Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An understated classic
I have tried numerous times to read Undertones of War, and given up each time as i became frustrated by what i percieved as difficult language and a rambling narrative. But finally, at aged 35 i read my Grandfather's book, and it finally all clicked into place. The humour, the understated horror, his warmth, humanity and love for his fellow soldiers shine through the...
Published on 8 Feb 2009 by Ms. Ck Blunden

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Tough read
This was a brilliant book, but I found the reading really tough as the print is quite small.worth the effort
Published 9 months ago by susan bettle


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Tough read, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a brilliant book, but I found the reading really tough as the print is quite small.worth the effort
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Poetic and a challenging read, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Difficult read. Not always easy to follow the time and location changes. Brilliant descriptions of place and soldier's response to seasonal changes despite the killing madness of war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blunden - Undertones, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nothing quite like reading first hand accounts from the trenches. Gives a much better feel to what they had to put up with and more so when you visit Flanders to pay your respects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesomeness, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is brillian I found it very warming as I am a huge fan hen it comes to gaining extra knowledge! It is a brilliant book to be able to say that I have read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Story, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
But I'm not fond of his writing style. I have not opened this for about six months because I have so much trouble with it. To me his writing is stilted and doesn't flow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars UNDERTONES OF WAR, 17 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THE AUTHOR WRITES WITH SINCERITY ABOUT THE FIRST WORLD WAR AND HE SHOWS TENDERNESS AND AFFECTIOMN FOR HIS MEN. THE CHAPTER CONCERNING THE BATTLE OF THE BOARS HEAD IN WHICH HE WAS INVOLVED SHOWS UP THE ARROGANCE AND IGNORANCE OF THE GENERALS. THE PHRASE "lions led by donkeys" is more than an adequate descripion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blunden's perspective on Somme and Ypres., 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a must-read book if you want to learn more about the Battles of the Somme and Ypres. Blunden uses his poetical skills to involve his reader in trench warfare during World War One.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent!, 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful purchase. Very impressed by its condition. Thank you also for a quick delivery. Magnificent all round
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 26 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The most beautifully written account of trench warfare I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Poetic Account of War, 8 Dec 2002
By 
Stuart Hall (Paisley, Renfrewshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
It takes a bit of getting used to reading a book as old as this, you don't realise how much the use of language changes over time. Edmund Blunden was clearly a wonderful writer and experienced the full horrors of WW1. I found the book however ultimately unsatisfying. This is possibly because we live in an age where everything is very explicit whereas Blunden's writings are poetic and subtle. I'll probably read this book again in a few years and reappraise it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Undertones of war
Undertones of war by Edmund Blunden (Unknown Binding - 1974)
Used & New from: £5.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews