Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a Lovely, Angelic, Music, Baby!
Gwen Stefani's solo album L.A.M.B. was expected to be a great hit, and so it is! Many of the top world producers have worked on it (Dr. Dre, Tony Canal, Andre 3000 etc.) and they have done a great job! If you are a No Doubt fan, you probably won't like this album. However, it's not Britney Spears neither, although all the tracks have been carefully planned. There are so...
Published on 13 Sep 2005 by Nikola

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Gwen
All the tracks you recognise from back when this came out, some of the less know songs are quite electronic/ have an urban feel to them. the product arrived early which is always a bonus
Published 10 months ago by WA91


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a Lovely, Angelic, Music, Baby!, 13 Sep 2005
Gwen Stefani's solo album L.A.M.B. was expected to be a great hit, and so it is! Many of the top world producers have worked on it (Dr. Dre, Tony Canal, Andre 3000 etc.) and they have done a great job! If you are a No Doubt fan, you probably won't like this album. However, it's not Britney Spears neither, although all the tracks have been carefully planned. There are so many different musical influences on this album- for the fans of pop, there are songs like "What You Waiting For?", "Rich Girl", "Serious", "Danger Zone", etc. and fans of rock, techno and house will enjoy "Bubble Pop Electric" and "Long Way To Go". There are also some surprises (both good and bad) in form of funky songs like "Hollaback Girl", "Cool", and especially "Harajuku Girls". If you are into something fresh, what you waiting for? Buy this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, very much a modern day madonna!, 11 Aug 2005
By 
Ms. A. Chopra "anitachopra6684" (Ilford,essex,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Angel Music Baby (Audio CD)
I never expected to like Gwen Stefani's music - i didn't like "What you waiting for", although the Alice in Wonderland video was inspired. And that is what the majority of this album is - inspired, by many factors. Stefani deals with style ("Harajuku girls"), race ("Long Way to Go"), love ("The Real Thing", "Cool"), stereotypes ("Hollaback Girl", "Bubble Pop Electric"), and the rnb breakowns are a sort of cooling down. To be honest, it really works well. The fact that she resembles Madonna in some songs (e.g. "Serious") is deja vu in a good sense, because it's about time we had a female blonde star who knew what she was singing about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THUMBS UP, GWEN!, 25 Dec 2005
By 
This review is from: Love Angel Music Baby (Audio CD)
I've always liked Gwen Stefani and here's my review of the album:
1) What You Waiting For? 5/5 A single we all know by her, it was a massive success and probably my favourite song by her. The 'tick-tocks' make it sound even better! Well done Gwen.
2) Rich Girl 4/5 not as good as the one before, but still quite good, a nice combination with Eve. A good, dance-to song.
3) Hollaback Girl 5/5 a great song with Gwen's distinctive vocals ringing thru. Another single, released 23rd May, it was a big success and another big success for Gwen.
4) Cool 5/5 one of my personal favourites, a beautiful ballad about Gwen's partner and how they turned into simple but good friends. The 4th single, it was released 29th August, and though it wasn't a massive success, it's still a lovely song.
5) Bubble Pop Electric 3.5/5 an interesting song about Gwen and her lover. A little odd, with dancing tunes and a bit of rapping.
6) Luxurious 4/5 the 5th and final single, out 5th December. Quite a cool song, the lyrics are very enjoyable and funny. Thumbs up!
7) Harajaku Girls 3/5 not a very well-made song, Gwen mentions 'Harajuku girls' all through the CD. Quite good, but very boring after a while.
8) Crash 3/5 an OK song that isn't bad or good.
9) The Real Thing 5/5 a song that I LOVE. Should've been a single, in my opinion.
10) Serious 3/5 not bad, not good, like 'Crash'.
11) Danger Zone 3.5/5 fairly good, Gwen's vocals are good on this one.
12) Long Way to Go 2/5 the weakest track on the CD, I don't like this song very much. A bad way to end the album.
13) Real Thing Remix 4/5 quite a good song, one bonus track.
14) What You Waiting For Remix 5/5 a GREAT song, just as good as the 1st.
OVERALL: a brilliant album, 100/100.
BEST SONGS: What You Waiting For, Hollaback Girl, Cool, Real Thing
WORST SONGS: Serious, Long Way to Go, Crash
A great cd, a must-have in my opinion!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's like the last 20 years never happened..., 24 Nov 2004
This review is from: Love Angel Music Baby (Audio CD)
For a No Doubt fan, this album is a bit of a shock. Whether it's a good or a bad shock, I don't really know...
For any No Doubt fans reading this, the nearest album I can equate 'Love Angel Music Baby' to is 'Rock Steady'. But imagine an album about a hundred times more hyperactive than 'Rock Steady'and you have Gwen's first (kind of) solo outing.
The album is undoubtably a grower. I've listened to it about 4 times through since getting it a couple of days ago and the tracks are only just about beginning to seep into my brain. Initially, I was slightly taken aback after being completely bombarded by Eighties style pop music. As I was only born in the mid 80's, this album was like nothing I'd ever heard before.Only now am I really beginning to differentiate between the tracks...Stand out songs include the first single 'What you Waiting For', 'Hollaback Girl' and my favourite, 'Bubble Pop Electric'.
This album is at its best during the faster, more exciteable songs. Gwen is lyrically and vocally confident, cool and sultry and that makes a real change from the majority of No Doubt albums where she is far more confessional and wears her heart on her sleeve. There is not a lot of that here.
Gwen Stefani has collaborated wisely on this album, Eve, The Neptunes and Andre 3000 amongst others are involved. Their involvement further distances 'Love Angel Music Baby' from anything Gwen did with No Doubt. The only disappointing song is 'A Long Way To Go' with Andre 3000. It's a song about inter-racial relationships which, however well-intentioned it may be,is slightly embarrassing and a bit boring. However, Andre 3000 did co-write 'Bubble Pop Electric', so I'll let him off...
The album is generally good and fun, it might just take No Doubt fans a little while to get used to it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of 80's pop, all on one record with a modern edge, 13 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Love Angel Music Baby (Audio CD)
This album is really great, with no bad songs at all. The worst it gets is with 'A Long Way to Go', but when you get past the excruciatingly cliched first few lines, the song isn't actually too bad.
The best songs are 'What You Waiting For?', 'Hollaback Girl', 'Bubble Pop Electric', 'Crash' and 'Danger Zone', very closely followed by the likes of 'Rich Girl' and 'Serious'. The others are also very great.
This is definitely inspired by Madonna and other 80's pop, but being born during the 80's, I do not know who else specifically. However, this album is more like a greatest hits collection, and all songs have a different feel and style. An amazing album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun dance record from the versatile Gwen, 18 April 2005
This review is from: Love Angel Music Baby (Audio CD)
This album has come as a big shock to No Doubt fans but just because Gwen has experimented with a different style, this album should not be dismissed.
She says she originally set out to make a dance record, and she has most definitely achieved it. Many of the tracks are reminiscent of the 80s, and you'll probably be singing along to most of them with the second/third listening.
There are a few outstanding tracks on this album, most notably the smash-hit "What You Waiting For?", which is one the best pop songs to be released in 2004. Other stand-out tracks on this album are "Rich Girl" (which has also been released as a single), "Bubble Pop Electric" and "Crash". However, my favourite track of the album has to be "Hollaback Girl", which is the next single to be released from the album. Gwen collaborates with legendary producer-duo, the Neptunes, on this track. The outcome is a minimal beat with a tuba synth, and Gwen chanting a cheerleader anthem over the top. The lyrics aren't particularly deep, but that isn't the point; it's an infectious "attitude" song that is expertly produced by the Neptunes.
The album has a couple of filler tracks, which is why I gave it four stars, but these don't detract from the album as a whole. The main appeal of the record is that it's quirky, inventive in some ways, and very easy to listen to. I would recommend this record to everyone, but with a reminder that this a different Gwen from the lead-singer of No Doubt, so approach it with an open mind.
Gwen wanted to make a fun, dance record; this album does exactly that, and in an original and creative way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gwen's Undoubtedly a Star, 2 Dec 2004
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Angel Music Baby (Audio CD)
The opening track "What You Waiting For?" splashes the listener with a refreshing burst of energy, Stefani-style, and never stops bubbling from there.
After the first "tick tock" gets your heart pumping, Gwen brings in Eve to raise the temperature with "Rich Girl" (produced by Dr. Dre), a bouncy number that will have you heading for the nearest dance floor.
What follows is a fizzy pop explosion, compliments of the Neptunes, Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis, Tony Kanal and the ever funky Andre 3000.
Gwen thoughtfully inserts some slower numbers to keep cardiac arrest at bay, with "Cool", reminiscent of The Cars; "Luxurious", which samples the Isley Brothers' "Between the Sheets"; "Serious", which could have been an early Madonna hit; and "The Real Thing", clearly inspired by Cyndi Lauper's "Time After Time".
The closing "Long Way to Go" would be at home on any Outkast album, with it's madcap mixed rhythms and weird beat.
Collaborating with some of the freshest minds in music, Gwen delivers an eclectic mix of fun, guaranteed to please many people on your gift list.
Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just wait til u get your hands on L.A.M.B!!, 10 Jan 2005
By 
Mr. Pr Merrett "paulos_1" (Madrid) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Angel Music Baby (Audio CD)
This album is great great great!!!
It can be hard to find good pop albums today. Alot of them are just rubbish. I waited for this solo album cos I think Gwen is so cool! But if this album was bad, I would have been disappointed, but its definately not and I'm definately not disappointed!!!
My personal favourites are Hollaback girl, Crash and Serious. I bet there will be sooooo many massive singles on this album!
Be warned that this isn't a no doubt album minus the band. The sound is different that most of what she has done with the band, but then saying that, No doubts sound was never really homogenous anyway.
This album is POP, but its truly fun, and serious at times too. Gwen is a great artist and a great star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved Angel Music Baby!, 26 July 2006
By 
A. Dobbs "anne" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Angel Music Baby (Audio CD)
Love Angel Music Baby is a cheerful, cheesy album. It has an upbeat, vaguely eighties pop sound. This isn't serious music,and it's not supposed to be. The Lyrics mainly concern Gwen's riches and blokes, but they're catchy and easy to sing along to.

the best way to describe this album is: good fun. The songs aren't meaningful, but they're entertaining. All of the songs have have their merits, but the most memorable are What'cha waiting for, Hollaback girl and Rich Girl. Basically, the ones she released, and if you liked those, give the album a shot.

The only tracks I would criticise are the annoying Long Way to Go, and pointless remix of What'ca Waiting For on the end of the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original and vibrant, 26 Nov 2004
This review is from: Love Angel Music Baby (Audio CD)
This album is boldly and stylishly produced. No doubt Stefani can sing!! I am a musucian and I listen to an eclectic mix of music, ranging from Early and Classical music to dance, pop,rock and even Metal. I heard and saw on TV the single "What you waiting for" and thought that it's catchy and unusual. It has a lot of energy with delibarate and wacky images bombarding you constantly. I love it!
And what about the "Pseudo Madona" rubbish!? Stefani is a much better singer folks, you better believe it!
Buy this album with confidence, it will lift your spirits up, guaranteed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love Angel Music Baby
Love Angel Music Baby by Gwen Stefani (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews