Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good indeed, they are.
having seen them suport the yeah yeah yeahs at the brixton academy i came away with a very strong impression these guys are on their way up and should not be ignored. their use of synths creates a very beatiful sound whilst still being very loud, energetic and honest which does indeed make them some what remenisant of the killers. they are very much on their way to...
Published on 24 Nov. 2004 by frederich

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big and boisterous
Well I loathed their first couple of singles, but this is actually rather good!
If you want to use an NME friendly phrase it's anxious electro-rock, with Sam Endicott graduating to an early Bono impersonation declaiming his desire - "I just want love" he cries over a boisterous 1983 backdrop, replete with hard driving bass. And who can argue with that.
The...
Published on 10 Sept. 2005 by Mr. H


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big and boisterous, 10 Sept. 2005
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Unconditional (Audio CD)
Well I loathed their first couple of singles, but this is actually rather good!
If you want to use an NME friendly phrase it's anxious electro-rock, with Sam Endicott graduating to an early Bono impersonation declaiming his desire - "I just want love" he cries over a boisterous 1983 backdrop, replete with hard driving bass. And who can argue with that.
The B-side is a pointless Benny Benassi mix which sucks the life out of the song, but if they continue to rack up the big angst points, they could make a convert out of me yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good indeed, they are., 24 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Unconditional E.P. (Audio CD)
having seen them suport the yeah yeah yeahs at the brixton academy i came away with a very strong impression these guys are on their way up and should not be ignored. their use of synths creates a very beatiful sound whilst still being very loud, energetic and honest which does indeed make them some what remenisant of the killers. they are very much on their way to success and are making genuinly meaningful music here, which can feel a hard thing to come by in this day and age. so buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good. Excellent live to., 8 Dec. 2004
By 
Blakeman (Somewhere in England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unconditional E.P. (Audio CD)
Watch out for this band in the future as they are great. Theres alot of good bands around at the moment that deserve to be big such as bloc party, thirteen seasons etc. All the tracks on this EP are excellent there were only 1000 copies done.
Ive heard the forthcoming bravery album and thats great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This band WILL be big!, 23 Nov. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Unconditional E.P. (Audio CD)
I don't know specifically which song this is but I saw them live the other night- they were really ace and pretty original.
They were playing hot rock and roll with some electronica style from the keyboard, so it was really cool!!
Met them afterwards, they're really freindly- not at all that moody persona perceived on stage. They also have character and are more than just another wannabe rock band with tedious tunes.
Check them out live!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Most impressive..., 15 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Unconditional E.P. (Audio CD)
You will like this band.
To be frank, I haven't heard the CD. But they were in Jools Holland a couple of nights ago and finally I think I might have cracked the "supporting a great band before anyone else has heard of them" lark. Because what I saw showed a lot of quality.
To begin with, there's the attitude. They loiter on stage with a louche and decadent charm, all eyeliner and alcohol. Just as you think they're all looks and no talent, though, they launch into a song (I forget the title) and suddenly your misgivings are lost in a welter of dirty 80s synths and searing guitar hooks reminiscent of Duran Duran before they were rubbish. Meanwhile the frontman (don't expect names, like I say I just saw them on the telly) struts like Morrissey in his pomp.
They're clearly very savvy, and know how to deliver exactly what it takes to sell a lot of records. What that shouldn't blind you to, however, is the fact that The Bravery are also very good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Next big thing!, 12 Feb. 2005
By 
Mr. K. R. Vodden (Portishead, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unconditional E.P. (Audio CD)
Having read a lot about The Bravery I found their website and listened to Unconditional and Honest Mistake. Both tracks are fantastic - a mixture of 80's New Romantic (early Duran Duran?) with a rock kick. They look good live too, although I've only caught them briefly (on TV last night on The Friday Night Project). Definitely a band to look out for. Can't wait for the album, due out in March.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the next big thing!, 11 Jan. 2005
By 
Mayumiwinn (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Unconditional E.P. (Audio CD)
I noticed this band when they released unconditional, im annoyed because i didnt get this ep, but cant wait for their forthcoming album in march which is going to be amazing judging from what i've already heard of them. A good example of their music is the killers/the cure. Kind of! Go visit their website and launch the music player! This band was also named the sound of 2005 by the bbc!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bravery are the bomb!, 18 Nov. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Unconditional E.P. (Audio CD)
I have seen these guys a couple of times in NYC and I will be catching them in UK next week at the Metro. They are the greatest band to hit since the Beatles. Their music is awesome and they are even better. It's about time we can get looks, attitude and talent rolled into one fantastic group. Hope we see plenty of them for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unconditional E.P.
Unconditional E.P. by The Bravery (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews