Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best one I tried.
I got interested in crossword puzzles a year ago. Bought all the books. This is the best helper I tried. In the beginning I relied on it constantly. Now, I find that, through it, I have learned and can go it alone most of the time (which means Monday-Thursday and often on Sunday for those of you who do the NYT).
Published on 3 Sep 1999

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars not very helpful
This book is not as good as the book i had before, i have come across misspelt words and words spelt in the american way. Wish i had waited for the updated version of my previous book which i lost in a flood.
Published 22 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best one I tried., 3 Sep 1999
By A Customer
I got interested in crossword puzzles a year ago. Bought all the books. This is the best helper I tried. In the beginning I relied on it constantly. Now, I find that, through it, I have learned and can go it alone most of the time (which means Monday-Thursday and often on Sunday for those of you who do the NYT).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hardly ever fails, 20 Jan 1999
By A Customer
We bougth the fifth editon back in 1986. The pages are worn thin, and have separated from the spine but we can't be without it.The BEST book of its kind available to ardent crossworders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best in its genre!, 11 Jan 1997
By A Customer
I have not found a crossword puzzle dictionary which compares.
The words included are highly relevant and they are
nicely organized into logical categories and subcategories.
Even the Swanfeldt dictionary
doesn't guarantee success with the NY Times crossword puzzle,
but it will give you a fighting chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor unreliable description., 10 July 2014
By 
F. Draper "paperbackmaniac" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Not as described, old, dirty and smelled of cigarette smoke, went in bin - hopefully had my money returned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great little book. It is the third one we have had. They fall apart with so much use and my mother at 87 swears it is the best one she has ever had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Perfect, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book for crossword puzzle addicts. My old one was literally falling apart and was so pleased to find another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crossword Dictionary, 18 Oct 2013
By 
Bill Fry (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent crossword dictionary, but the the binding leads me to believe it will not last very long
Bill Fry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Abridged version, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really helpful book for a crossword fanatic. But I didn't realize is was an abridged version - also the printing is tiny and not so easy to read. Some lists for words have been left out - I know this as I have the original version but as this was falling to pieces with so much use I decided to replace it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not very helpful, 18 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is not as good as the book i had before, i have come across misspelt words and words spelt in the american way. Wish i had waited for the updated version of my previous book which i lost in a flood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crossword puzzle dictionary
Crossword puzzle dictionary by Andrew Swanfeldt (Unknown Binding - 1944)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews