Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REAL meditation music
As an instructor of meditation and a seasoned musician I feel I am able to comment. This beautifully presented CD, by Jonathan Goldman, is the best Chakra meditaton music I have heard for a long time. There are no synthesizers here and no drum machines. Goldman uses true over-tone singing and chanting, as taught to him by the Master of the Dalai Lama's 'Deprung Loseling...
Published on 8 April 2006 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
I had hoped your something more powerful to use as chakra toning sessions. This is more for background listening.
Published 9 months ago by Rhiannon -Yanna


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REAL meditation music, 8 April 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chakra Chants Vol.1 (Audio CD)
As an instructor of meditation and a seasoned musician I feel I am able to comment. This beautifully presented CD, by Jonathan Goldman, is the best Chakra meditaton music I have heard for a long time. There are no synthesizers here and no drum machines. Goldman uses true over-tone singing and chanting, as taught to him by the Master of the Dalai Lama's 'Deprung Loseling Monastary'. Each track is dedicated to one of the seven chakra's and is written in the, musical, key of that chakra. This gives a gloriously rich, deep sound and an experience that is both powerfull and healing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece of Sonic Healing, 26 Mar. 2006
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chakra Chants Vol.1 (Audio CD)
Chakra Chants contains seven tracks, each corresponding to one of the chakras on the human body. Starting with the base chakra (Malkhut in Hebrew /Muladhara in Sanskrit) and ending with the crown chakra (Keter/Sahasrara), it is a deeply moving piece of music suitable as a meditation tool, for cleansing and balancing your energy body, mental healing or just for sheer listening pleasure.

The high quality booklet discusses the subtle body, the chakras and the principles of Sacred Sounds. Each track is made up of the appropriate vowel sound, a bija mantra, an elemental and/or shabd sound and a particular keynote. A thorough and easy-to-practice guided visualization and an explanation of overtones are also provided in the booklet.

Overtones or harmonics are geometric multiples of the first note and represent the "color" of sound. The vocal harmonics heard here add a deep emotional resonance to the sound. The voices are those of Goldman, Rabbi Shefa Gold, Gwen Tuesday and Lauren Cuggino, and all the instruments are authentic, i.e. no computerized sounds are used. The result amply rewards the listener with more than 62 minutes of glorious wave upon wave of swirling, uplifting joy.

This is a true masterpiece that invites repeated listening and might serve as the ideal soundtrack to various holistic healing practices. Finally, Donald Beaman's cover art combines the Shri Yantra symbol with a square mandala and the human form in a most magnificent way. Chakra Chants is sublime; I value it highly. Other recommended works by Goldman include Ultimate Om (the `rolling' Om with overtones) and Holy Harmony which blends a vocal chant with tuning forks attuned to specific healing frequencies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MYSTICAL MASTERPIECE, 19 Jun. 2002
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chakra Chants (Audio CD)
Chakra Chants contains seven tracks, each corresponding to one of the chakra points on the human body. Starting with the base chakra and ending with the crown chakra, it is a deeply moving piece of music suitable as a meditation tool, for getting to know your energy body or just for sheer listening pleasure. The high quality booklet discusses the subtle body, the charkas and the principles of sonic healing. Each track is made up of the appropriate vowel sound, a bija mantra, an elemental and/or shabd sound and a particular keynote. A thorough and easy-to-practice guided visualization and an explanation of overtones are also provided in the booklet. Overtones or harmonics are geometric multiples of the first note and represent the "colour" of sound. The human voice harmonics heard here add a deep emotional resonance to the sound. The voices are those of Goldman, Rabbi Shefa Gold, Gwen Tuesday and Lauren Cuggino, and all the instruments are authentic, i.e. no computerized sounds are used. The result amply rewards the listener in glorious wave upon wave of swirling, uplifting joy. This is a true masterpiece that invites repeated listening and offers the ideal soundtrack to many holistic healing practices. Finally, Donald Beaman's cover art combines the Shri Yantra symbol with a square mandala and the human form in a most magnificent way. Chakra Chants is priceless - I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just about the best there is, 27 Oct. 2005
This review is from: Chakra Chants Vol.1 (Audio CD)
Jonathan Goldman has been working in this field for years, I first came across him when I read one of his books about sound, Shifting Frequencies.
He has an amazing voice, and reaches deep into the soul in his performance.
I use his music as a background to meditation and it always goes down really well. It is fabulous for getting into the right 'space'. Look out for the new one, Tantra of Sound Harmonizer for working on relationships.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for chanting, healing, lots of audio hooks for the ear, 30 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Chakra Chants (Audio CD)
Musically Literate Pagan Says:
If you are looking for a CD that will help you to get started on chanting for the benefit of your chakras, this is the one. Each track links with a chakra in both note tone, traditional chant sounds from India plus a few other strengthening enhancements, my favourites being the underlying soundscapes that crossfade into each other as each track changes accompanied by a bell ringing for the chakra you are moving to. Your root chakra is encouraged to bed into raw earth and raw energy to the real sounds of thunder, your sacral is encouraged to flow with ocean sounds, your solar plexus is brought to light by its affinity to the fire element as you hear a fire crackling, the heart is encouraged to open and breathe its air element to the sounds of the wind, the throat is lifted to expression with the noises of crickets (!!) which sounds strange but actually does work, the mystery and psychic abilites of the third eye are thoroughly explored with the "Twinkling Bells" (sleevenotes description) and the tone of a crystal bowl. The crown thoroughly resounds to the ethereal and cosmic sounding vocals used to help you transcend.
The sleeve notes are excellent, each chakra track is broken down into its individual elements and you are told whether its a Ram, a Yam or an Om that's being chanted, as well as the vowel sounds. On the down side, if you were hoping to work through each one in a sitting, make it a long sitting !! Each track comes in at 81/2 to 91/2 minutes each !! This puts the CD length at just over an hour so unless you're a hardcore dedicated chanter, you may want to do them one at a time, one per day say, as part of a pre-existing meditation practice. An full hour can be quite draining !! I know, I tried it !
However, if you like working with sound for healing generally and you're looking for something to play with, this is good. I have used it for massage and other quiet times as it effectively enhances the atmosphere, but its power is so great that I don't use it for long periods or over long sustained periods of time either. Breaks are necessary with this, I've found. That said, my mother loves it !
If you find you like the kind of sound produced on this CD, I recommend following up with Mr. Goldman's "The Lost Chord". Same sound but without the chakra structure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atunement to your higher self., 2 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Chakra Chants Vol.1 (Audio CD)
I have to say I downloaded my copy from ITUNES. Bearing this in mind you would need a basic understanding of chakras and how they work as there are no vocally guided directions with the download. If you know or are familiar with your chakras, then I would have no hesitation in recommending this album.
All Jonathan Goldmans albums are very good in attuning a persons aura to a higher wavelength. Try them you can't go wrong. If you buy the actual cd from Amazon you get full information notes on how to use the cd.
Good luck with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A journey through the seven chakras, 28 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Chakra Chants (Audio CD)
This cd uses the seven vowels of the seven chakras. The male and female choral voices moove from one chakra to the other by changing their tones. We can really feel the music and voices mooving inside us! It's quite a wonderful experience. Very relaxing and helpful for meditation. This cd is also used in theraputic healing. Playing time: 1 hour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chakra Chants vol.1, 8 Jun. 2009
This review is from: Chakra Chants Vol.1 (Audio CD)
I needed a good quality visualization CD to help me get into my Chakras, already had been giving a CD from a friend on "The Angel and the Goddess" by Jonathan Goldman, which i connected to straight away the very next day i decided to look up on Amazon and with luck came across his Chakra Chants which i ordered without hesitation. I've had a great deal of satisfaction, comfort, peace come into my very being on listening and learning from this CD. Yours Sincerly
Poppit pennywise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy listening, 22 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chakra Chants (Audio CD)
I really like this CD. I enjoy listening to it and feel relaxed afterwards. It lasts about an hour. I would recommend this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hypnotic, 15 Jun. 2013
By 
Barry Lees (Greenock, Strathclyde Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chakra Chants Vol.1 (Audio CD)
Bought this for my wife who rates it as an excellent example of sound to facilitate relaxation and meditation exercises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chakra Chants Vol.1
Chakra Chants Vol.1 by Jonathan Goldman (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews