Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BBC excels AGAIN in natural history dept.
A superb from TV natural history documentary - one of the best I have seen in a long while. This superbly filmed 2 disc offering, 4 hours and 50 minutes, is what the BBC does so well - and it sits perfectly alongside any collection of David Attenborough documentaries!

Steve Leonard is a superb choice to lead us through the complete history of evolution -...
Published on 29 Oct 2006 by a reviewer

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good contents - Presentation annoying
I love natural history documentations and thus am familiar with most of the BBC's productions. This one left me with mixed feelings.
On the one hand the clear stamp of excellent BBC nature film makers is apparent, on the other hand the presentation is too populist for me.
The material presented in this series is excellent and most informative. The natural...
Published 10 months ago by SPR47


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BBC excels AGAIN in natural history dept., 29 Oct 2006
This review is from: Journey Of Life [DVD] (DVD)
A superb from TV natural history documentary - one of the best I have seen in a long while. This superbly filmed 2 disc offering, 4 hours and 50 minutes, is what the BBC does so well - and it sits perfectly alongside any collection of David Attenborough documentaries!

Steve Leonard is a superb choice to lead us through the complete history of evolution - explaining in detail HOW life comes to be where it is today - from the first hints of life to multi-cellular humans, and even beyond! - close on 5 hours, never before spent so well! Everything is explained in detail, without being patronising, dumbed down, or too boring, and the filming is a visual treat all the way through. There is no frustrating overlay of needless music either, as seen in so many other productions (even some BBC, like Deep Blue) - often drowning out the narration. Here, any music is coincidental, and quiet enough so we can actually hear what is being said, or just listen to the natural background sounds.

Use is made of technology too, with computerised imagery used to good effect - demonstrating points, though never over dramatising. This is truly a set worth buying if you are at all curious about the world around you, and have any sense of wonder or desire for education - yet it is probably pitched just right for the average person to benefit fully from it. You may just become addicted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sensible, informal survey of living creatures, 29 Aug 2006
By 
This review is from: Journey Of Life [DVD] (DVD)
Five one-hour programs - life in the sea, then land and then air. Animal predators, parasites and cooperators. Human life - how we became different from the other apes and why chimps can't tie a shoelace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good DVD on the evolution of life, 23 Dec 2007
By 
Rasih Bensan (Istanbul, Turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Journey Of Life [DVD] (DVD)
I had some knowledge about the evolution of life before watching this DVD but felt hat I needed to develop my knowledge about it a little more.I enjoyed watching and learning about the evolutionary stages of just about all forms of animal and plant life on Earth. The explanation of the evolution of humans was particularly interesting. The picture and sound quality is very good, explanations clear and to the point. I think this DVD can teach absolute beginners and also people who are already experts on the topic. Ideas about the probable future evolution of humans is also given.The question of " how did the present state of affairs come into being ? how and why did this develop or evolve this way ? " is raised several times during the DVD followed by flashbacks to millions sometimes even billions of years ago to get to the root of the causes and developments. Steve Leonard who appears on the DVD from time to time is sympathetic, talks clearly and uses humor at the right dose. I strongly recommend this DVD to anyone who is curious about the evolution and the peresent sate of life forms on Earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous introduction to evolution, 1 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: Journey Of Life [DVD] (DVD)
Great series covering evolution from the beginning and how all species are linked - all life on earth is connected. The frst programme covers the beginnings of the sea environment, plants and the effects of gravity, then on to amphibians, mammmals, anthropods and flying creatures - and ultimately us, who are way down in the population figures. If that meteorite had missed earth 65 million years ago the dinosaurs could still be here, and few mammals. Excellent introduction to many subjects, Steve Leonard could be a worthy successor to David Attenborough, he explains things so well, is hands-on and gets his feet wet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent entertainment, 12 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey Of Life [DVD] (DVD)
Such documentaries are rare. The evolutionary steps towards the homo sapiens sapiens is wonderfully presented and explained and my children were just awed by the gradually forming of life cells in the depth of the ocean and their evolution towards our technological and high-tech age human beings. This is a very beautiful programme and not only for children but also for anybody interested in evolution and anthropology. Steve Leonard is a brilliant and enthusiastic presenter with lots of humour. This DVD is a real treasure for young and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey Of Life [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this DVD a while ago and was completely satisfied with it. Great educational value. I will definitely return to it to make sure I haven't forgotten any of its points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding dvd, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey Of Life [DVD] (DVD)
This is an outstanding dvd which explained the journey of life so well even 10 year olds can understand it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful documentary, 1 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey Of Life [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best nature shows I've ever seen. Well done, BBC!

I'd love to know how they managed to film the scene with the swans...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it, 15 Oct 2014
By 
This review is from: Journey Of Life [DVD] (DVD)
Well presented, very interesting and I learned some things. Those are among my top criteria for a DVD I'm glad I bought, so it fits! Some fascinating facts and beautiful photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting educative work, 23 May 2010
This review is from: Journey Of Life [DVD] (DVD)
Interesting educative work is mostly for schoolies broadening their general knowledge of life and science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Journey Of Life [DVD]
Journey Of Life [DVD] by James Honeyborne (DVD - 2005)
£15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews