Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


119 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The classic show has finally arrived on DVD
I have always loved Thomas the Tank Engine and his friends getting into scrapes or working together in different stories. It has a moral to each episode such as friendship, trust and teamwork, I loved hearing Ringo Starr's voice narrating the series which is 21 years old since it was shown on television in 1984.
It's great having all twenty-six stories from the first...
Published on 29 May 2005

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars scraches on the dvd and keeps jumping in the dvd player
The disc was scrached and it kept jumping in the dvd player wasn't worth 40 one bit I will not be purchasing anything else from this person.
Published 2 months ago by Andrew Willis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

119 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The classic show has finally arrived on DVD, 29 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Classic Adventures of Thomas & Friends: The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
I have always loved Thomas the Tank Engine and his friends getting into scrapes or working together in different stories. It has a moral to each episode such as friendship, trust and teamwork, I loved hearing Ringo Starr's voice narrating the series which is 21 years old since it was shown on television in 1984.
It's great having all twenty-six stories from the first series because it saves a lot of space on your shelf, it's good value for money and plus there's over two hours of accidents, fun and mishaps on the Island of Sodor. My favourite stories are Coal, Troublesome Trucks, The Flying Kipper, Whistles and Sneezes, Off the Rails, and many more.
Even adults and younger children alike will adore watching Thomas adventures on DVD with a good sharp picture and clear sound to boot. I reccommend this to fans, whether they're young or old because it brought back happy memories for me and it'll probably do the same for you!
Thanks for taking time to read this, I hope you find it useful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless family fun, 27 Jan 2009
This review is from: The Classic Adventures of Thomas & Friends: The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
All 26 episodes from the first series, for under a tenner?! Amazon - you really are spoiling us!

Thomas and Friends has never lost any of its appeal over the years, as this DVD from 1984 demonstrates. My two year old absolutely loves it, but I know an awful lot of grown ups who have fond memories of it too!

I much prefer the earlier series to the later versions, which started introducing computer animation - I'm sure the new generation of kids don't mind it at all, but for those adults who remember the original, they just don't sit very well with our cherished memories of this great series. I never tire of watching this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On a different level of classic..., 27 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Classic Adventures of Thomas & Friends: The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
In recent times, later seasons of 'Thomas the Tank Engine' (now 'Thomas & Friends') are beginning to shunt it's origins further and further into the darkness of the past. Although it is always exciting to see new and original stories that were not adapted from Wilbert Awdry's 'Railway Series', there is truely no comparison to the delights of the classic first and season seasons of 'Thomas' from back in the early/late 80's.
This collection presents all 26 stories from the first classic series, all of which are adapted from the earlier volumes of the Railway Series. Made even more memorable by Ringo Starr's narration and the remarkable musical scores (I apologise for I cannot remember the composer's names!), these stories bring to life the Rly. Series in a way that stunned the world with awe. Where as more recent stories tend to focus on the importance of friendship and social skills, these classic tales deal with the comedy, sorrow, joys and tragedys of railway-life - which is exactly what Awdry wanted. Most of the stories that you see here are based on actual events that happened to one engine or another, somewhere in the world. For a taste of what it's REALLY all about - this DVD is essential for any fan, veteran or newly introduced.
Series 1 includes the world to the first seven engines of the main fleet, the concrete for the cast. Thomas, Edward, Gordon, Henry, James, Percy and Toby are established as family as time goes on, each with their own distinctive personalities. Thomas, who was at first cheeky, but grew wiser as time progressed. Edward, good-hearted and heart-moving. Proud Gordon, who's conceit often led to trouble. Henry, who's vainty and bad-health caused him many problems. James, flamboyant, rebellious and forever providing comic releif. Percy - baby-faced and adorable. Toby, quiet and sinless.
The Series begins with the memorable introduction of Thomas - flagship of The Railway Series and a landmark face in children's televison - followed by a comical incident in which he learns to hold back his cheekiness in the face of Gordon. Following this is an adaptation of the very first Rly. Series book - 'The Three Railway Engines' - which sees Gordon laughing on the other side of his smoke-box after taunting Edward, Henry's vanity leading to his temporary excile and all three brought together in harmony afterwards. We then see Thomas struggling with the reality of being station-pilot and his constant rebellion to escape from the small world he is confined too - and one memorable day in which a new-arrival called James has a terrible accident, Thomas' hard-work sees him rewarded with his very own branch line.
Following Thomas' 'escape' we see James brought into the spotlight - flamboyant, splendid and rebellious - who at first caused trouble for the Fat Controller, but then won back his honour not once, but twice. Whilst James establishes his place among the fleet, Thomas has some seperate adventures of his own on the branch line (with his coaches Annie and Clarabel, Terence the Tractor and Bertie the Bus).
Following this, the action turns darker. The loss of Thomas has caused upset and rebellion among the big engines, who go on strike after a string of humiliating events. Percy is drafted in as the new station-pilot, and after the peace is restored, the child-like new-comer realises the dangers of travelling on the main line with a free-mind. But Henry is still not happy, for we learn that his constant bad-health and lack of energy has put his career on the line. The problem is temporarily corrected by Welsh Coal, but disaster awaits Henry in the days that follow. By fate, an earth-shattering accident leads to a successful overhaul at Crewe, from which Henry emerges as a newer, stronger and happier engine.
After Henry teaches Gordon and some naughty school-boys a lesson, Thomas has some trouble with the police, which leads to the rescue of Toby the Tram Engine from retirement. In the light of Toby's arrival, James' conceit leads to a sticky accident. And after an ironic twist of pit-falls, Gordon and Thomas form an alliance of disgrace before all 7 friends are brought together in harmony for Christmas celebrations.
This DVD will bring tears of joy to veteran fans who remember the show in its youth, bringing back wonderful and charming memories. Newly introduced fans will see the further delights of the world of Sodor from the past - and hopefully come to appreciate the origins of this classic show even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thomas and friends (The Complete First Series) DVD, 3 Aug 2012
This review is from: The Classic Adventures of Thomas & Friends: The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great dvd full of 26 episodes forming the complete first series of the amazing thomas and friends. All of the episodes are interesting and very well made and this makes them fun and interesting to watch.

Episodes on this DVD include:
Thomas and Gordon
Edward and Gordon
The Sad Stroy of Henry
Edward, Gordon and Henry
Thomas' Train
Thomas and the Trucks
Thomas and the Breakdown Train
James and the Coaches
Troublesome Trucks
James and the Express
Thomas and the Guard
Thomas Goes Fishing
Thomas, Terence and the Snow
Thomas and Bertie
Tenders and Turntables
Trouble in the Shed
Percy Runs Away
Coal
The Flying Kipper
Whilstes and Sneezes
Toby and the Stout Gentleman
Thomas in Trouble
Dirty Objects
Off the Rails
Down the Mine
Thomas' Christmas Party

All of the episodes make the DVD worth every penny and they are all interesting to watch. The running time of the DVD is 144 mins approx.
Overall this is a great DVD and this is why i have given it 5 stars.

The episodes have priviously been released on VHS under the titles
Thomas and the Trucks and other stories
Thomas' Christmas Party and other stories
Thomas' Train and 17 other stories
The Biggest Ever Christmas Collection
Chases Races and Runaways
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Thomas the Tank Engine, 10 Dec 2010
By 
P. Lamb (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Classic Adventures of Thomas & Friends: The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Having previously only had a handful of Thomas the Tank Engine episodes purchased via iTunes, it has been great to have the original series available on DVD. The episodes are a hit with our 3 year old boy.

Some of the episodes available via iTunes are apparently the same stories, but the versions on this DVD appear to be more complete, containing some footage apparently removed from the US versions on iTunes; things such as slower scenes and animations. I also find the slightly slower and more friendly narration of Ringo Star a little better for the kids than George Carlin (although I admire the style of both). These episodes are also pre-PC; "Sir Topham Hat" is still "The Fat Controller" and so on. The episodes are also correctly ordered, which is important to children as many of the stories dove-tail into each other.

The one downside is that the actual video quality is slightly lower on a handful of episodes.

Overall, I am very happy with the DVD and will be expanding our collection with more from the same "classic collection" series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic, 19 Nov 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Adventures of Thomas & Friends: The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
I was a big fan of the original Thomas the Tank Engine books as a child. I bought the books for my 3yo daughter, and she loved them, so I took a chance with the dvd (having never seen it on tv). I need not have worried.

It's a lovely telling of the stories. True to the originals in tone and text it both stands on its own and also really complements the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First Classic Series, 16 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Classic Adventures of Thomas & Friends: The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Way back in 1984, the first series of all-time favourite "Thomas the tank engine and friends" was produced. The show is still being made today, proving Thomas still enjoys enduring massive success.
The series got the show off to a great start. This is perfect for all Thomas fans, old and new! Stick in the DVD player and enjoy the full first 26 episodes of classic Thomas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gift, 21 Jan 2010
By 
Ms. Susan Colley (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Classic Adventures of Thomas & Friends: The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
i bought this as a christmas gift for my brother, who works with steam trains, we both remember it from our childhood and it was great to see his face on christmas day. What a nostalga trip. two joyous hours of thomas, with all our favourite episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars scraches on the dvd and keeps jumping in the dvd player, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Adventures of Thomas & Friends: The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
The disc was scrached and it kept jumping in the dvd player wasn't worth 40 one bit I will not be purchasing anything else from this person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thomas dvd, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Adventures of Thomas & Friends: The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
A really brilliant dvd of thomas the tank engine set to the original rev Awdry stories which is by far the best and read by Ringo Starr.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews