Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everybody should love Raymond
`Everybody Loves Raymond' was not as popular here as it was in the States, mainly because it was only shown on terrestrial TV at strange hours of the morning on Channel 4. That's a shame because it is a good deal better and funnier than a great many sitcoms, even if it wasn't as `cutting edge' as some of its contemporaries (it ran around the same time as `Seinfeld')...
Published on 26 Nov 2006 by GW

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice
I believe when we were watching this show on TV it makes sense, but if you watch four or five episodes on a row you may get angry on your wife, husband, mother in law... you will get angry on someone... nice show
Published 12 months ago by Ahmad Ammar Absi


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everybody should love Raymond, 26 Nov 2006
By 
GW (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Everybody Loves Raymond: Complete HBO Series 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
`Everybody Loves Raymond' was not as popular here as it was in the States, mainly because it was only shown on terrestrial TV at strange hours of the morning on Channel 4. That's a shame because it is a good deal better and funnier than a great many sitcoms, even if it wasn't as `cutting edge' as some of its contemporaries (it ran around the same time as `Seinfeld').

A lot of people, I think, were put off simply by the premise, as from that it sounds like it would just be another stupid family-based American sitcom. Okay, so it is a family-based sitcom, but it's by no means stupid and the Barones are not your average American family, despite the suburban setting.

The premise is this: journalist Ray lives with his wife Debra and 3 children, directly across the street from Ray's parents - interfering if well-meaning Marie and irascible Frank (a kind of more outspoken Victor Meldrew) - as well as Ray's often hilariously jealous brother Robert.

A lot of the humour is derived from subverting the suburban setting and everyday events which the stories revolve around. And while some of the references are less relevant to a British audience, there is still a lot of observational comedy which we can relate to.

Series 1 is not quite as sharp as later series, and the actors are still getting into their strides, but it is still very well-written and performed and there is a lot to laugh at. It's the kind of seemingly effortless comedy that makes you wonder why we can't do it anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everybody loves Raymond: The First Season., 4 Nov 2004
By 
P. J. rowlands "pennyjr45" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Absolutely brilliant!! I started watching this series on channel four a couple of months ago and wanted to start from the begining.Luckily we have a multi region dvd player so I could order it in the american format.From the first few minutes of the pilot episode ,this series kicks off with a laugh a minute!!Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars life & times of ray romano, 22 Sep 2004
I first got into ELR whilst living in the states, i can honestly say out of all 'hit' american sitcoms this stands out a mile, not only is the casting fantastic, there is not one weak character anmongst them. The writing is incredibly funny, just the day to day lives of Ray & his overbearing family has me in stitches, i think the best part of it is they look & interact like a 'normal' family, none of your catwalk queens swanning around in the latest Ralph Lauren here, I think the best character has to be his loutish father Frank, played by the fantastic Peter Boyle, the way he interacts with the rest of the family with his life revolving around sandwiches, anyway enough already, get into it u wont regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everybody really DOES love raymond!, 31 Oct 2004
I've been catching this show on Channel 4 most mornings at 8am. When they moved the show to a later slot I found I really missed it so I sent for the DVD.
The 1st series gently introduces you to the Barone family, from the original pilot show you know something good is going to happen if you keep watching, so you do! From Marie who is every daughter in law's worst nightmare to Frank who is really a big kid in an adults body, we all know people like these so it's really easy to relate to them. I've introduced my friends to this series and the responces I've received from them were all positive, so I think everybody really DOES love Raymond!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everybody loves Ray, 3 Nov 2004
By A Customer
Take an 'average' Italian / American family Ray, Debra, their children, their In - Laws Marie and Frank, (who happen to live over the road), a brother Robert, who's jealous of Ray's success and you have the basis for this comedy. The character base and exceptional casting allow the comedy to sparkle.
Marie and Frank set the pattern. Marie, Ray's mother thinks that Ray is still 10 years old, and that his perfect wife (Debra) is not good enough for him. Frank, his father, is the original grumpy old man, who's only interests are TV, food, and a healthy disregard for anything anyone says...
Robert, Ray's jealous brother, is also a New York cop, his laconic phrase 'Everybody loves Raymond' provides the shows title. Ray himself, played by Ray Romano, is just an average guy trying to get through life without too much trouble (and maybe play a little golf). However the comedy builds as average situations are expanded by the input of all his family....
This is comedy we can relate to... we've all been there on occasion...(and possibly know one or two of the characters ourselves!).. Unfortunately, Ray gets it full time but always manages to come out with some hilarious response. The DVD is five discs and represents excellent value for money at nearly 10 hours worth..... Try it, you'll like it.. if not 'Love' it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everybody Should Love This Show, 24 Sep 2005
This review is from: Everybody Loves Raymond: Complete HBO Series 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Not knowing anything about this sitcom I was not expecting much from 'Raymond' when I first watched it on Channel Four. It followed 'Friends' and I thought that it would be poor in comparison.
I was in for a pleasant surprise.
Everybody Loves Raymond is one of those rare sitcoms where not only do you find the script extremely funny but you also begin to associate yourself with the characters. At first glance the family seems to be the usual dysfunctional sitcom creation but then you see how familiar and likeable they actually are. Each one is quite different and have their own crazy traits which contribute to the storylines but none of them are so extreme that you cannot relate to their behaviour.
This is all well and good but all sitcoms live and die by the number of laughs they generate. Once again you cannot fault Raymond as each episode explores the natural conflict between Ray and his wife Debra or with Ray's parents or with Ray's brother etc. Each plot develops into a number of different hilarious situations but concludes with the realisation that the family is just trying to look out for each other.
This series is a real gem and one you really need to experience before making a judgement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raymond....a real good laugh.!, 17 July 2009
By 
Chelsea Man (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Everybody Loves Raymond: Complete HBO Series 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Anyone who enjoys watching on television the series 'Everybody Loves Raymond' will really enjoy this complete 1st series. I have just managed to watch a few of the series but Raymond is his usual self and the 'craic' is real good. Any fan of the programme will find this dvd set an excellant purchase.... a 1st step in building an entire collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a classic!!, 19 Mar 2009
By 
Mrs. T. A. Knox (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everybody Loves Raymond: Complete HBO Series 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I only recentley started watching ELR and wish I had found it sooner. This DVD is a great start to what ended up being a brilliant prog. Am saving up to get season 2,3,4,5..... etc etc etc!!!!
If you like ELR then buy this DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The way comedy used to be, 17 Jan 2005
This review is from: Everybody Loves Raymond: Complete HBO Series 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This series is so good it really is. With shows Like will and grace getting huge audiences shows like this don't get decent coverage . Ray Romano the shows producer/star mixes great one liners with great comedic performances. Its a story of a dyfunctional father trying to best for his family and it's miscaps along the way. The timing of the jokes is perfect and the suporting cast are incredible and their performances are credible . The DVD is a must have for all comedy fans .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Because Everybody Loves Raymond, 19 Oct 2007
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everybody Loves Raymond: Complete HBO Series 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Ray Romano is Ray Barone, a sports writer, who's married to Debra, a beautiful young woman who's always trying to do the best she can; they have two twin boys Michael and Geoffry and daughter Allie. They live across the street from their nagging parents, Marie, a self-obsessed mother who's always right and Frank, a lazy guy who clicks his fingers and Marie does what he wants.

This series was terribly overlooked - it's very funny and it's probably the best for Robert - you get to see his more closed side, the way he doesn't really interact with the family and has his values, his more serious police side is so prominant. It's also one of Ray's funnier seasons, though it's a tough call, but it's definately a classic that ELR fans need to watch, even if they came into it very late.

Some of the best episodes include the one where Ray fancies a waitress at Nemo's - specially when Robert asks for a lot of cheese; the one where Frank beats Ray at poker and Robert uses his policing skills and of course the one where Debra makes the fish for the thanksgiving lunch.

All the characters are very strong, there's not one I can point to and say they're ruining it, which is refreshing. The show does have a family angle to it but at times has a darker undertone which makes it funnier, like the way Ray's always trying to get some time with Debra and their annoyances.

The DVD transfer is pretty good too, in it's 4:3 framing and the colour is rich at all times. The sound is also very clear and as good as the originals. The only gripe I have, and why it lost a star is because of the lack of extras, though the last disk does have some great stuff, I've have loved to see more commentries and inside looks like they did with Seinfeld.

This is a good boxset, definately worth grabbing, specially at this value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Everybody Loves Raymond: Complete HBO Series 1 [DVD] [2005]
11.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews