Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as the original.
Before Sunset picks up nine years after Before Sunrise's cliff-hanger ending. Jesse and Céline are now in their 30's, Jesse has written a book about their encounter and is on the last date of his European book tour in Paris. Céline turns up unexpectedly to the reading and the pair have a few hours to spend together in Paris before Jesse has to fly back to...
Published on 16 April 2006 by David Welsh

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Boring the amount of almost teen dialogues.
Published 9 months ago by Susana Filipa Rodrigues Nunes


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as the original., 16 April 2006
By 
David Welsh (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Before Sunset [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Before Sunset picks up nine years after Before Sunrise's cliff-hanger ending. Jesse and Céline are now in their 30's, Jesse has written a book about their encounter and is on the last date of his European book tour in Paris. Céline turns up unexpectedly to the reading and the pair have a few hours to spend together in Paris before Jesse has to fly back to the States. It soon transpires that both are in relationships, but the spark between them is still there. As they gradually open up more and more to each other about their lives and the effect their encounter in Vienna 9 years before had on them, the unspoken question looms larger and larger - can they really let the opportunity for true love slip through their fingers a second time? Before Sunset is impeccably written (by Linklater, Hawke and Delpy) and the film lives up to the high standards set by its predecessor. The characters themselves and the mood of the film are distinctly more mature, but Before Sunset has the same magic and the same sense of the thrill of the possibility of true love as its predecessor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This made me cry!!, 27 Aug. 2005
By 
Ms. Sally Williams "Sally" (Pembrokeshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Before Sunset [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is a incredible film. The dialogue between the (only)two charecters, and how they relate to each other is entirely beleivable and entirely fabulous. The ending is appropriate, but gives the tantalising possibility of a further follow on. If I gave details of the plot it might sound crass, but this film is an absolutely must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lost loves reunite, walking and talking, in gay Paris, 16 Mar. 2011
By 
Philoctetes (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Before Sunset [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I had vague memories of Before Sunrise, the mid '90s predecessor of Before Sunset. Good memories, but I seem to recall some negative feedback about the sequel - self-indulgent, annoying characers - that put me off until now.

Well, basically, I'd say it's pretty great. The two characters, now about ten years older, meet at the man's Paris book-signing and start talking and walking, meandering and conversing...until the end of the movie. Did you ever have that experience, watching a romantic movie, where the bonding of the soon to be lovers is shown in a montage, of images with slushy music, of unheard talk and laughter and dinners and slow walks in the park, and at home you're watching and thinking, 'Ok, yeah...but what exactly did they say to each other that created this intimacy? How did sharing the boring stories of their lives lead to love?' Well, watch this and if you're not enchanted it may be that you'll come away undertanding why most movies elide the small talk that leads to the more dramatic stuff later.

If, on the other hand, you are taken with this movie, maybe it's because it reminds you of those happy occasions when you went out with something and everything flowed, like the Seine. When the presence of the other person inspired you. There is the danger that all this thinking out loud by Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy might start to grate after a while, but I have to say that if I didn't love their characters I basically didn't dislike them. To their credit their dialogue does sound completely natural.

Quite an emotional film at times, but also quite restrained, now i'm gonna have to go back and see the earlier film and work out which is best and if they work well as a double-bill. I come from a Woody Allen household and as a former master of the movie where conversation is everything, I think Allen might be looking on green with envy.

IN SHORT, A GREAT FILM ABOUT CONVERSATION AND A GREAT STUDY AID FOR SCRIPTWRITERS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Wonderful, 4 April 2008
By 
Donal Crotty (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Before Sunset [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
The only disappointment in "Before Sunset" is that it ends. You want to follow the characters and their story further and further. The movie is made in such a way that you feel as part of their conversation, like a friend hanging along, eves dropping. Emotional warning to anyone who has had the good fortune to experience the "love of my life" feeling and the misfortune to have lost that opportunity, then beware, this will rekindle all those mixed emotions!!! Along with the great acting and screenplay, you also have such a simple streetview of Paris, which again makes you feel as you are there. Just a wonderful movie and worth buying as the dialogue is so intense, you pick up more of the nuances with each viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best modern romance film?, 30 Nov. 2007
By 
m "macey" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Before Sunset [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Maybe.

And for a film which consists of two people talking and walking around Paris, with no soundtrack music at all, for just over 90mins, it's a pretty tall claim I know BUT! Following on from Before Sunrise, to me it's the perfect meditation on what it actually means to find someone attractive to you, to consider what that means for your life, what it means when you connect with someone, even if you only see them the once.

There's an honesty about the whole thing - a realism in the dialogue, a naturalism you rarely get in Hollywood (not that director Linklater is mainstream, he definitely isn't.) The resonance of the whole thing just runs and runs: choices, the lies we sometimes tell ourselves, how we can be our own worst enemies and yet still try to reach for a better self.

Brilliant, completely brilliant. To be fair, it did take me a couple of viewings to really absorbe it all. Just look at that scene where they first leave the book shop and start walking - how long does that go on for?!? And yet, it seems like only a flash.

Best of - BEST OF ALL! What has to be the fabbest ending of any recent romantic film - the last ten minutes with Julie Delpy and her song and the whole Nina Simone thing (this is not a spolier by the way!) is priceless, just..the magical ending it all deserved. You find yourself going back to that again and again.

There should be some sort of law requiring them to make a new sequel every year. How did the screenplay not win the Oscar that year?

Buy without fear, everyone deserves to have a copy of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essence of Life is Unpredictability, 19 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before Sunset [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
The nearest I ever got to Ethan and Julie's stroll was a walk around Cologne, at night, with a seventeen year old American. She had been propelled on a journey to Munich, in Glasgow, soon after she had arrived in this country from Florida. But she had not been told that Britain is a group of islands. Thus the change from train to boat, at Harwich, had concerned her somewhat. Anyway, we didn't make love in a park, or anywhere close, but for some reason that walkabout sticks in my mind. The evening was sultry after all..

Ever since I saw Sunrise I never forgot it, though I have yet to visit Vienna. As for Sunset, it brought tears to my eyes, for the sheer, beautiful simplicity of two people communicating and at one.

One dreams of such romance. And I guess the film makes it seem possible, as the acting and dialogue are so natural. Of course I wasn't born yesterday, so I appreciate the realities of life. While I did have one romantic week-end in Paris with a lover, I was disappointed afterwards to discover that the hotel in which we had fantasised about staying, 'next time' (Les Trois Poissons, close to or in Montmartre) had been forgotten by her a few months later. Or was it simply a case of selective 'bad memory', a la Julie Delphy 'forgetting' that they had had sex in the park?

People who don't like this film are not worth knowing. My ex would hate it. Nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars can'st thou leave me so unsatified?, 8 Oct. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Before Sunset [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is a knockout. Short and sweet, with knobs on. Firstly I consider the abscence of sex scenes, in an intensly romantic film, to be a mark of true quality. Secondly I find it hard to believe only one other reviewer mentioned 'the song'. My heart is still fluttering now!!! I challenge anyone, man or woman, and I am the latter, not to fall in love with Celine after that performance. The French accent alone would get you, but she is so much else besides, and sings with such devotion and feeling. I had to hear the song several times over to satisfy myself and when the film ended so suddenly, I felt bereaved, but somehow glad about the open ended- ness of it . See this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rare modern film - deep, natural, romantic and charming, 17 Sept. 2005
By 
P. Whitehead (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Before Sunset [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Before Sunset is a sequel, and I think it would be sheer folly to watch it without first watching Before Sunrise. Both films rely upon an extremely natural acting on the part of Hawke (Jesse) and Deply (Celine); who really provide the sole focus in both films. Moreover, both films rely upon in-depth conversations about all manner of topics as Jesse and Celine probe each other. Some people might find these conversations boring, and the scenes over-long. Me, I found them thoroughly absorbing, and a necessary part of getting to know the characters. And you do get to know them as 3-D people; their strengths, failings, neuroses, loves and hates. Moreover, I found the screen-play very clever. A good part of the film involves Jesse and Celine skirting round each other, and we are well into the film before they feel able to ask the questions they really want to ask. The first film was more atmospheric, I agree, with the director using the streets of Prague to great effect, and relying upon the facial expressions of the actors to tell 1000 words. But in Before Sunset, the actors only have a few hours - until Jesse has to catch is plane home to NY - to catch up on the 9 years they've been apart. Surely they'd have a lot to talk about?

I loved the direction too - the simple but effective scenes walking the streets of Paris.

Remember the end of Before Sunrise, where there is about five minutes showing the viewers all the places Jesse and Celine had been, the streets, parks, etc? I found this really quite moving, as these places clearly held some significance to Jesse & Celine, and do to the viewers, but this significance is lost when they've left. The wine bottle and glasses in the park are just that... The beginning of Before Sunset - and this is clever - shows us the places that Jesse and Celine will be in the film that follows...

NB: Please don't forget to watch "the making of" section on the disc. This really helps you understand why they made the film and how they made it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful love story., 26 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Before Sunset [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I prefer Before Sunset to its predecessor Before Sunrise as i find the characters more believable and easier to relate to.

Jesse and Celine are reunited after 9 years without seeing each other, through Jesse's book tour. The film starts in the iconic Shakespeare and Co. bookshop near the picturesque Notre Dame as Jesse is there for the last leg of his book tour, Celine hears about this and goes to the interview, and the film continues from there.

Julie Delpy and Ethan Hawke are great together, forget any preconceptions you may have of either of them as actors, they are great as Jesse and Celine. You can't help but fall in love with them and hope everything works out well, I don't really want to say anything else on the plot as it may ruin the ending for you, but it is just lovely.

It is shot brilliantly, as the film is set in real-time, as one continuous conversation between the two leads, with very few other characters, and even those only say a line or two, it is purely just about two relationship between the two of them.

It is a timeless film, as is Before Sunrise, made 9 years prior in 1995, so don't feel put off by the dates! With before Midnight out imminently (within the next few weeks i think!), i urge you to buy both films and watch them, rewatch them if you have already seen them, or familiarise yourself with them if you haven't, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Near perfect, 15 Dec. 2004
By 
Mr. C. Ashrowan (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before Sunset [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I first saw this in a small art house cinema in Edinburgh a few months ago. Having never seen the prequel, I had no idea what I was in for. To put it simply, this film is a little under two hours of some of the finest dialogue you're ever likely to hear. The longtime collaboration between Linklater, Delpy and Hawke shines through this film - the chemistry between the leading lady, the leading man and the intricate script makes you forget all your cinematic pretentions and sit back and enjoy hazy Parisian bliss. I'm clearly so biast that any attempt at objective review would be highly foolish, so I'll just say this: If you're thinking about buying this film, don't bother; just click the button and feel happy with yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Before Sunset [DVD] [2004]
Before Sunset [DVD] [2004] by Richard Linklater (DVD - 2005)
£7.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews