Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sublime Harmony Returns in Style, 20 Jan 2005
By 
Nick Redfern "thenickmeister" (Lincoln, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Disappear Here (Audio CD)
Wow! The album starts with the single, Bubblegum, and powers along for eight of the ten tracks before taking a breather with a ballad, and finishing in true style. A long awaited and natural development from the powerpop harmonies of the debut "Silver Sun" and follow up "Neo Wave", "Disappear Here" provides an aural delight.
If the Beach Boys were discovered today inside the M25 corridor, this is what they'd sound like. Unlike many discordant, angst ridden bands of today, Silver Sun plough a furrow that reads "enjoyment" through and through. If you like your pop fast, harmonious, with witty lyrics and killer tunes, look no further -Silver Sun are for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another silver sun record? with bells on!, 16 Aug 2005
This review is from: Disappear Here (Audio CD)
silver sun; where did they go? what did they do? with seven years since 'neo wave', silver sun could've gone off and become qualified architects; lucky for us they didn't, however, because 'disappear here' is a stunning album that is a true return to the uplifting nerd-surf rock form (and artwork) of their eponymous 1997 debut.
i was a massive fan of silver sun from the outset, and i had reservations about any new record. 'neo wave' had the right ingredients, but just didn't seem to get it quite right, and ended up being 'good fun' rather than 'brilliant'. with 'disappear here', though, james broad deftly chucks you on the chin for ever doubting him, and proceeds to knock your ears off with a collection of ten of the catchiest indie pop songs you've ever squeezed onto the same disc. the ingredients are still the same: geeky guitar riffs put through chunky amps, more hooks than a 'evil charcters from peter pan' convention, harmonies aplenty, and lyrics that quite often don't make an awful lot of sense. but it just doesn't matter; because it all works, dammit! and then some. these are songs to sing along to, to jump along to, and then to play again because they just didn't last long enough the first time.
the first track, 'bubblegum', is strangely both the single and the weakest track on the album; standout tracks occupy the entire of the middle section (current favourites include 'found you in a dream', 'immediate', 'jody', and 'garlic'; that's tracks 4 -7) and the album closes nicely with the softer 'she want a puppy, she'll have a puppy' and 'you can't kill rock & roll'. the songs are quirky and well-crafted; they will reward the silver sun fan and the newcomer equally well by being engaging on both the three-minute power-pop level, and then by revealing their idiosyncratic composition on repeated listening. this truly is how to do three-chord songs: make the songs so cool that you won't recognise them as such. this is james broad's gift; we are lucky he shares it.
incidentally, silver sun are amazing live. my only criticism of this album is that the production sometimes doesn't capture the sheer energy they put across; its a personal choice but the sound quality seems a little muted and over-polished. the obvious solution to this, of course, is to follow the advice given in the sleeve notes:
The way to enjoy this? - play it LOUD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kings Of Power Pop Return!, 22 July 2005
By 
Mark Philpott "marco772" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Disappear Here (Audio CD)
After a simply incredible eponymous debut album (one of my favourites of the 90's!), and a flawed but interesting follow up (Neo Wave), Silver Sun return with an absolute blinder in the form of Disappear Here. Ditching the slightly lengthier song style of Neo Wave, singer/songwriter James Broad returns to his area of excellence, the three minute power pop song. In my opinion, NO ONE can pull of this trick better than Broad, the man is a genius and true master of his art (and I don't give such praise lightly!).
This makes the ten tracks the most enjoyable half hour of music you're likely to hear this year.Each little gem of a song will contain a catchy verse, an even catchier chorus and even the odd blissful middle 8/ guitar solo. Soundwise the band is a fusion of The Buzzcocks' breathless power chording, big fat riffs, classic rock'n'roll beats, slick-as- oil musicianship, super-polished production and all topped off with the most amazing many layered vocal harmonies since the Beach Boys threw in their towels!
The result is beautiful sounding, exciting, pop flavoured Rock and Roll with the emphasis firmly on FUN!
Everyday I change my mind about which are my favourite tracks, but Lies, Can't Get You Out Of My Head (fantastic riff!) and Found You In A Dream are probably my current faves. There's even a quality slow track for the softies called She wants A Puppy, She'll Have A Puppy which, of course, is also insanely catchy!
In a year of brilliant releases from the likes of The Killers and The Kaiser Chiefs this easily ranks alongside them. If you like your rock slick, charged up and catchy as hell then I URGE you to buy this (and then buy their debut which is also amazing)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Years Most Unexpected Return, 10 Jan 2005
This review is from: Disappear Here (Audio CD)
New album from a band who should have been massive the first time they graced our ears. 10 songs that soar by in just over 30 minutes. Great pop songs with hooks that firmly stick in your head. I think the fact that main man James Broad has produced the entire record himself is a great achievement. I feel that on the odd occasion the artistic licence has been pushed a little too far and a couple of songs may have benefitted if the ideas had been reigned in a little (either by a producer or other members of the band). For me the keyboards on Pipsqueak are just too much in the fore. The effects on "Garlic" though fit perfectly. I know a couple of people who loved the first 2 albums and find that this one a little difficult to listen to.
In my opinion though the negatives are really just tiny imperfections and are far outweighed by the fact that this band are back and releasing music. Overall a great and unexpected (for those who haven't kept the faith) return. I just hope it isn't 6 years until Album Number 4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poptastic!, 15 Jan 2005
This review is from: Disappear Here (Audio CD)
A limited number of copies of this album were made available through the band's website last year -they have long since sold out but I was lucky enough to get one.
After a seven year hiatus, Silver Sun have returned with an album every bit as good as anything they had done before. They first became known during the musical era laughably known as Britpop, and were victims to the great record company clearout that happened after that in 1998. This was short-sightedness of the highest order... some bands probably deserved it, this one did not. Singer and songwriter James Broad has one of the best ears for a tune going, and this album contains ten timely reminders of it. It's good when bands have something to say about world affairs or whatever, but sometimes all you need is a burst of top pop music to help you forget just how rubbish world affairs actually are. Here's your instant happy pill in album form...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's been a while, but it's more than worth the wait, 18 April 2005
By 
S. Strang "Ste" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Disappear Here (Audio CD)
After 7 years, Silver Sun finally return with their 3rd album.
Containing 10 tracks, each of which is a corker this album certainly doesn't dissapoint.
It's hard to pick highlights in an album that's filled with them but tracks "Garlic" and "Immediate" are probably the best here.
If you like bands like Wheatus, Weezer, Ash etc.. then you should love this album and if you're an existing fan then this album easily matches up to the bands previous two offerings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow what a return, 29 Dec 2004
By 
This review is from: Disappear Here (Audio CD)
I had the pleasure of getting an early copy of this album and what an album it is. James Broad and Silver Sun go back to their roots with a collection of exciting original songs that remind me very much of their debut album. Highlights for me have to be Immeadiate and Pipsqueek although it is very difficult to pick out one song as they are all so damn good. I would certainly recomend that if you buy one album this year, buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DO YOU REALLY NEED ADVICE?, 3 May 2005
By 
D. Lyons (GOUROCK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Disappear Here (Audio CD)
It's easy to get misty eyed and overly generous when you're a hardcore fan (and you've been deprived of new SS material for 7 long years) but Disappear Here is genuinely a fantastic album... and well worth the wait. It is 10 trademark infectious frantic guitar driven tunes crammed with Queen/Beach Boys-esque helium harmonies. James Broad has the amazing ability to write instantly catchy and sing-a-long songs which you never tire of listening to. QUIT READING AND JUST BUY!!! They'll be your new favourite band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars innovative cd, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disappear Here (Audio CD)
I love this album because the tracks a super smashing great and I love the guitar riffs too. I've got their debut album as well and I really love many tracks in this album. I first heard of silversun when I was 15, we had one of their tracks on a cd compilation called hello! the best new tracks of 1997 as a giveaway cd from Q magazine their track on that cd was 'service' from their debut during that period. However, in this cd there are many brilliant tracks in this album, although I can't name any of them! I find silversun a very underrated band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another Silver Sun album, 12 Jun 2009
This review is from: Disappear Here (MP3 Download)
I bought this as their eponymous album is one of my all time favourites. This presses all the right buttons, great vocals and harmonies, fuzzed up guitars, catchy pop songs. Not a patch on their debut but then I don't see how it could be.

For fans of Silver Sun who know what to expect, this is a fine album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Disappear Here
Disappear Here by Silver Sun (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews