Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice easy film
Good film, seen it before but thought I'd buy it. The end is a bit silly (won't spoil it). Like the idea of creating your own 'perfect' partner. Comical in places and cheesy in others.
Published 1 month ago by Nicola23

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money if you liked the book!
Having read the book and loved it I was dying to see how it would look on screen, and with such a great cast I thought I wouldn't be disappointed. How wrong I was. This film was wasted on the likes of Kidman and Walken. And Broderick was so wooden I wondered if he was a robot throughout. As other reviewers state, the plot was full of holes, but there were some laughs,...
Published on 28 Jun. 2005 by S. Pinney


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money if you liked the book!, 28 Jun. 2005
By 
S. Pinney "Bookworm" (Bristol, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Stepford Wives [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Having read the book and loved it I was dying to see how it would look on screen, and with such a great cast I thought I wouldn't be disappointed. How wrong I was. This film was wasted on the likes of Kidman and Walken. And Broderick was so wooden I wondered if he was a robot throughout. As other reviewers state, the plot was full of holes, but there were some laughs, although not enough in my opinion to save the film. A big disappointment. Amazon won't allow you to choose no stars, so its 1 out of 5 for that reason only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying but its a remake in the style of a rom-com, 21 Feb. 2012
This review is from: The Stepford Wives [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
"The Stepford Wives" original film in 1975 makes the 2004 remake look shameful. Its like a child like approach to the original's very eerie and serious tone and it suffers a lot because of it. Again the remake feels like a rom-com, the dialogue of the original was witty while addressing common everyday female issues which definitely surpassed the 2004 remake. The original is considered "savage social satire" and the remake looks like a parody of the concept of "Stepford wives". Particularly the original questioned the role of females in society as more than domestic goddesses while presenting a horror like story of what could be. The ending of the remake finally seals its fate as a laughable joke to the original novel and film's powerful message of chauvinistic prejudice and ultimately could be seen as ridiculing feminism (and half the human race in the process).

The remake is more comedic and a more docile approach (just like a stepford wife ironically) to a serious subject matter, its rather clumsy romance-comedy that does nothing to surpass the original. Its entertaining but it quickly fades when compared to the brilliance of the original film. It's not an awful remake but its nothing special either so I would give a 6.5/10 as it tried to take the plot in a new direction but ultimately wasn't nearly as satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Are you a Stepford wife? Are you a Stepford husband? Couple, ask yourselves: Would you move to Stepford?, 10 Feb. 2013
This review is from: The Stepford Wives [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Several things really bothered me about this movie, but the biggest was that there was no real suspense created. The movie gave away pretty much all it's secrets right away. I was unfamiliar with what it was going to be about and found it highly disappointing. Even when I see movies I know the end to I expect more suspense than this offers.

I thought all of the actors turned in brilliant performances; Nicole Kidman was emotionally driven, and all the other actors seemed to really do a nice job, including the Wives, who had to act perfect in unison. Even the oft-criticized Matthew Broderick made a good mediocre husband to his powerhouse wife, and I could see him wrestling with his decision, but it created very little drive for the story.

I think the bulk of this movie's problem seemed to be how it was all put together. It could have explored a lot of issues deeper, it could have been a lot more engaging, but it wasn't. The film couldn't make up it's mind what it wanted to be, and wound up being nothing.

Plus there was the robot/microchip inconsistency...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Finally the perfect wife, 4 Dec. 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Stepford Wives [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Frank Oz and others had a huge debate over making this movie dark, menacing or light, fluffy, and it shows. One minute it has Mathew Brodrick making hidden malice faces and the next moment they are cracking jokes about AOL. However by not trying to follow the formula of a strict remake they came out from the shadow of the original and make a stand alone movie on its own. The commentary track was just as good, if not better than the movie it's self.

The actors themselves were quite good:
Nicole Kidman of "Natural Magic" fame, as usual can look so emotional.
Mathew Broderick looked like Farris Buller with a secret.
Bete Midler was just being herself(s).
Christopher Walken adds that sinister touch. Nothing mechanical.
Faith Hill adds real spark to the movie.
Glen Close can keep a strait face.

Joanna Eberhart (Nicole Kidman) has it all and puts her whole life into her career. Through a series of miss events when she goes in to what she expects would be a raise is let go. The trauma sends her over the deep end. Her husband quits working for the same network to care for her. He only wants the BEST. So they moved to the quainter environment of Stepford. There Men can be men and Women can be women. Joanna being her cantankerous self has trouble adjusting to life and the people around her that only wanted to help. Her husband threatens to leave her if she does not change her ways. So she does and solicits the help of tow other disgruntled friends.
Will she really change?
If not what can be done?
Why is the mechanical dog asking for help?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Step one: read the book. Step two: Chuck it in the bin!, 7 Dec. 2007
By 
This review is from: The Stepford Wives [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
If you have read the book, like I have, then you may well be completely dismayed at what you view here. I saw the film at the cinema with a friend, who loved it, but then, she hasn't read the book.

Even before you can begin to like this film you have to forget the book even exists as they are totlly different. Infact, the only thing that ties the two together is Bette Midlers chatacter, Bonnie.
The book is dark and menacing and the film is light and fluffy with cliche characters. It is an ok film. Nothing special, but entertaining thanks to its star cast. However I do remain completely dumbfounded as how the makers have so blatently taken the book and chucked it in the bin to make the film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very good, 25 Feb. 2015
By 
Ann2shoes (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stepford Wives [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Oops made a mistake getting this, very ordinary I'm afraid and not very good, even with the great Nicole Kidman in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars oh dear oh dear, 20 Feb. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stepford Wives [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Most people know the Stepford story, and I was hoping that this would be a new take on the original idea, but very little was new, and despite there being a good cast whose acting wasn't bad, something was missing. I just think the film wasn't quite 'anything' in particular - not particularly funny nor any suspense, or drama, and left me feeling disinterested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like the book, 29 Jan. 2012
This review is from: The Stepford Wives [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Having read the book was looking forward to watching the film. It is nothing like the film! The only similarity were the names. The main characters totally unbelievable to those in the book. Waste of time & money. Maybe I should have watched the original version.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, save your time and money!, 10 Jan. 2005
By 
This review is from: The Stepford Wives [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
It seems to be a compulsion of hollywood to remake perfectly good films, badly, and this is a shining example of that desire. What makes it worse is that there are a whole bunch of talented actors in it, and their only justification must be to put food on the table!
I can't imagine why they needed to contemporise (is that a word?) the 'perfect wife' idea with a gay couple. The camp one (of the couple) was tedious, and I reckon Frank Oz had a bet with George Lucas to see who could make the worst on-screen stereotype (oh, fabulous!)
This film is dire, and is undoubtably being used to extract confessions in Camp Delta.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fun. Nothing more, nothing less. (3.5 STARS), 19 Jan. 2005
By 
L. Omelasz "brekkie_tiffs" (Dundee, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Stepford Wives [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Why is this film getting so much negativity? For instance, most critics complain about the fact that this isn't as dark or as good as the original. Since when was it trying to be like the original? This film is decidely comedic (with dashes of sci-fi thrown in) and it's all the better for it. Nicole Kidman shines as the bewildered Joanna as does Bette Midler as the hilarious Bobbie. However, the sci-fi parts of the film do not mix very well with the film's main theme. It could have worked but this movie is far too silly to really be a black comedy. Christopher Walken is surprisingly dull as Bill whilst the Stepford Husbands come off looking sad and pathetic (whether this is how they were supposed to be portrayed i don't know). Despite these flaws, The Stepford Wives is a (almost)full fledged laugh-riot that you won't regret giving 90 minutes of your time to. Highlights include Viggo and the Book Club.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Stepford Wives [DVD] [2004]
The Stepford Wives [DVD] [2004] by Frank Oz (DVD - 2004)
£3.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews