Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a true story
WOW, if you want to see the way the war was won, the skills and bravery, and sheer brilliance of the people who fought it, I'd highly recommend this film. There is also alot of humour in this film too.. as in real life you need humour to get through the horrors. I can't recommend this film highly enough.
Published on 22 Aug 2007 by jester nuff

versus
108 of 119 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Cockleshell Heroes
A truly realistic wartime drama. Based upon a true story of men sent out in canoes, dropped at night from submarines, to sink enemy shipping by placing limpet mines on the ships hulls in enemy ports. A fascinating film that l watched as a boy when the film first came out over 40 years ago and it hasn't lost it's edge.Wonderfull acting, made when the 2nd world war was...
Published on 14 April 2005 by Peter Miller


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

108 of 119 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Cockleshell Heroes, 14 April 2005
By 
Peter Miller (Ely, Cambs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cockleshell Heroes [DVD] (DVD)
A truly realistic wartime drama. Based upon a true story of men sent out in canoes, dropped at night from submarines, to sink enemy shipping by placing limpet mines on the ships hulls in enemy ports. A fascinating film that l watched as a boy when the film first came out over 40 years ago and it hasn't lost it's edge.Wonderfull acting, made when the 2nd world war was still fresh in the minds of the scriptwriters and directors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a true story, 22 Aug 2007
This review is from: Cockleshell Heroes [DVD] (DVD)
WOW, if you want to see the way the war was won, the skills and bravery, and sheer brilliance of the people who fought it, I'd highly recommend this film. There is also alot of humour in this film too.. as in real life you need humour to get through the horrors. I can't recommend this film highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still one of my favourites, 22 July 2010
This review is from: Cockleshell Heroes [DVD] (DVD)
You have to remember its a film based on real events (its not a documentary), yes the real thing did happen but it was made in an era when "blitz" humour was still in the memory of those alive at the time.

No doubt if it was ever remade it would be American Rangers saving the day!

The theme to the film is still played by the Band of HR Royal Marines
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I mean, let me have it. What did I do wrong? Captain Thompson: You did everything wrong., 2 Aug 2009
By 
Peter Wade (Colchester England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cockleshell Heroes [DVD] (DVD)
This is a classic British war film. The war film has the advantages of a mission so that the action of the film can be spilt down into its various constituent parts.

Because of this the viewer has time to understand what it is about and have sympathy for the participants. To me every good war film is really the Dirty Dozen of Wild Geese.

We meet the maverick leader in this case a Major Stringer( Jose Ferrer) who dreams up the idea of going by canoes up a French river to sink merchant ships that the Germans are using to supply themselves with war material that cant be got at by other means.

The maverick leader has a straight captain who objects to this unorthodox training. We meet the team who then get weeded out.

The escape and evasion exercise is good and funny they are dropped off in Britain dressed as Germans and they have to make their way back to camp.The Major of course being the leader and the officer is first back. The others use a variety of tricks. One runs back in his shorts and vest.the Sergeant greets him with you are not finished yet Jesse Owens.

We then have our team so by now we are starting to know them training starts in earnest but it goes wrong.

Trevor Howard the embittered professional marine then tells his boss where he went wrong.

Major Stringer then has to train them by the book.This is quite an interesting part of the film for anyone who has been involved in military training.

He has a board with the ten faults from failure to obey order to lack of determination. The armed forces have one thing they are good at and that is training.

He learns to lead and impose discipline. We then see them improve out of all recognition so that by the time they go on the mission they are very good at it.

There are some good side lines as one of the marines goes AWOL to see his wife who is having an affair. we see the officer stand aside as the marine sorts out his wife and his lover mainly by putting him through the matrimonial home's window.

Very politically incorrect but you can really imagine that happening.

They then launch the raid which is exciting and it ends with only two coming back marching down the road. The images of those who did not make it are superimposed marching behind them It is a very moving moment when you think out of ten that went on the mission only two came back..Even more emotional as it bases on a true story. You cant imagine the sacrifice that national servicemen who were called up for the war underwent to go on such a hazardous mission with little chance of survival.

A truly great British war film and one I can watch time and time again. The training looked very realistic and it seems the admiralty at the time cooperated and helped the training look good which it does.

Can't recommend it highly enough. As they say if Carling made war films this would be it. You can go to Eastney, Portsmouth barracks today and see where they filmed as it is currently the Royal Marines museum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Keep the line straight, boys" - ten men and five canoes against III Reich, 28 Jan 2013
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cockleshell Heroes [DVD] (DVD)
The story told in this film was inspired by Operation "Frankton" (7-12 December 1942), an incredibly daring raid by Royal Marines against German blockade runners anchored in Bordeaux. Those ships were large and fast transports travelling (frequently under false flags) from France to Japan and back, carrying sophisticated industrial tools and optic and electronic equipments to the Japanese and bringing back supplies for Nazi war effort, mostly rubber, tin, tungstene, other very rare metals (precious even in limited amounts), as well as silk, quinine and opium.

Operation "Frankton" was a quite unique thing, as the Royal Marines were brought by a submarine to the mouth of Gironde estuary, then had to travel by canoes to Bordeaux and then attack German ships with limpet mines. Paddling up the Gironde would take four nights (commandos had to hide during the day), and therefore the whole operation lasted from 7 to 12 December. After the attack the Marines were to scuttle the canoes and travel by foot to meet with French Resistance agents, who would help them escape to neutral Spain.

In "Cockleshell Heroes" the story is however a little bit amended. Names of the Royal Marines were changed and their characters were completely rewritten to make this film more interesting - and in some parts also more amusing. The key elements of the real story were respected: the operation takes place in December 1942, the target are indeed German blockade-runners in Bordeaux and the final results of the raid are the same in the film as in the real story. There were however may elements added, especially during the raid itself, to make the story more dramatic.

The description of the selection of participants, their training and other preparations were also amended, but mostly by the inclusion of some of the real practices used to select and train British commandos and secret agents during World War II. Although there is no shortage of tragedy in this film (especially during the raid itself), some elements during the training are absolutely HILARIOUS!

Jose Ferrer, who also directed this film, is excellent as the commander of the raid, but it is Trevor Howard who steals the show, as a bitter, somehow aged Royal Marines captain who was promoted only once in his long career and spend the last 20 years affected only to administrative jobs... Christopher Lee plays a little role in this film, as the commander of the British submarine HMS "Tuna".

This film is not as good as "Dambusters" or "Above us the waves", but still I watched it with pleasure. Some comic elements included during the training can seem strange in a war movie, but I rather enjoyed them. The main reason for taking away one star is that this film lacks the tension and the nail-biting suspense which were so present in the two films mentioned earlier - and also because some elements added to the raid itself were a little bit exaggerated and poorly executed.

Still, it is a film worth watching for all war movies amateurs. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Franco-British history, 10 Oct 2009
By 
Mrs. J. M. Grocott "june g" (Sale, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cockleshell Heroes [DVD] (DVD)
My French friend had recently come upon a memorial to the commandoes of the 'Frankton' mission of WWII in a tiny village of the Gironde. I remembered the film 'Cockleshell Heroes' and I was delighted to find it on Amazon. I shall take the DVD to show my French friend to link up with her discovery, and I hope to visit the memorial myself. Well done, Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cockleshell heroes, 19 Dec 2009
By 
J. Doxey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cockleshell Heroes [DVD] (DVD)
A classic tale of bravery and currage the royal marines have shown throughout their history! An ausum long forgotten, must see film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant memory, 23 Oct 2009
By 
Massimo Santilli "kinowelt" (La Spezia - Liguria Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cockleshell Heroes [DVD] (DVD)
The Cockleshell Heroes is an adventure story which just happens to be true. A super Britsh fascinating film that l watched as a boy when the film first came out over 50 years ago in Italy with the title " Sopravvisuti 2 " Two survived " and it hasn't lost it's edge.Wonderfull acting, made when the 2^nd world war was still fresh in the minds of the scriptwriters and directors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'A WELL MADE WW2 DRAMA', 6 May 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cockleshell Heroes [DVD] (DVD)
The film is based on real events that took place during WW2 in 1942.
This a superb WW2 'gem'
It tells the story of a small team of 'Royal Marines' who are volunteered
to perform a Top-Secret Mission.
After a process of illumination just eight resourceful marines are selected
to undergo intense training over a twelve month period.
'Major Stringer' and 'Sgt Craig' with the eight selected will proceed with
the mission when training has been completed.
'Captain Thompson'(Trevor Howard) who commands the unit has several
run-ins with 'Major Stringer'(Jos'e Ferrer) being old-school having his own
opinion on the training methods adopted by the Officer he has now having
to take orders from.
The dangerous and seemingly suicidal mission is to kayak seventy five miles
of heavily guarded territory with the aim of planting depth charges on Battle-
Ships in a German occupied French port.
The Battleships having caused havoc with supply-lines heading for Britain.
Things don't entirely go to plan, of the Ten only a few will again return home.
Many familiar faces from yester-year are among the cast-list including 'Anthony
Newley' 'Victor Maddern' 'David Lodge' and 'Christopher Lee'
'Trevor Howard' gives his familiar upper-lip performance.
Plenty of light hearted moments that will make you smile during the early stages
of the film, during training.
This is a Typical British-Made War-Drama depicting the true story of The Cockleshell
Heroes.
An oldie but Goody.
Decent picture and sound quality on the 1954 movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up the creek, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cockleshell Heroes [DVD] (DVD)
Another Great War flick based on true events, well worth a watch and a few of your earth pounds! Also has not been done to death on TV so a refreshing change
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cockleshell Heroes [DVD]
Cockleshell Heroes [DVD] by Jose Ferrer (DVD - 2004)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews