Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Never Ending Story
It's always been difficult to decide whether Buffy or Angel was the better show, until now. Set in new surroundings, Wolfram & Hart, Angel got a fresh new look for it's final and best season.
The 4th season was evidence of the show getting a bit stale and this move was a breath of fresh air. The season has some excellent continuous storylines, but also some great...
Published on 28 Nov 2004 by angelus_xviii

versus
51 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why the Huge Price differential from Region 1
I throughly Enjoyed Angel Season 5 , but feel the UK (Region 2) customer is being ripped off. The exact same Box set in the States costs $38.99 from Amazon.com , which at the time of writing is £20.98.
It would seem that the UK customer is being charged almost double, that of a US Customer.
5 Stars for the Series, 1 star for being ripped off.
Published on 10 Feb 2005


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Never Ending Story, 28 Nov 2004
By 
This review is from: Angel - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
It's always been difficult to decide whether Buffy or Angel was the better show, until now. Set in new surroundings, Wolfram & Hart, Angel got a fresh new look for it's final and best season.
The 4th season was evidence of the show getting a bit stale and this move was a breath of fresh air. The season has some excellent continuous storylines, but also some great individual episodes. Smile Time, You're Welcome and Harm's Way are great examples of these. Every charcter had episodes devoted just to them, with references going back to the beginning in some cases. The story arcs are great too. Adjusting to life in the largest, oldest and not forgetting most evil law firm in the world provides a great plot for the 1st half with some memorable and hilarious moments, the reintroductions of Spike and Harmony being an excellent choice. The 2nd half then moves into more serious plots that don't just revolve around individuals, but the company as a whole. The introduction of Illyria halfway through was a bold but great move and the build up to the final battle with the Senior Partners is addictive viewing, quite literally. I watched the whole series in the space of 25 hours. Never has a show had such a moving ending. It leaves you feeling very satisfied while at the same time wanting more. You get closure on all the characters that matter, from Cordelia all the way through to Lindsey. The progress in the relationships between Fred & Wes and Connor & Angel are especially moving.
The final few episodes manage to create a sense of finality at the same time as having a familiar sense of continuity. It has stuck to the theme of all the seasons - you have to fight on and although the war may never end, you can always make a difference in the world. This will not let any Angel fans down. Joss has done his best job yet and it was truly sad to see the show go. Essential viewing.
Although the special features have not yet been revealed, if they're like other seasons, they will be well worth having and just make the DVD even better value for money. The episodes alone make it worth it, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous season, 23 Feb 2005
This review is from: Angel - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Wow, this DVD set has the best featurettes I've seen on any Angel series. Right from the art work to the commentaries this is a feast of salty goodness for any Angel fan. Commentaries by Joss Whedon, Skip Schoolnik, David Fury, Steven S. Deknight, David Boreanaz, Juliet Landau, Christian Kane, Brent Fletcher, Alexis Denisof, Amy Acker, Sarah Thompson, Adam Baldwin, Jeffrey Bell and wonderful insights into the show that I'd never have known without it. The show production values come shinning through to reveal just what Warner Brothers through away when they cancelled Angel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let's Go to Work, 5 Jan 2005
This review is from: Angel - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I have to admit, when I bought this series I had my doubts. I had heard a lot of negative viewpoints on the season, and the absence of Cordelia did not look appealing.
However, when I finally watched it, I was completely amazed. Angel went out with a bang, not a whimper, and kept it's premise until the very end. There's plenty of stand-alone episodes, which makes a refreshing change to the interesting although heavy arcs of the last 3 seasons, and a focus on character development. Everyone changes in this season, whether it's Lorne, Gunn, Fred or Connor (please note that despite being a chief Connor hater, this season convinced me that the character could be incredibly likeable). Angel's loyalties are kept ambiguous right from the very end, as he dives deeper and deeper into Wolfram & Hart. There are plenty of new characters to pique your interest, as well as the return of Buffy favourites (most obviously, Spike). For those interested in what happens to the Scooby gang after Chosen, there is even a little valuable info on their whereabouts!
To cut it short, this is a worthy last season to a surprise hit show. It will make you laugh, it will make you cry, you'll cover your eyes during the gory bits, but most importantly, it will reward you 8 years of watching the Buffyverse unfold.
A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great end to a great series, 28 Mar 2005
By 
Mr. C. J. Thorpe "Lastaria" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angel - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I was sad to hear of the end of this great series. It deserved to run for at least another 2 seasons after this.
That said they ended it with style in their last season, even when told it would be ending at the start of filming.
We still have all the great characters who are flung into a new situation, working for and running the evil corporation they have for so long thought against. It is interesting to see how they react to getting power and the way it changes them.
As well as the old characters we have the addition of an old favourite from Buffy, Spike. His relationship with angel is truly something to enjoy. It is great seeing how they get on each others nerves and it adds spark to the series.
As per usual in any Angel or Buffy the series has plenty of action, drama and comedy. As a show where comedy is not the main part of it it still had my laughing at times harder than any comedy might. The 'muppet' episode goes down as one of the funniest episodes I have ever seen.
It ends on a cliff hanger, leaving us hoping they will make more, or tv movies or even a theatre movie. But at the same time you are left satisfied.
If you want to buy a DVD television series to watch you can do no better than any Buffy or Angel DVD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angel better than Buffy? YES!, 18 Dec 2006
By 
Customer - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Angel - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Angel's fifth season was its final and greatest season; building on four years worth of history the episodes were able to reach new levels and enabled the writers to add vast depth to their already wonderfully realised characters. It does start off at a somewhat unsteady pace; it would seem that the writers were approaching this season with caution as they were close to being cancelled the year before.

As a condition of being renewed for a fifth season Angel suffered large budget cuts and a return to a more 'stand alone episode' formula. Although this was never going to benefit the show, the writers pulled out all the proverbial stops to make this one of the most emotionally explosive and exciting seasons ever! Had this not been the last season I wonder whether Joss Whedon would have had the heart to kill off certain characters; not that I'm complaining. This season hit all the right buttons, in a way no other one did, in fact it is probably better than most, if not all, Buffy the Vampire Slayer seasons and I don't say that lightly! As well as saying goodbye to a number of well loved characters this season, a number of them make a return including; Andrew (geek from Buffy), a much better drawn Connor who is entirely less annoying and dear Cordelia, among a few others.

The season opens with `Conviction', as the gang were handed over the keys to Wolfram and Hart at the end of season 4, this episode was based upon them settling in to their new home and the season sees them progressively getting to grips with their situation. (This leads to many moral quandaries and Angel (quite often) killing his clients!) Despite the slow start, the early episodes are not without merit but when compared with the second part of the season they are evidently nowhere near as good. Weaker episodes, most notably are `Destiny' and `Unleashed'... `Unleashed' being miles worse! Personally I hated that episode; worse was the writers shoe horned attempt at adding a love interest into Angels life so soon after Cordelia: I wasn't impressed. Though thankfully she only appears in around two more episodes and even in those she is only a minor annoyance.

As the season moves into its latter half the stand alone element basically goes out the window and a large number of smaller story arcs appear. More significantly the new character Illyria (yep another god!) means we lose one character that has been with the show for a long while. But this was not done without sentiment and in my opinion the Illyria arc turns season fives conclusion into an epic tragedy shining with brilliance.

In Illyria's wake comes far reaching consequences for all the remaining fang gang, sadly we did not get to explore all of these as the show was cancelled, but for the seven or so episodes she appears in, Illyria shows growth and alteration and even love towards another character (I wont spoil it for you); this is exactly what TV shows should be about.

The inclusion of Spike was both welcome and not, but hey he's around to annoy Angel and to provide some much needed comic relief, which was welcome. Despite trying to muscle in on Angel's territory (they explore the issue of having two vampires with souls in `Soul Purpose' and `Destiny' among others), it remains clear that this is still Angels show and we watch him grow and rekindle his passion for the good fight. By the end of the season we see Angel make a selfless sacrifice in regards to the Shanshu prophecy and then there's the last fight and the overall message that hangs over the season; that the fight goes on. It was indeed a fitting end for what the series was trying to say, but one more season still would have been awesome!!

Season highlights include: The hilarious `Smile Time' in which Angel gets turned into a puppet, `A Hole in the World' where we first glimpse the Goddess Illyria and say goodbye to a main character, `You're Welcome' the milestone 100th episode where we see the return of Cordelia who's thankfully back to her old self; an utterly heart breaking episode and one of the best in the shows history. Probably the most important episode of the season being `Not Fade Away'. It is the best Angel season finale ever hands down; it's also sadly the series finale. Both its scope and emotional content blows the Buffy series finale `Chosen' out of the water.

So should you buy this DVD? Even if you have never really liked nor watched Angel? Yes you should, it may not be for you but it is and always will be one of the greatest television shows ever and in many respects miles better than its parent show Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Not often you hear such ringing endorsement for a spin-off show is it?

So if you want intelligent storylines, continuity, humour, philosophical and moral questions, something to stir your emotions and characters you will grow to love then buy this DVD: you will not be disappointed.

10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And now, the end is near..., 24 Jan 2005
This review is from: Angel - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
This is an amazing series and I can't wait to watch the extras (as of writing the DVD has not been released, but believe me I didn't miss an episode when shown on TV). Favourite episodes include, well just about all of them, with a strong and humerous beginning, fantastic shouting matches between Spike and Angel "who would win in a fight between an astronaut and a caveman?" and a couple of closure episodes for Cordelia and Connor. Most especially though, "Smile Time" is a work of genius, you feel like your watching Sesame St in some parts, but combined with the best elements of Angel.
Finally, the end of the series is wrapped up well, with a great ending and a feeling that the fight is still going on even if we can't watch them anymore (rather than Buffy where they all seemed to retire at 22). This is not surprising however, the network gave Joss & Co half a series warning that they were pulling the plug, and this is the guy that wrote a *second* outstanding series pilot, for 45 minutes rather than 90 in just two days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Bittersweet Goodbye, 26 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Angel - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
What a shame 'the Powers That Be' decided to end this series just as it was coming in to its own and finally coming out of the shadow of BTVS. Spike's arrival and the subsequent petty feuding between dark 'n' broody and bleached 'n' bolshie was a joy to watch. Angel took a comic tone which contrasted nicely with the menace of Wolfram and Hart and the theme of appearance and reality seemed to come straight from Macbeth 'fair is foul' and all that! The 'muppet' episode is compulsive viewing, it's absolutely inspired and deserves an award! My only gripe is the ending - I didn't want it to happen!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Trapped in the web of the Wolf, the Ram, the Hart", 25 May 2005
By 
James Kilgour "JimboOfTheShire" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angel - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
To be honest, the main reason I purchased this DVD set (besides being a huge Angel/Buffy fan) is because of Illyria. She is definetely my favourite character that has appeared on Angel and Buffy, I cant get enough of her!
Anyway, im supposed to be reviewing the whole thing itself! Well, all in all it is a great season, and still doesnt fail to entertain. While the overall level of humor of the show is less, there are some truly comical episodes ("Life of the party" - Alexis Denisof's and Amy Acker's drunken performances are painfully funny- and "smile Time" mostly), and the chemistry between Spike and Angel is brilliant. Lorne, however, while still humourful, is a slightly darker shade of green in this series, especially nearer the end.
What this season does excel in is its many plot twists, almost one in each episode, unlike before. This is a slightly darker, more serious season than previous seasons.
Probably my favourite episode in this series, and altogether, is "A Hole in the World". Written and Directed by Joss Whedon (surprise surprise! he does all the best ones!), this episode had me in tears, as Amy Acker's final performance as Winifred Burkle, combined with Alexis's best performance, was truly heartbreaking. Definetely a stand-out episode. Plus, the introduction of the ancient God Illyria (woohoo!!!!)
I wouldnt say it is the best season, as season 3 takes a bit of beating (I think these 2 are battling for top spot), it is an excellent season, with a really good DVD to boot. As this was my first Angel/Buffy DVD (collecting video's up until now), I wasnt sure how good the bonus stuff and quality would be. However, they proved to be quite enjoyable, and the quality is impressive.
Those of you who collect the video collection of Angel (or Buffy), stop. Start getting the DVD's, and start with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ok, 4 May 2005
This review is from: Angel - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
This series is a bit of a culture shock from the previous series of angel. Series 2,3 and 4 had quite a strong motivating story arc that was always referenced. This series however is a little more wayward.
This is perhaps a more morbid and disparing season, with many of the characters becoming more jaded with their roles in the world. Having said that the acting is still of the high standard.
There are some high points to the season, mine - the spike/angel fight, wesleys dad and the brief apperance of a more level headed connor. But the lows seem to drag the season down a little too much. The ending is a little disappointing.
Overall not as good as seasons 2,3, or 4 but you do have to have it if youre an angel fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best. Ending. Ever., 23 Feb 2008
This review is from: Angel - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Rarely have I been as disappointed to learn that a show had been cancelled as I was with Angel, it was easily one of the best shows in the genre and by season 5 it was eclipsing it's parent show Buffy on a regular basis. But all good things must come to an end, and when they do try to make them end like this.
OK, so at the end of season 4 we saw Angel and co join and agree to run their evil enemy, the law firm Wolram&Hart. Now it's obvious to both the characters and the audience that this is an attempt to corrupt them and bring them onto Wolfram&Hart's side for real, this is handled very well and actually quite subtely in the show so that you start noticing little differences long before the major plot points show up around it. There's lots of interesting thematic examinations around the concept of how far you can go into the darkness before it gets to you, something we've already seen Wesley go through in previous seasons but which is equally interesting now since all the characters are effected differently, with different consequenes for the group and themselves. As this is the final season of the show it's where we get to see everyone's character arcs get wound up, and it's a compliment to the writers that they manage to make the same set of events provide material for the show's conclusion but also keep everyone's personal arc seperate and distinct. Wesley, unsurprisingly, remains the most tragic story in the series with this season pushing him even further than season 4, his concluding scenes are an act of nihilistic tradgedy that act as the perfect antithesis of his orginal clown-like role and are by far the saddest moments of the series.
The final season also contains the return of some of the series' best characters, most of whom are a major plot reveal and so I won't spoil them for you, but since James Marsters is in the opening credits it's not mutch of a spoiler to say that Spike is back in town. Spike forms a major part of the show this season, acting as a great irritant to Angel whilst also carrying a couple of episodes on his own ('Hell Bound' and 'Damage' are two of the series' scarriest episodes by far and both rest heavily on Marsters).
This season of Angel is, as previosly stated, the last. Thankfully the writers were aware of this and have managed to give Angel a proper ending rather than the sudden death of Firefly. The final episode, appropriatly named 'Not Fade Away', gives a definite and satisfying conclusion to all of the character arcs and provides the series as a whole with a pretty solid finale both in terms of plot and thematcally. The end of Angel feels like it comes all too soon, but that doesn't stop it being one of the best endings of any television show in recent memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Angel: Season 5 [DVD] [2000] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: £2.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews