Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "A man dies on the subway. Do you think anyone will notice?"
Definitely in my top three films ever. Collateral manages to get the right balance between action and a multi-dimensional plot. At times the suspense is phenomenal, and while there is violence and gore, it is superbly done and integral to the story rather than being gratuitous and repetitive. The storyline is gripping and frequently surprisingly moralistic and...
Published on 29 Nov 2004

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worst assassin ever
If any of you have ever played the Hitman video games you will probably think that you could do quite well as contract killer given the right tools. You'd probably be right, or at least you'd be a hundred times better than Vincent in this movie. Apparently the phrase "silent assassin" is not in his vocabulary. He doesn't even use silencers on his very loud gun...
Published 8 months ago by Inspector Gadget


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "A man dies on the subway. Do you think anyone will notice?", 29 Nov 2004
By A Customer
Definitely in my top three films ever. Collateral manages to get the right balance between action and a multi-dimensional plot. At times the suspense is phenomenal, and while there is violence and gore, it is superbly done and integral to the story rather than being gratuitous and repetitive. The storyline is gripping and frequently surprisingly moralistic and thought-provoking, and the gunfight in the Fever club shows some outstanding choreography coupled with a great trance/electronica tune (an Oriental-language version of "Ready Steady Go!" by Paul Oakenfold). Excellent film all round with a great cast and an excellent storyline: buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BLU-RAY REVIEW, 14 Jun 2010
By 
The usual suspect (2nd aisle on the right, top shelf) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've seen the two extremes of Tom Cruise this weekend. The bloody awful half in War of the Worlds and then the magestic assassin of Collateral. Michael Mann somehow turns Tom into a Robert De Niro from the past. Quite easily his best performance since Magnolia.

I'm a massive fan of the movie - it's probably in my top 5. Yes, the end is odd but that doesn't destroy the rest of it. Michael Manns tour of LA with two great characters who put over some great dialogue.

I don't see much point on dwelling on a movie review so, what's the transfer to BD like? Great! It's a dark film scene wise (it's all at night) so some grain should be expected besides that the rest of the transfer is nice and detailed. The jazz club scene looks amazing. A big leap over my now redundant DVD.

I didn't notice a massive difference in the audio though. Maybe that's because I've been amazed by the audio on War of the Worlds though?

Audio: English DTS-HD Master; French 5.1 DD; German 5.1 DD; Italian 5.1 DD; Spanish 5.1 DD;

Subs: English SDH; Danish; Dutch; Finnish; French; German; Italian; Spanish; Norwegian; Swedish;

Region Free
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best film of last year, 1 Mar 2005
By A Customer
I didn't get around to seeing this in the cinema, and now after having watched the DVD twice I really regret it. A fantastic movie.
Tom Cruise has never been better as the icy psychopath Vincent, and Jamie Foxx proves that he's not only a very funny comedian but an excellent straight actor.
It's rare to get a thriller from Hollywood for adults with grown up people in all the roles. It didn't pull its punches either, and I particularly liked the downbeat ending. Jamie and Jada both looked as if they'd been through a hellish experience by the end. There was no false happy Hollywood ending tacked on to make the audience feel good, which in my view turned an excellent story into a classic. Tom Cruise make more movies like this please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good camera shots and excellent set pieces, 25 Feb 2007
This review is from: Collateral - Single Disc Edition [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Tom Cruise plays Vince a silver haired 'gun for hire' on a mission to eradicate five targets in a single night. Jamie Foxx is Max, the cabbie given the job of ferrying him around the city to the five stops. Max realises that Vince isn't saying a quick hello and eventually tries to escape to alert the authorities. Intense action scences and some fantastic set-pieces which display Tom Cruise at his best (he must have had some sort of training and it shows in the way he handles the pistol he carries). Cruise is fantastic and Jamie Foxx is once again very impressive. The opening sequence reminded me very much of Heat in a certain way and there is no doubt that this is a Michael Mann film. It has his distinctive touch all over it. Very enjoyable and well worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good film. Jamie and Tom are electric., 10 Feb 2005
I like Tom and was keen to see this film especially as he is the bad guy. This is definitely a good performance by Tom and Jamie. Set in one night it feels like real-time. The pace is good - I don't think I was bored at any point. A must see film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, 28 Mar 2010
By 
S. Lindgren - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Collateral is not the greatest film ever made, and I doubt anyone would pretend it to be. It is, however, one of my favourite films. Certainly in my top ten. Possibly in my top five, depending on what mood I'm in. I won't comment on the story; been done before, & you don't need to read yet another detailed description. Suffice it to say, cab driver gets an unpleasent shock when he abruptly discovers that the man he's just agreed to hang with for the night as he makes a series of stops isn't actually involved in real estate, but is systematically killing off Fereral witnesses and those involved in the prosecution of what is assumed to be a fairly major criminal case, most likely related to organised crime / finance.

The direction is exemplary. Beautifully shot, mostly in HD digital video, LA, on this one night of the 24th - 25th January 2004 becomes far more than just a backdrop. It is integral to both story and atmosphere; something that Mann has been a master of since Miami Vice in the early 1980s. Lights outside darkened buildings glimmer, but remain in focus; empty, palm-lined streets practically echo the hollowness of the lives of the central characters (that's not a criticism); overhead shots impart a feeling of detachment from reality. Never has LA looked quite so haunting, hence my chosen review title. The music, as ever with Mann's work, is superbly chosen, and like the visuals, is in fact responsible for telling some of the story, at least at a subconscious level.

Acting is superb throughout, no real weak links. Jamie Foxx gained most of the plaudits as Max, the overly cautious, somewhat emotionally repressed cabbie who has big dreams that are never likely to come to fruition, largely because they are just that: dreams of perfection, which he knows in his heart cannot ever be achieved in this life, and which he clearly uses as an excuse to justify his 'temporay' stint as a cab driver -a 'temporary' job that has, on the night the film takes place in, lasted for twelve years. Sympathetic, kind-hearted, but a looser, at least until Vincent appears. Foxx does a masterful job of letting Max gradually adapt, beginning from confusion and vulnerability, as he is pulled far from the security of his ordered, formalised world, into a much more dynamic condition, which ultimately, he rises to, if not completely successfully. A superb performance all round.

The real surprise for me however was Tom Cruise. I am not a particular fan of his work, however, the fact that he was playing a part which is essentially the antithesis of how he is normally cast has allowed him to produce what is for me, his best performance outside Eyes Wide Shut, and one for which he should have recieved rather more credit than he did. His Vincent, although initially appearing an emotionless killer of metronomic precision steadily develops ever widening cracks in his psychological armour, and while genuinely frightening for much of the time, ends as clearly as a vulnerable, damaged human being, which goes some way to explaining, if not justifying his actions, and attitude. Cruise's movement in particular should draw praise; he had spent months preparing for the role, much of which was spent on the range and in learning military style CQC (Close Quarter Combat) unarmed fighting techniques. All of this is clearly revealed to anyone with an eye for accurate detail. Just watch how Vincent assesses situations, his economy of motion, and where his eyes are looking -not always where you assume, and that is no accident.

The interaction of the two leads is largely what makes Collateral what it is of course, and they have an excellent rapport, fluctuating with Vincent's almost schizophenic shifts in attitude, from potentially threatening figure to almost brotherly affection for his cab driver, who ultimately appears to learn much from his nemesis, or at least, how to take risks. The deliberate, ironic and frequently nihilistic banter Vincent hits him with both helps his focus and provides a few fleeting glimpses of black humour. The supporting cast deserve much praise too; an interesting mixture of well-known actors in cameo roles to add a little extra tension and doubt to proceedings, and some less well-known figures, including some professional police officers, which adds a further degree of realism to details.

Best buy if you can is the two disk edition (unless you're into blu-ray); the second disk of extras, including Cruise's infamous stint as a USP delivery man in busy locations, in order to help him learn to blend into crowds, is well worth looking through. The 'making-of' featurettes are interesting enough; my own favourite is Mann's commentry on the 1st disk however, which gives a real additional insight into the characters and the sometimes frightening levels of detail they went into in order to build up their back-stories. It also lends in interesting view into how Mann himself directs films. Transfer to DVD is excellent; detail is superb, sound clean in all formats, colours and contrasts beautifully reproduced.

No, Collateral is not perfect. Yes, there are plot holes. Whether that matters I suspect rather depends on individual preference, and what you wish to take out of the film. It has far greater depth than many (most) releases, the script is varied and well paced, the dialogue tightly written and cleverly put together, allowing the effective convergence of the different threads of the story at critical junctures. It happens to tick the right boxes for me, as I love this sort of work. Even if you don't, there is fundamentally little wrong with it on an artistic level, and only a few will fail to appreciate it ('enjoy' might be stretching things too far -it's not the sort of film you can necessarily 'enjoy').

Which rather begs a question: what, if anything, do you feel about Vincent and Max at the end? Me? I feel sad. Mann is a master of provoking such reactions, and like much of his work Collateral,leaves the viewer feeling emotionally drained when the final credits roll; the only time any credits are seen in the film.

Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Movie, 18 May 2005
By 
Mr. Paul Higbee "YZF750RR" (Mablethorpe, Lincs. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was no suprise to find the director was Mr Mann, as the filming, or if you call it photography, was stylish and had great impact on the presentation of the storey. I knew him from the earlier days of Mimai Vice.
The storey line was great, the acting and dialogue were strong and well directed. There was dark elements mixed with humour and romance. We rented it and were royally entertained. Sit back and watch with movie, it's pace changes thoughout the film and has twists along the way. Happy viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Collateral, 25 Feb 2005
Brilliantly atmospheric photography, capturing the seediness of downtown LA. Cruise suitably stylish, complete with badger grey hair but it is Jamie Foxx who steals the movie. His character, slightly Walter Mittyish,works brilliantly against Cruise's amoral assassin character. Good plot but slightly disappointing ending. Overall very watchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Taxi Drivers worst nightmare... But what a film!, 13 Jan 2005
After seeing this movie it is hard to beleive that some were put off it by the fact that cruise plays the villian. Indeed Cruise delivers one of his greatest performances to date as a ruthless human-first Killer-second manhunter, who hijacks the taxi off Max, Brilliantly played by Jamie Foxx. However this movies' streanth is not just in it's biseps, it is firmly a directors film and Mann excells himself, creating a picture that is both edgey, thrilling, gritty, and incredibly cool. Mann describes this film as an 'excestential drama', and most of the films dialouge does concern itself with the meaning of life (brought on by the profession of Cruises' character), but the brilliantly constructed action sequences and tense atmosphere place it squarley in the realm of the great action thrillers, it sits side by side with movies like 'the hunt for red october' and 'patriot games'. Having said this, it does sport a pridictable ending (and I mean REALLY pridictable) but this doesn't stop it from reaching that last star. You must see this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars baloney on wry, 12 Jun 2005
This review is from: Collateral - Single Disc Edition [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Though large chunks of the "Collateral" plot are preposterous, taken with a pinch of salt and tongue in cheek, it's a highly entertaining thrill ride through the streets of Los Angeles, while cab driver Jamie Foxx is taken hostage by sociopath hit man Tom Cruise. Foxx spends the night from hell as Cruise uses his cab for "work", and tries to find a way out of his predicament.
The film looks great, with lots of dazzling overhead shots of a bright lights and glitter LA, and it sounds good too, with a score by James Newton Howard, and some pleasant non-original music. There are many moments of humor with some witty lines between the two leads, who have a marvelous "anti-chemistry" between them, and director Michael Mann keeps the pace so fast, that as we zip from scene to scene, we don't fully realize how absurd the story is.
The cast is excellent; Cruise with gray hair and beard is in one of his best recent roles, and portrays the sadistic Vincent with a cool and cutting edge, and Foxx is terrific as the beleaguered cabbie Max. Both are in peak athletic shape, and do their share of some fast running. Jada Pinkett Smith is beautiful as a prosecuting attorney, but it is a thankless role, and she is not much more than a plot device. Others in the cast include Spanish actor (and new international star) Javier Bardem in a small part as Felix, Mark Ruffalo as Fanning, and Peter Berg as Weidner.
Put reasoning on hold, and you'll enjoy this splashy thriller, and what is ultimately a bizarre "buddy film".
Total running time is 120 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collateral - Single Disc Edition [DVD] [2004]
1.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews