Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 MAGIC HITS and MISSES, 17 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: A's, B's And Rarities (Audio CD)
Get Up And Go / Big Screen Kill (7/77), Monday Tuesday / Evil Eye (9/77) and Ten Feet Tall / One Good Reason Why (11/77) aren't on this superb compilation because they weren't on EMI and therefore remain unissued on CD. The first single version of Just A Smile (6/74) isn't here either, but the brilliant remix is. Lady Luck (11/75) and a David Paton solo single No Ties No Strings (5/80) make their debut on CD on this album. Running Water (4/76) - a ballad which slowly grows on you, Canada (6/76) and Penny In My Pocket (9/76) were also glorious failures. I've deliberately given the release dates of these 9 misses, because no one else is likely to know that Pilot had 12 singles instead of the 4 shown in the guiness book of hit singles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 14 again!!, 23 Jan 2005
This review is from: A's, B's And Rarities (Audio CD)
On receiving this album I was transported back to 1975! None of the songs have lost their charm and I always felt that pilot were one of the most under-rated talents of the 1970's.From the mega hits 'magic' and January' to personal favourites like'call me round' and 'just let me be' it was a sheer delight to hear from these old friends and this album will be played again and again as I re-aquaint myself with a time when life was a little easier!!many thanks to EMI as our 12'' vinyl did not stand the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smashing power pop., 11 Sep 2006
By 
mikem (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A's, B's And Rarities (Audio CD)
I chanced upon this by lucky hap, needing a CD that cost under a fiver. Having heard only Magic and January, I was unsure if the other material would be of ths same standard. But the majority of tracks are as good as those two smashes. If you are a fan of well played, complex and melodic power pop then this is a must. Crunchy guitars, nifty harmonies and handclaps abound. I would liken it to the Raspberries and Big Star but with less American sounding vocals. The Feeling have been compared to Pilot and that is not so far off the mark either. At 4.97 this is a bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scottish group of the mid-seventies, 3 Jun 2009
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A's, B's And Rarities (Audio CD)
With just two his that were big enough to stay long in the memory, plus two minor hits, I'm glad they didn't call this a greatest hits package. All the hits are here together with all the other A-sides that missed the charts, plus all the B-sides and three album tracks. There are actually nine A-sides and ten B-sides, because one of the singles was released on two separate occasions, the B-side being different on the second release.

Two of the founder members (David Paton and Billy Lyall) actually met first as members of an embryonic Bay City Rollers, but both had departed from that group before they became famous. They went their separate ways but eventually met up again (it wasn't planned) and played around with a few musical ideas. Eventually, they teamed up with Stuart Tosh and became Pilot, the P, L, and T being taken from the first letters of their surnames.

Pilot's debut album, titled From the album of the same name, was released in 1974 but didn't do much business, nor did their debut single, Just a smile. At some point in 1974, Ian Bairnson became a fully-fledged member of the group, having played on one track on their debut album. Pilot made their breakthrough with their second single, Magic, which just missed the British top ten, and which became their only big hit in America. Pilot had their biggest British hit with their third single, January, which really did enter the charts in January 1975, but which made number one, ironically, on the first of February. It stayed there for four weeks after which it understandably dropped quickly down and out of the charts. At that point, it looked as if Pilot were set to have at least a few more big hits, but it was not to be. Their second album charted, but only just and then only for one week. Call me round, their next single, was only a minor hit, as was the re-issue of Just a smile (with, as mentioned earlier, a different B-side). Subsequent singles failed to chart at all.

Pilot split up but the individual members enjoyed considerable success as session musicians or as members of other groups, so proving that they were highly regarded within the music industry. Sadly, Billy Lyall died in 1989, but at the time this album was compiled, all the others were continuing their successful careers. Meanwhile, this album serves as a reminder of the music that they recorded as Pilot. My guess is that if you like other mainstream British pop groups of the seventies such as Mud and Smokie, you'll probably like Pilot too. As for the Bay City Rollers, let's just say that I won't be reviewing any compilations of their music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure glorious pop, 23 Nov 2004
By 
C. Salter "Colin Salter" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A's, B's And Rarities (Audio CD)
Pilot were that timeless glory, a pure pop band. Their singles were perfectly crafted and packed with hooks, everything from punchy pop guitars to exquisite lost-chord vocal harmonies. A real joy to see them getting this re-release as the old 45s are starting to look really worn.
Pilot improved with age too, with the material from their third LP "Morin Heights" particularly outstanding, showing new depths of material and maturity. The only reason I don't give it five is that, being an EMI release, they've left off the late period Arista singles, of which "Get Up and Go" was as irresistably catchy as anything here.
If all you've ever heard of Pilot is "January" and "Magic", get this to see how consistently good they were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality melodic pop, even power pop, For their time., 18 Dec 2012
This review is from: A's, B's And Rarities (Audio CD)
Pilot were not a glamorous band but the quality of their music far outshine the glam rock acts of the day (wise of two of their members to leave the awful Bay City Rollers. The icing on the cake was provided by superb session guitarist Ian Bairnson giving a classy quality sound. All the tracks on this collection are very listenable though not familiar. Inc the brilliant Magic, January and Canada. Shame they never truly fulfilled their great promise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sound of the 70's, 5 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A's, B's And Rarities (Audio CD)
This is an excellent album, it's so cheerful even the sad songs sound happy.
lyrics are a bit lame at times but the vocals & musician ship are excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light flights, 25 Nov 2010
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A's, B's And Rarities (Audio CD)
If you're looking for a compilation by Pilot, you probably won't do better than this, the reason being that the b-sides are so good they're better than most of the tracks from their first two albums. Pilot were caught between two stools, pushed towards a transient teenybopper audience by their management while aspiring to loftier musical ambitions. This is clear on the later tracks from 'Morin Heights', Ian Bairnson's classy guitar work being especially noticeable. The CD is bolstered by a few well-chosen album tracks and a couple of good David Paton recordings. Their moment passed too quickly, although a couple of the band found a new home in the Alan Parsons Project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Serendipitous Discovery., 18 Mar 2008
By 
D. Carter "Dave Carter" (Woodford Green, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A's, B's And Rarities (Audio CD)
I've been going through a major 10CC phase recently. Watching on YouTube the video of one of my favourite tracks - Reds In My Bed - which I'd always thought was sung by Graham Gouldman, I was surprised to find the singer was in fact Stuart Tosh. So which band did he come from? I would really like to hear more of his voice. Oh, he was in Pilot.......
Everyone remembers Pilots two big hits, and I still recall when I was ten the sledgehammer irony of a song called January actually being released in, er, January. But I always had them in mind as one (two) hit wonder types. I was now curious enough to seek out this compilation CD and I have been nicely surprised by the musical quality on offer. Most of the songs sound like Gallagher and Lyle playing 10CC numbers with a nod to Be Bop Deluxe, which in my book is a very good thing indeed!
I recognised a few of the other tunes from years ago, I just hadn't realised they were by Pilot! So all in all you probably get a lot more than you expect with album. But alas no more vocals by Mr Tosh, because he was the drummer. Doh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A's, B's And Rarities (Audio CD)
pilot fully met my expectations thank you so very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A's, B's And Rarities
A's, B's And Rarities by Pilot (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews