Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lighthouse Horrors Await The Fourth Doctor & Leela
Positive.
Tom Baker manic Fourth Doctor the eccentric benevolent alien.
A great story confined to a lighthouse adds to the tension of the adventure by writer Terrance Dicks.

Negative.
The effects at the end diminish the tension & drama out from the story.
This should've been more gorier it's obviously been advised to be toned down because of...
Published 8 months ago by Timelord007

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A creepy story set on a lighthouse...
`Horror of Fang Rock' has gained itself a position amongst Doctor Who fans as being the most chilling and terrifying of stories. It's gothic atmosphere is resonant throughout, despite the fact that this was Graham William's first ever story to enter into production.

Written by Who legend Terrance Dicks, `Horror of Fang Rock' is a replacement story for an...
Published on 13 Jun 2012 by Tim Bradley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death By Fog-horn, 1 Oct 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Horror of Fang Rock [1977] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Spooky, underrated little piece. The usual naff special effects are present (bless them) but the storyline and acting are way too strong to be held back by them. Tom Baker is still, at this point (1977) taking it seriously and is all the better for it. Louise Jameson turns in one of her best performances and the shipwrecked, squabbling toffs are just great! I remember being delighted Lord Palmerdale and his snotty secretary got rubbed out by the big green blob, but sorry to see the raffish M.P. Skinsale die - he was so cool. The incidental music score is one of the most distinctive of 1970s Doctor Who. Like all the strongest scores - 1968's 'Invasion' or 1975's 'Terror of the Zygons' - it stays in your head afterwards). Episode Two's climax - the scream from down below - always gives me the shivers. So does Reuben's evil grin as he walks downstairs to kill Harker. Basically, it's a right old bloodbath with fog and fog-horns everywhere and everyone gets killed except the Doctor and Leela. What more could we ask for? For best effect - play on a gloomy October or November night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another classic Tom Baker story, 27 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who - Horror of Fang Rock [1977] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
After being effectively reintroduced to vintage 'Doctor Who' when I picked up the excellent 'The Brain of Morbius' DVD almost on a whim a couple of months ago, I keenly bought more vintage 'Who' DVDs, of which 'Horror of Fang Rock' was one.

Seeing as '...Fang Rock' was actually a last minute replacement story (the originally planned script, which would eventually become 'State of Decay' in 1980, involved vampires, but was aborted due to feelings it would clash with the Beeb's production of 'Dracula'), it actually ends up as a really good 1970s-era story, with only Part 3 feeling slightly stretched.

While no doubt too slow for young audiences accustomed to watered down single "fifty minutes and it's over" modern 'Who' stories, I love these vintage tales for allowing more depth, and think that (generally) multi-part episodes work much better for this.

The alien of the story is the jelly-like Rutan (of which we see only one); these are actually (otherwise unseen) enemies of the Sontarans, although you do not need to be familiar with any of the Sontaran episodes to enjoy 'Fang Rock'.
Naturally, coming from the tight budget, pre-CGI days of 1970s BBC, the Rutan looks very primitive by today's standards; the (many) sequences of it squelching up the lighthouse stairs are certainly a bit dodgy, but at the same time, it is not the worst '70s-era realisation of a monster, not by a long shot. Besides, as with all good vintage 'Who', the story is strong enough carry the weaker effects off.

The sound, considering it's from ancient 1970s mono, is extremely clear. The picture is mostly good, though I did notice some camera interference during Part 2, present on the original, which is still evident.

The one thing I was a little let down with regarding the DVD, was the features. Not with the quality of the features that ARE included, but typical 'Who' DVD releases at least feature a retrospective look back at the making of the particular story, but there is no such feature with 'Fang Rock'.
We do get a nice (and deserving) 36 minute feature looking at the extensive work of story writer Terrance Dicks, though it only makes brief inclusion of 'Fang Rock'.
The other main feature is with Paddy Russell, show runner for several 'Who' stories. This one goes into a bit more depth regarding 'Fang Rock', and interestingly she considers it a rather weak story.

While these two features are nice, I did feel they could have been easily at home on any number of other vintage 'Who' DVDs. The third main feature is an Antiques Roadshow-style short looking at some of the merchandise, made in 1993. This sounded very promising, but at just 4 minutes, I found it to be to be pointlessly short, and - with no direct connection to 'Fang Rock' - it seems to be included just as a filler.

There is the standard in-episode trivia track, which I always love, and audio commentary (which as per usual I've yet to listen to), but the only other feature is a bog-standard picture gallery. Bearing in mind some of the wonderful features on other 'Who' DVDs, I felt a bit let down by the ones of this release.

But all-in-all, this is a great 'Who' story. I'm not qute giving it a perfect 5 mostly due to the unusually disappointing extras, but even so, if you are a vintage 'Who' fan, I recommend 'Horror of Fang Rock' for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gothic splendour., 25 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. E. A. Greenlay (Leeds, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Horror of Fang Rock [1977] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Horror of Fang Rock is superbly atmospheric and genuinely chilling. Even though the pace is more sedate than other Doctor Who serials this doesn't detract from the fact that it is great. The performances and script are intriguing and there is one laugh out loud moment when Leela wants to kill one of the cast. Superb stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ATMOSPHERIC, AND REMINISCENT OF THE HAMMER HORRORS!, 29 Jun 2008
By 
Adam Jackson "Symphonic Metal Fan" (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Horror of Fang Rock [1977] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
One of my fav Tom Baker stories! It's early 20th century Lighthouse setting and gothic atmosphere juxtaposes well with the scifi elements.
A clear example of studio sets, and fog machines working REALLY well!
Eerily reminiscent of such movies as Tower Of Evil, Day Of The Triffids (lighthouse scenes), The Island Of Terror and even John Carpenter's The Fog AND The Thing!!
If you prefer the Earthbound stories (I do),then you will like this 1977 production.
If you've seen the recent Sontaran story, in the latest series, you will have heard mention of the Sontaran war with the Rutans - want to see a Rutan?? Then this is the place as the shapeshifting beastie picks off people one by one (in true Alien fashion!). An unusual design, when finally revealed - reminded me of the brain monsters from 1958's Fiend Without A Face.
Decent extras, and audio/visual quality.
Classic Baker; along with Planet Of Evil, Pyramids Of Mars and Genesis Of The Daleks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good story but poor special features, 21 Jan 2005
By 
Mr. Stuart R. Chandler (Westcliff-on-Sea, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Horror of Fang Rock [1977] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
The story is very good. The dark sets and claustrophobic atmosphere makes for a tense outing. The performances are convincing. Unfortunately the "green blob" at the end is not. I was disappointed with the special features. The Terrance Dicks feature is OK but the Paddy Russell one is dull. I like the commentary, but yet again where is Tom Baker? Out of 6 DVD releases with Tom he has only done commentary on one. Also, those who find the easter egg will be very disappointed. If you want the story only, this is a good buy, but if you like special features and value for money it may not be your cup of tea
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Tom., 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Horror of Fang Rock [1977] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
As a child of the seventies Tom Baker IS my Doctor Who. My first foray into the world of the Doctor came in '76, when, left alone one Saturday teatime in the living room I sat through as much as I could handle of episode four of The Hand of Fear before running, terrified, through to the kitchen to 'help' my mum with the washing up! That experience so scared me I didn't tune in again for three years. I, therefore, missed Horror of Fang Rock upon its original transmission - the mere title would have been enough to put me off. But, now, as a middle-aged father with boys who love the revamped series I am doing my utmost to familiarise them with 'classic' Who, MY Who. And, apart from that, it gives me a great opportunity to finally watch some of the stories I missed as a child. HOFR has long intrigued me; it is judged to be one of the all-time greats. And, having finally seen it, I have to agree. Everything's there - if you're an eight year old: the isolated lighthouse, the murderous alien, the local legend of something nasty in the fog. And, of course, Tom! Who could ask for more (no pun intended). I loved it. However, I do accept that the old format - four twenty-five minute episodes - might prove just a little too much for today's 'must-have-everything-now' kids. All in all then, a wonderful piece of nostalgia. Forget the kids, just settle back with this and a bottle of wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "I'm not a TESHnician..........."!!!!!, 31 May 2012
By 
Mr. C. Davies - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Horror of Fang Rock [1977] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
An appropriate review title,considering the following comment:-

Why oh why can't people SPELL PROPERLY??? The spelling in two reviews for this great Baker story is appalling!
I quote....."TOM BAKER going what he did all the time , it's ok . Not his best but he makes if a true Dr. WHO story" Ok,easy to mistype i s'pose, but this one is absolutely hilarious..."This story is quite dark in my opinion.Though it keeps you griped to your seet". GRIPED TO YOUR SEET!!?? I've read a lot of reviews on Amazon, and this seems to be common practice. Maybe i'm too picky but at least i can smell!!!! ;-)

ANYWAY.....i do like this atmospheric story. Tom's on form,as per,and the other characters and claustrophobic setting,combined with a good story and script, make it enjoyably entertaining. Not up there with Genesis of the Daleks, Robots of Death and The Talons of Weng-Chiang(which i whole-heartedly recommend), but good classic Who just the same! The extras are interesting. Terrance Dicks-what a clever,creative guy! We were so very lucky to have his important involvement in the "classic" series. All in all, a worthy addition to your "Who" dvd collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars (Fang) Rocky Horror Show, 14 April 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who - Horror of Fang Rock [1977] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
A moody and atmospheric late 70s classic, and notably the only Doctor Who serial to date to be set in Edwardian England. Forget about the pretty average special effects and occasional flaring; if you're any kind of fan of the 'classic' series you'll know what to expect - as a 4 year old in 1977 I was terrified, and the green slimy alien has stayed in my mind ever since.
The claustrophobic feel in the lighthouse is intense and absolutely terrific, whilst the zombie lighthouse keeper, Reuben, stalking the tower electrocuting people, is a series high point. Louise Jameson's Leela gets quite a bit to do here and Paddy Russell directs with economy and flair, keeping The Doctor at the centre of the action and getting the best out of a smashing cast.
Overall this is class Tom Baker led Doctor Who and if you've never seen it I urge you to do so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gothic Masterpiece, 7 Mar 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who - Horror of Fang Rock [1977] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Yes, yes- the sfx are much better thse days, blah, blah, blah. What the series had at this point in its history that it is lacking now is atmosphere. The sense of dread and lurking horror is wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As scary as Doctor Who gets, 30 Mar 2009
By 
M. Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Horror of Fang Rock [1977] [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
As a child I found Horror of Fang Rock to be pant-wettingly scary, and it still packs quite a punch today. It really is one of the most chilling and atmospheric stories in the show's history and it has aged very well indeed with only the green blobby jelly monster looking a little silly. The sets for the lighthouse are absolutely superb, and if you didn't know you'd think the whole thing really was filmed in a genuine lighthouse. The look of the story has an utterly authentic period feel, and the performances from all the cast are uniformly excellent. Tom Baker dominates the story with an unusually grim and sombre performance and Louise Jameson gives her best ever performance as companion Leela. This is the sort of story that Doctor Who does better than any other show, there is a real sense of palpable menace and brooding claustrophobia to it, the remote isolated setting is brilliantly evocative, the sets, costumes acting, music and direction are all faultless....This really is Doctor Who at it's very best. Without doubt an essential addition to any Doctor Who fan's collection. Best watched with the ligts off on a cold winter's night for full effect - 10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - Horror of Fang Rock [1977] [DVD] [1993]
8.13
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews