Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great collection.
This is a non-stop collection of great memories for me which I would heartily recommend. All the best bits are here and includes the Cliff Richard contribution. What's not to like?
Published 9 months ago by robert mccall

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What's The Point???
Bottom is without doubt one of the best comedies of the 90's, but this DVD seems to be meaningless, yes it does show some of the best bits of all Rik and Ade have done. But if you are a Bottom fan you'll have all the DVD's and videos so this DVD is just a cash in. Buy it if you are a first time watcher but otherwise I wouldn't waste your money!
Published on 29 May 2005 by fanny321


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What's The Point???, 29 May 2005
This review is from: Bottom: Mindless Violence - The Very Best Of The Violent Bits [DVD] (DVD)
Bottom is without doubt one of the best comedies of the 90's, but this DVD seems to be meaningless, yes it does show some of the best bits of all Rik and Ade have done. But if you are a Bottom fan you'll have all the DVD's and videos so this DVD is just a cash in. Buy it if you are a first time watcher but otherwise I wouldn't waste your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Punch lines" without jokes, 11 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Bottom: Mindless Violence - The Very Best Of The Violent Bits [DVD] (DVD)
I've been a big Rick & Ade fan for 20 years, "Young Ones," "Filthy Rich," "Bottom," etc. Rick & Ade are funny because they put themselves into awkward, ironic, and tasteless situations which become triggerpoints for their unconventional slapstick comedy. This DVD is what it purports to be, a compendium of material from the early days to present. However, it is a comedy equivalent to reading the phonebook so you can say you know everyone in town. Context is missing. There is no comic timing. It boils down to incident after incident, minute after minute, of random punches, kicks, and misused appliances, with no set-up. Could be likened to what Richie and Eddie would see if their lives flashed before them. However, probably best viewed if you are a massive Rick & Ade fan, know the material, and are told you have 2 hours left to live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bottom: Mindless DVD, 4 Jan 2005
This review is from: Bottom: Mindless Violence - The Very Best Of The Violent Bits [DVD] (DVD)
Bottom, in my opinion, is one of the best BBC comedies ever, as is the Young Ones, and Guest House Paradiso is a work of genius. Still, this DVD completely dissappoints. The Mayall/Edmondson comedies were made up of the fights and the jokes, and this compilation contains only one ingredient of the mix which made the series' so brilliant.
It contains scenes from:
The Young Ones, The Comic Strip Presents..., Bottom, each Bottom Live show and others.
It could be great, with maybe a few interviews, outtakes, the usual DVD stuff, but it has none. No extras at all.
I'm glad I got it as a present, because had I wasted my money on it I would have been very upset.
A better purchase would be The Best of Bottom or The Young Ones, and Guest House Paradiso is a must own for every Bottom fan, but take my advice, if you enjoy Bottom, this will utterly dissappoint you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The DVD has you laughing for the first 30 mins then slows down., 17 July 2006
By 
W. A. Thomson "wthomson11" (Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bottom: Mindless Violence - The Very Best Of The Violent Bits [DVD] (DVD)
I love the violent comedy of Rik and Ade and I have even meet Rik Mayall. But this DVD is very funny for 30 mins then when the part of Bottom comes on it just repeats itself even though I like Bottom. By the time it gets to 60 mins I get fed up with the DVD and put it off.

It would have been a lot better if the disc contained Extras like an episode of Bottom, an episode of The Young Ones and an episode of Filthy, Rich and Catflap. Also a doc about Rik and Ade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great collection., 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bottom: Mindless Violence - The Very Best Of The Violent Bits [DVD] (DVD)
This is a non-stop collection of great memories for me which I would heartily recommend. All the best bits are here and includes the Cliff Richard contribution. What's not to like?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars recommended for any fan of rik & ade, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bottom: Mindless Violence - The Very Best Of The Violent Bits [DVD] (DVD)
don't understand the bad reviews of this dvd a must buy for fans off the show complete with outtakes from older programs something to remember rick by .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT THE BEST DVD I HAVE BOUGHT, 21 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bottom: Mindless Violence - The Very Best Of The Violent Bits [DVD] (DVD)
Bottom mindless violence is a dvd that is rated 15, and was released in 2004.
As a massive fan of bottom live and the series I decided to purchase this for myself from amazon and paid just over a £1, I have to say that im glad I paid no more for this as it isn't very good, yes their are a few good clips that made me laugh but there were also clips from other shows that I have never seen or heard of.
I did enjoy about 15 minutes of this dvd in total and it runs for over 2 hours, I wouldn't advise anyone to buy this even at such a low price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good, but a bit pointless....., 23 Dec 2005
This review is from: Bottom: Mindless Violence - The Very Best Of The Violent Bits [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a great fan of the Bottom shows, but this seemed a little pointless. It's basically a collaboration of fights from all the shows of Bottom, with a bit of 'the young ones' thrown in for good measure.
I wouldn't buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slapstick Fun!, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bottom: Mindless Violence - The Very Best Of The Violent Bits [DVD] (DVD)
Compilation of clips from all of Rik and Ade's shows, The Young Ones, Bottom, The Dangerous Brothers and many more. Lots of laughs for the lovers of slapstick comedy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wild and Violent Comedy At Its Very Finest, 30 Dec 2004
By 
Adam Cox (Blackpool, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bottom: Mindless Violence - The Very Best Of The Violent Bits [DVD] (DVD)
On this DVD, the careers of comedy veterans Adrian Edmondson and Rik Mayall are shown from their early days to the present day. A reminder of where it all began when the duo were in anarchic 80's classic The Young Ones playing students Rik and Vivian, comes first. Followed by other shows the duo have appeared in such as Mr Jolly Lives Next Door (A Comic Strip Show) and The Dangerous Boys. Then of course comes Bottom. My personal favourite show the duo have done so far. Uniquely collaborating anarchic comedy with unbeatable slapstick violence, Bottom is a true comedy classic. The DVD showcases the finest moments of each of these shows brilliantly and shows clips from the excellent Guest House Paradiso, feature film and some footage from their Bottom Live shows. Overall, an unmissable experience for any fan of wild and/or violent comedy, I thoroughly recommend this DVD to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bottom: Mindless Violence - The Very Best Of The Violent Bits [DVD]
£2.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews