Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soundtrack for Broken Britain
A complilation of music release in the late 70's but much of it is as relevant today as ever.

Set against a backdrop of the Cold War, Thatcherism, Teenage Wasteland the Ruts summed up many young people's attitudes & plight of the time.

The phrase "You're in a rut, you'd better get out of it" rings true for many & the gaunt desperation of It Was Cold...
Published on 9 Jan 2009 by Sizzle

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Yes the Ruts were good despite staying in a relatively restricted musical area
Yes the Ruts were good despite staying in a relatively restricted musical area. I didn't like Staring at the rude boys as at that time I was heavily into the 2 Tone scene. Now I realise that it was a bit childish but that was a crazy time as BBC4's style season suggested.
It was a shame re Malcolm Owen, a charismatic singer in the Jimmy Pursey vein, probably a bit...
Published 1 month ago by Bohemian


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soundtrack for Broken Britain, 9 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The Ruts (Audio CD)
A complilation of music release in the late 70's but much of it is as relevant today as ever.

Set against a backdrop of the Cold War, Thatcherism, Teenage Wasteland the Ruts summed up many young people's attitudes & plight of the time.

The phrase "You're in a rut, you'd better get out of it" rings true for many & the gaunt desperation of It Was Cold with it's apocalyptic nuclear sounding end is particularly effective.

They also produced some excellent singles driven by a superbly tight rhythm section & searingly accurate guitar work not to mention Owen's vocal style. If your ever feeling cheesed off just play Babylon's Burning to let off some steam or try Staring At The Rude Boys if you want to glory in the sense of being part of youth culture & being different to the rest.

What a band & what a shame that they don't get the recognition that they deserve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great compliation, from a forgotten classic punk band., 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The Ruts (Audio CD)
The Ruts came and went quickly, were a favorite on Peel, and produced a hadnful of cracking singles and 2 albums. One released after the sad deat hof the lead singer. This CD is a summary of those times & a very strong one. If you only know punk via The Sex Pistols or the Clash. Then this CD is very worth seeking out. I had the recrods in 1979, and I recently got this to re-visit them. This after I gound the youtube footage of the amazing concert in 2007 for the ailing guitarist Paul Fox, with Henry Rollins on vocals. Seek this out too. Its great. As is his story of the way it came about in adversity. All in all a CD containing half a dozen classic tracks. Also a couple showing that this band could play regaee jsut as well as the Clash. But it, and get out of 'A Rut' !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best post punk bar none!, 23 Oct 2009
This review is from: The Best Of The Ruts (Audio CD)
In a rut? No chance! This is the best collection of post punk tracks by one band that you'll find anywhere! The majestic 'In a rut' and 'H eyes' through to the sublime SUS and the more commercial (if that were possible!) 'Shine on'. Add to that the couple of ska influenced tracks and you've got the complete album. A short and sweet career. Later bands don't hold a candle to this...feel the hairs on the back of your neck stand on end!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really Good Compilation, 14 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The Ruts (Audio CD)
I must admit I only got this for a handful of tracks (BB, Rude Boys..) but have discovered that it is chock full of absolute gems. If you liked the singles, don't hesitate. If you like good music, don't hesitate either.

Good variety of styles. You won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer brilliance, fresh and in your face!, 14 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. J. S. Murphy (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The Ruts (Audio CD)
This group emanating from the 70's punk rock era are second to none.

Great, fast, powerful hard hitting bass lines and guitar riffs with lyrics that are straight to the point.

I am so surprised this album only has 3 reviews at the time of writing. I'm only 23 myself so I missed out on this great era, but if anyone reading this review lived through this period of punk rock history please throw some recommendations my way in a comment to this review!

Buy this now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Yes the Ruts were good despite staying in a relatively restricted musical area, 7 Oct 2014
This review is from: The Best Of The Ruts (Audio CD)
Yes the Ruts were good despite staying in a relatively restricted musical area. I didn't like Staring at the rude boys as at that time I was heavily into the 2 Tone scene. Now I realise that it was a bit childish but that was a crazy time as BBC4's style season suggested.
It was a shame re Malcolm Owen, a charismatic singer in the Jimmy Pursey vein, probably a bit more sensible despite the smack use. TOTP 1979 showed a studio performance of Something that I said and the audience looked scared.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The Ruts (Audio CD)
the ruts dc are still great to watch live now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 11 Jun 2014
By 
Mik Carr (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The Ruts (Audio CD)
Great production and a stunning performance. Nearly every track is perfect. Love it to death! If you like rock, buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars legends, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The Ruts (Audio CD)
One of the great punk bands of all time who lived it real time...a few hits plenty of dub vibes and attitude to fill the albert halll.,.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Says what it is., 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of The Ruts (Audio CD)
A comprehensive collection of hits from this very under-rated punk group.
All the well known hits, plus album tracks that I didn't know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of The Ruts
The Best Of The Ruts by Ruts (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews