the present-day viewers, to think how certain discoveries can twist & torment an illuminated soul into its darkest shadow, something that eventually super-ceded the original itself in R.L. Stevenson's classic story Dr Jekyll & Mr Hyde [1981] [DVD]. But in this movie BBC has done a better and more rivetting job. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Invisible Man [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
The DVD I bought is a wonderful BBC classic: The invisible Man.

First of all I have to say that I was happily surprised how fast I got my product. It took only three days from checkout to my door, which is in Germany. So thank you for that.

The DVD-Box was in perfect shape. The contents was what was expected, not more not less:
a nice collectors booklet, which tells the story of the creation process of this TV show and the DVD itself.

To put it simple: perfect price/performance ratio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sheer quality, 25 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Invisible Man [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
I'm so glad the BBC decided to release this on dvd.Splendid adaption, and as for the special effects,superb for the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 Dec. 2014
By 
Mr. Peter Dubois "duboispedro" (Pedz Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Invisible Man [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
nice take on the story more like the book than other versions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Aug. 2014
By 
Colin P T (South Coast UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Invisible Man [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
GREAT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh..., 20 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Invisible Man [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
With other reviews stating it to be the best interpretation of the book, I guess I was expecting better... The book just couldn't have been that good... :( It does what it says on the box but I have seen far better & superior incarnations of the Invisible Man... I watched it once & gave it away...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars toytown, 25 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Invisible Man [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
purchased this dvd for my father who likes oldies i personelly thought it silly but he enjoyed it thats all that matters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Invisible Man [DVD] [1984]
The Invisible Man [DVD] [1984] by Pip Donaghy (DVD - 2005)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews