Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here's a film to watch more than once
You'll need to, there's so much happening, so much to piece together or maybe to re-arrange - you decide. The film is disturbing, gripping, scary and sad - the music is haunting and beautiful. How does a writer as young as this come up with such dark images and ideas. I've watched it several times now and am still trying to make it out. Colin Firth in the lead role is...
Published on 15 Mar 2005 by Mr. T. J. Larkin

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unpleasant
Ben (Colin Firth) was in a bad car accident that killed his wife. As the story opens he's in the hospital, coming out of a coma. He goes back to his creepy apartment building where he is the only resident. He cannot come to terms with his wife's death and hallucinates about her constantly. To make things worse, he finds himself the prime suspect in the brutal murder of a...
Published on 25 Sep 2009 by Kona


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unpleasant, 25 Sep 2009
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Trauma [DVD] (DVD)
Ben (Colin Firth) was in a bad car accident that killed his wife. As the story opens he's in the hospital, coming out of a coma. He goes back to his creepy apartment building where he is the only resident. He cannot come to terms with his wife's death and hallucinates about her constantly. To make things worse, he finds himself the prime suspect in the brutal murder of a famous rock singer.

Yikes. This is a bad movie. It attempts to be an art film delving into the mind of a mentally ill man, but falls completely flat and is just one long, confusing, and very unpleasant movie. We never know if what we are seeing is real or imagined; it's too hard to follow and totally repellent. Firth does the best he can with the terrible script but I didn't like or care about his character at all.

If you're afraid of creepy crawly creatures, this is not the movie for you; the same goes if you're looking for Firth to be a debonair heartthrob. Not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ineffectual and undernourished misfire, 26 Oct 2006, 26 Oct 2006
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Trauma [DVD] (DVD)
Marc Evans' Trauma is not to be confused with Dario Argento's Trauma, although it does seem eager to be confused with Jacob's Ladder, borrowing a few clumsily executed visual effects and the central "Which reality is reality?" conundrum to remarkably little effect. Despite a surprisingly good turn from Colin Firth as a stalker-cum-murder-suspect who may or may not have killed a pop star, whose wife may or may not have died in the accident that left him in a coma and whose landlady-cum-romantic interest Mina Suvari may or may not be a figment of his imagination, it's a thin and uninvolving story that fails to be bolstered by the visual techniques that keep you at arms length from the characters without ever being particularly successful in their own right.

There is a brief section halfway through where the picture threatens briefly to become interesting, but it all too quickly passes. Not unwatchable, just flat as a mill pond. Still, it does set new cinematic ground in giving all the ants in the film individual screen credits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here's a film to watch more than once, 15 Mar 2005
This review is from: Trauma [DVD] (DVD)
You'll need to, there's so much happening, so much to piece together or maybe to re-arrange - you decide. The film is disturbing, gripping, scary and sad - the music is haunting and beautiful. How does a writer as young as this come up with such dark images and ideas. I've watched it several times now and am still trying to make it out. Colin Firth in the lead role is superb - he is perfectly cast and it's refreshing to see him playing a part which has so much more depth to it than others he has played recently - he draws us into his world and we end up almost as confused as he is. Mena Suvari as Charlotte is wonderful. In the few scenes when they do come together the chemistry between them works so well, it is so beautiful and sensual. She is so trusting, innocent and pure - he is lonely and vulnerable, yet manipulative too and very sexy. He can try to cure my fear of spiders anytime, just as long as he doesn't get too carried away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not too impressed..., 20 Aug 2008
This review is from: Trauma [DVD] (DVD)
this story really muddled with my head. I love colin firth's acting and had bought the film on the assumption that i would be pleased because of that. I can see how the story would be interesting because there are a lot of twists and i big gasp of 'ooo i didn't know that would happen' at the end, but it overall seemed to lack something which i'm afraid has made me not want to watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Colin performance, 21 April 2005
By 
This review is from: Trauma [DVD] (DVD)
I've never been a genre movies fan but this one is completely different. You get intrigued since the very first moment until the end.
There is no need to say how exceptional actor Colin Firth is ,but in this movie he does his very best performance.
If you appreciate quality movies and an exquisite interpretation, Trauma is without any doubt your movie.Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars colin firth, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trauma [DVD] (DVD)
colin firth is so watchable - gripping stuff.there is the usual twist in the tale.one to keep. i think. thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Most underrated film ever., 15 Mar 2011
This review is from: Trauma [DVD] (DVD)
Probably one of Colins most underrated films, it was very gripping from the start and made me go 'Huh?' at the end, defiantly one to see if you like films with twists and turns. Great performance from Colin, you'll never see him like this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pre 'Kings Speech' Colin was a good actor then too, 24 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. P. J. Blackwell "walbassuk" (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trauma [DVD] (DVD)
Any credit for watching this film must go to the mighty Mark Kermode who mentioned it on more than one occassion on the BBC's flagship film programme "mayo on Friday' on radion 5. The point being made that Colin Firth has been doing the good acting thing long before all the hoopla surrounding The Kings Speech. This film Trauma probably isn't aimed at quite the same audience but shows that an unsettling film is a good vehicle for a good cast and crew. What you end up with is a taught, good looking piece that has a few twists and turns and is a film that leads to discussions at the end of it. No spoilers here. Well worth a look if you only have the slightest interst in the psycological thriller arena.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars two stars for Colin.........., 10 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Trauma [DVD] (DVD)
The two stars are only for Colin Firth who I would watch in anything, but this time I was actually pressing the fast forward button to move it on and see if it got any better...it didn't, three of us started watching this film by the end there was only me and I was nearly asleep, not my idea of entertainment, in fact a total waste of time,sorry Colin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colin at his best again., 1 Mar 2005
By 
M. Junho "movielover" (Sao Jose dos Campos, Sao Paulo Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trauma [DVD] (DVD)
I've just enjoyed this movie that I ordered some time ago.My,
what a flick ! The plot is gripping and unpredictable and the
director could manage wisely to extract the best of Firth's
acting...His performance is so strong and solid that we get lost and confused as much as himself... I feel sorry for the Brazilian audience that hardly can enjoy European movies as good
as the one I saw...Here in Brazil American movies rule the movie market most of the time...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trauma [DVD]
Trauma [DVD] by Marc Evans (DVD - 2005)
£2.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews