Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Never Ending Story
It's always been difficult to decide whether Buffy or Angel was the better show, until now. Set in new surroundings, Wolfram & Hart, Angel got a fresh new look for it's final and best season.
The 4th season was evidence of the show getting a bit stale and this move was a breath of fresh air. The season has some excellent continuous storylines, but also some great...
Published on 28 Nov 2004 by angelus_xviii

versus
51 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why the Huge Price differential from Region 1
I throughly Enjoyed Angel Season 5 , but feel the UK (Region 2) customer is being ripped off. The exact same Box set in the States costs $38.99 from Amazon.com , which at the time of writing is 20.98.
It would seem that the UK customer is being charged almost double, that of a US Customer.
5 Stars for the Series, 1 star for being ripped off.
Published on 10 Feb 2005


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Never Ending Story, 28 Nov 2004
By 
This review is from: Angel - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
It's always been difficult to decide whether Buffy or Angel was the better show, until now. Set in new surroundings, Wolfram & Hart, Angel got a fresh new look for it's final and best season.
The 4th season was evidence of the show getting a bit stale and this move was a breath of fresh air. The season has some excellent continuous storylines, but also some great individual episodes. Smile Time, You're Welcome and Harm's Way are great examples of these. Every charcter had episodes devoted just to them, with references going back to the beginning in some cases. The story arcs are great too. Adjusting to life in the largest, oldest and not forgetting most evil law firm in the world provides a great plot for the 1st half with some memorable and hilarious moments, the reintroductions of Spike and Harmony being an excellent choice. The 2nd half then moves into more serious plots that don't just revolve around individuals, but the company as a whole. The introduction of Illyria halfway through was a bold but great move and the build up to the final battle with the Senior Partners is addictive viewing, quite literally. I watched the whole series in the space of 25 hours. Never has a show had such a moving ending. It leaves you feeling very satisfied while at the same time wanting more. You get closure on all the characters that matter, from Cordelia all the way through to Lindsey. The progress in the relationships between Fred & Wes and Connor & Angel are especially moving.
The final few episodes manage to create a sense of finality at the same time as having a familiar sense of continuity. It has stuck to the theme of all the seasons - you have to fight on and although the war may never end, you can always make a difference in the world. This will not let any Angel fans down. Joss has done his best job yet and it was truly sad to see the show go. Essential viewing.
Although the special features have not yet been revealed, if they're like other seasons, they will be well worth having and just make the DVD even better value for money. The episodes alone make it worth it, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous season, 23 Feb 2005
This review is from: Angel - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Wow, this DVD set has the best featurettes I've seen on any Angel series. Right from the art work to the commentaries this is a feast of salty goodness for any Angel fan. Commentaries by Joss Whedon, Skip Schoolnik, David Fury, Steven S. Deknight, David Boreanaz, Juliet Landau, Christian Kane, Brent Fletcher, Alexis Denisof, Amy Acker, Sarah Thompson, Adam Baldwin, Jeffrey Bell and wonderful insights into the show that I'd never have known without it. The show production values come shinning through to reveal just what Warner Brothers through away when they cancelled Angel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let's Go to Work, 5 Jan 2005
This review is from: Angel - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I have to admit, when I bought this series I had my doubts. I had heard a lot of negative viewpoints on the season, and the absence of Cordelia did not look appealing.
However, when I finally watched it, I was completely amazed. Angel went out with a bang, not a whimper, and kept it's premise until the very end. There's plenty of stand-alone episodes, which makes a refreshing change to the interesting although heavy arcs of the last 3 seasons, and a focus on character development. Everyone changes in this season, whether it's Lorne, Gunn, Fred or Connor (please note that despite being a chief Connor hater, this season convinced me that the character could be incredibly likeable). Angel's loyalties are kept ambiguous right from the very end, as he dives deeper and deeper into Wolfram & Hart. There are plenty of new characters to pique your interest, as well as the return of Buffy favourites (most obviously, Spike). For those interested in what happens to the Scooby gang after Chosen, there is even a little valuable info on their whereabouts!
To cut it short, this is a worthy last season to a surprise hit show. It will make you laugh, it will make you cry, you'll cover your eyes during the gory bits, but most importantly, it will reward you 8 years of watching the Buffyverse unfold.
A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angel better than Buffy? YES!, 18 Dec 2006
By 
Customer - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Angel - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Angel's fifth season was its final and greatest season; building on four years worth of history the episodes were able to reach new levels and enabled the writers to add vast depth to their already wonderfully realised characters. It does start off at a somewhat unsteady pace; it would seem that the writers were approaching this season with caution as they were close to being cancelled the year before.

As a condition of being renewed for a fifth season Angel suffered large budget cuts and a return to a more 'stand alone episode' formula. Although this was never going to benefit the show, the writers pulled out all the proverbial stops to make this one of the most emotionally explosive and exciting seasons ever! Had this not been the last season I wonder whether Joss Whedon would have had the heart to kill off certain characters; not that I'm complaining. This season hit all the right buttons, in a way no other one did, in fact it is probably better than most, if not all, Buffy the Vampire Slayer seasons and I don't say that lightly! As well as saying goodbye to a number of well loved characters this season, a number of them make a return including; Andrew (geek from Buffy), a much better drawn Connor who is entirely less annoying and dear Cordelia, among a few others.

The season opens with `Conviction', as the gang were handed over the keys to Wolfram and Hart at the end of season 4, this episode was based upon them settling in to their new home and the season sees them progressively getting to grips with their situation. (This leads to many moral quandaries and Angel (quite often) killing his clients!) Despite the slow start, the early episodes are not without merit but when compared with the second part of the season they are evidently nowhere near as good. Weaker episodes, most notably are `Destiny' and `Unleashed'... `Unleashed' being miles worse! Personally I hated that episode; worse was the writers shoe horned attempt at adding a love interest into Angels life so soon after Cordelia: I wasn't impressed. Though thankfully she only appears in around two more episodes and even in those she is only a minor annoyance.

As the season moves into its latter half the stand alone element basically goes out the window and a large number of smaller story arcs appear. More significantly the new character Illyria (yep another god!) means we lose one character that has been with the show for a long while. But this was not done without sentiment and in my opinion the Illyria arc turns season fives conclusion into an epic tragedy shining with brilliance.

In Illyria's wake comes far reaching consequences for all the remaining fang gang, sadly we did not get to explore all of these as the show was cancelled, but for the seven or so episodes she appears in, Illyria shows growth and alteration and even love towards another character (I wont spoil it for you); this is exactly what TV shows should be about.

The inclusion of Spike was both welcome and not, but hey he's around to annoy Angel and to provide some much needed comic relief, which was welcome. Despite trying to muscle in on Angel's territory (they explore the issue of having two vampires with souls in `Soul Purpose' and `Destiny' among others), it remains clear that this is still Angels show and we watch him grow and rekindle his passion for the good fight. By the end of the season we see Angel make a selfless sacrifice in regards to the Shanshu prophecy and then there's the last fight and the overall message that hangs over the season; that the fight goes on. It was indeed a fitting end for what the series was trying to say, but one more season still would have been awesome!!

Season highlights include: The hilarious `Smile Time' in which Angel gets turned into a puppet, `A Hole in the World' where we first glimpse the Goddess Illyria and say goodbye to a main character, `You're Welcome' the milestone 100th episode where we see the return of Cordelia who's thankfully back to her old self; an utterly heart breaking episode and one of the best in the shows history. Probably the most important episode of the season being `Not Fade Away'. It is the best Angel season finale ever hands down; it's also sadly the series finale. Both its scope and emotional content blows the Buffy series finale `Chosen' out of the water.

So should you buy this DVD? Even if you have never really liked nor watched Angel? Yes you should, it may not be for you but it is and always will be one of the greatest television shows ever and in many respects miles better than its parent show Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Not often you hear such ringing endorsement for a spin-off show is it?

So if you want intelligent storylines, continuity, humour, philosophical and moral questions, something to stir your emotions and characters you will grow to love then buy this DVD: you will not be disappointed.

10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last TV series, but there is now an official season 6, 16 April 2009
By 
Andromeda Descendent (Tarn Vedra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Angel - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Angel was the best series on television, and I felt such regret when it ended. If you're reading this, chances are that you probably feel the same. However, because it was never the fans who deserted Angel, Joss Whedon himself personally supervised an official (and canonical) Season 6 in full colour graphic novel format. It's called Angel: After The Fall and it continues the story as it would have been had Angel continued. The drawn likenesses are spot on and all the action, plot and humour of the TV series has been captured perfectly. As someone who never buys comic books, I bought the first volume Angel: After The Fall: After the Fall: After the Fall v. 1 (Angel (IDW Publishing)) hesitantly, but it's fantastic, it really is, and if you want to find out what happened after that fight in the alleyway - the official story as told by Joss Whedon - then you must buy this. Find out what happens to Angel, Gunn, Spike, Illyria/Fred, Wesley, Lorne and also Gwen, Nina and Connor. Hope you don't mind that this isn't a review of Season 5 as such, but I hope you've found it helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great end to a great series, 28 Mar 2005
By 
Mr. C. J. Thorpe "Lastaria" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angel - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I was sad to hear of the end of this great series. It deserved to run for at least another 2 seasons after this.
That said they ended it with style in their last season, even when told it would be ending at the start of filming.
We still have all the great characters who are flung into a new situation, working for and running the evil corporation they have for so long thought against. It is interesting to see how they react to getting power and the way it changes them.
As well as the old characters we have the addition of an old favourite from Buffy, Spike. His relationship with angel is truly something to enjoy. It is great seeing how they get on each others nerves and it adds spark to the series.
As per usual in any Angel or Buffy the series has plenty of action, drama and comedy. As a show where comedy is not the main part of it it still had my laughing at times harder than any comedy might. The 'muppet' episode goes down as one of the funniest episodes I have ever seen.
It ends on a cliff hanger, leaving us hoping they will make more, or tv movies or even a theatre movie. But at the same time you are left satisfied.
If you want to buy a DVD television series to watch you can do no better than any Buffy or Angel DVD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And now, the end is near..., 24 Jan 2005
This review is from: Angel - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
This is an amazing series and I can't wait to watch the extras (as of writing the DVD has not been released, but believe me I didn't miss an episode when shown on TV). Favourite episodes include, well just about all of them, with a strong and humerous beginning, fantastic shouting matches between Spike and Angel "who would win in a fight between an astronaut and a caveman?" and a couple of closure episodes for Cordelia and Connor. Most especially though, "Smile Time" is a work of genius, you feel like your watching Sesame St in some parts, but combined with the best elements of Angel.
Finally, the end of the series is wrapped up well, with a great ending and a feeling that the fight is still going on even if we can't watch them anymore (rather than Buffy where they all seemed to retire at 22). This is not surprising however, the network gave Joss & Co half a series warning that they were pulling the plug, and this is the guy that wrote a *second* outstanding series pilot, for 45 minutes rather than 90 in just two days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Bittersweet Goodbye, 26 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Angel - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
What a shame 'the Powers That Be' decided to end this series just as it was coming in to its own and finally coming out of the shadow of BTVS. Spike's arrival and the subsequent petty feuding between dark 'n' broody and bleached 'n' bolshie was a joy to watch. Angel took a comic tone which contrasted nicely with the menace of Wolfram and Hart and the theme of appearance and reality seemed to come straight from Macbeth 'fair is foul' and all that! The 'muppet' episode is compulsive viewing, it's absolutely inspired and deserves an award! My only gripe is the ending - I didn't want it to happen!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS A MUST BUY, 19 Nov 2004
This review is from: Angel - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the last installment of a terrific program. After five seasons Angel has come to an end. The first episode starts where the gang was left at the end of series 4, inside the belly of the beast that is Wolfram and Hart. With the addition of James Marsters after the fisrt epeisode the season starts on its bumpy road that leads to the inevitable final battle that ends the series. For the fans that have watched angel throughout will be delighted as this series brings back cast members from previous seasons that were a delight to watch. These include Lindsey and in the second half Cordelia.
Highlights of the series include the episode smile time which sees Angel turn into a puppet and provides a love interest for the vampire with a soul in Nina who in fact is a werewolf. Put the two together and laughter ensues. Other highlights include an episode where Angel and Spike go to Rome on a job and coincidently Buffy is in the very same city.As a result of this Angel and Spike are unable to focus on the mission and often have to choose between the love of their lives and a severed head. Will the two manage to decide on what matters the most.
For part of the season Angel and the gang have to battle a god called Illyria but when the final battle comes whose side will she be on, good or evil so that she can obtain the power she wants. Ultimately the season boils down to a final fight one that will fulfill a certain prophecy from series one. However with there now being two vampires with souls who will claim the prize that awaits one them. It certainly is a must have especilly from the fans of previous seasons. So just sit back and enjoy the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why the Huge Price differential from Region 1, 10 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Angel - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I throughly Enjoyed Angel Season 5 , but feel the UK (Region 2) customer is being ripped off. The exact same Box set in the States costs $38.99 from Amazon.com , which at the time of writing is 20.98.
It would seem that the UK customer is being charged almost double, that of a US Customer.
5 Stars for the Series, 1 star for being ripped off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Angel: Season 5 [DVD] [2000] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: 2.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews