Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars38
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 27 November 2004
I saw Bridget Jones on the day it was released and was very impressed with the soundtrack, which is used perfectly throughout the film. I don't often buy soundtracks but this had so many good songs on it I thought it was worth the money. There is a variety of songs on here to suit everyone -from old classics to new songs from some of the best modern artists.
The first song on the album is the best - Will Young's version of Your Love is King. His brilliant voice is shown off to its best on this track. It is perfectly suited to him and his version is better than the original in my view - really heartfelt. Other standout tracks are from Joss Stone, The Darkness (brings back great memories of the hilarious fight scene!), Carly Simon and Beyonce.
One of the highlights is another cover, Amy Winehouse's version of Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow? This is a classy reworking of this song and Winehouse's voice is perfect for it. Mary J Blige also does a strong cover of Elton's Sorry Seems to be the Hardest Word, though it is acoustic and lacks the power of the original. This is the one song that sounded better in the film and disappointed slightly on the album. However, there is really something for everyone on here - rock, RnB, soul, jazz and pop. This is worth a listen even if you don't like the film.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2004
Having thoroughly enjoyed the last Bridget Jones film and accompanying soundtrack, I was eagerly awaiting this one, and I was definitely not disappointed!! The opening cover version of "Your Love is King" by Will Young is gorgeous, and this album is worth buying for that and also the beautifully haunting "I Eat Dinner (When the Hungers Gone)" by Rufus Wainwright and Dido. The melody lingers with you for ages afterwards (as does the lyric about eating mashed potatoes!!) There is something for everyone on this album from the classic 70's hits of "I'm not in love" by 10cc and "Nobody does it Better" by Carly Simon right through to the new kids on the block namely the super duper Joss Stone and Jamie Cullum.
So go on, crack open a bottle of Chardonnay, grab your very own Mark Darcy/Daniel Cleaver, and dance your heart out round the front room to the likes of Kylie, The Darkness and Beyonce!! And in true Bridget fashion, sing all the heartbreakers as loud and as proud as you can! You know you want to!!!!!!
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2004
this sound track is fabulous, it has jazzy songs on for girly nights and gorgeous love songs on to get you in the mood for romance, i particually love will youngs version of Your Love Is King, sang with the voice of an angel he leaves you feeling breathless. brilliant album.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2005
this cd is as good as the 1st briget jones one! though perhaps with less classics. contains beautiful new songs like jamelia, will young, joss stone, robbie...the list continues! also there are relatively new songs that have quickly become adored....beyonce's crazy in love, the darkness. There's even a bit of Barry White!perfect soundtrack to bridget jones 2 and essential for any fans. maybe a great cd for valentines day? if its romantic tunes you're after, this cd has it. 9 out of 10. i would recommend it to anyone.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2008
This is a pretty predictable soundtrack for Bridget Jones 2, mixing the usual smoothie suspects (Barry White, 10cc, Carly Simon) with contemporary chart toppers (Jamelia, Kylie Minogue, Beyonce). And yet there are some spectacular new recordings, in particular Amy Winehouse's superb, emotive cover of "Will you still love me tomorrow" - something to savour amidst the absence of any new material from her. Rufus Wainwright sings one of his mother's songs beautifully (although Dido sounds like she's reading out a menu in her self-conscious solo). And with "Misunderstood" Robbie Williams provides a surprisingly good confessional ("Trying to be misunderstood / Just a product of my childhood..."). These three tunes lend the soundtrack an authenticity gallingly lacking in the majority of the cover versions included. Do we really need to hear Jamelia trying to imitate Sam Brown on "Stop" or Will Young doing a Sade cover (especially when he fails to recreate any of the sexy steamy atmosphere of the original)? What, it might be asked, is the point of doing covers when they add nothing to the originals? The number of artists who have genuinely managed to fill old bottles with new wine are few and far between - e.g. Jeff Buckley's rendition of Cohen's "Hallelujah", Cat Power's Jukebox album or Vandross' rendition of Sam Cooke's "A Change is Gonna Come" - but that doesn't stop record companies churning out the blandest covers imaginable year after year (see Jamie Cullum's "Everlasting Love" on this album).

In spite of the hidden delights of Winehouse, Wainwright and Williams, this is a soundtrack playing it all too (commercially) safe.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2004
Films dont come any better than Bridget Jones, and the soundtrack to the edge of reason is fantastic as well. Will Young blows my mind with his cover version of Your Love is King... is there anything this guy cant pull off to an unreachable standard? other brilliant tracks are Jamelias cover of Stop, and Mary J Bliges cover of sorry seems to be the hardest word. These 3 tracks send shivers down my spine!!
Fantastic Album!! :-)
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2004
I just saw Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason, and I immediately went out and bought the soundtrack. I was thrilled to see Joss Stone, Robbie Williams, Beyoncé and Carly Simon were all part of the tracks. I especially like 'Your Love is King', by Will Young. It perfectly fits how Bridget and Mark feel for each other!
This, along with the first Bridget Jones soundtrack, is a must own!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2004
The ultimate feel good movie of the year obviously has to produce to ultimate soundtrack. With the perfectly placed 10cc 'I'm not in love' to the upbeat Barry White, this soundtrack gives you exactly what you want and come to expect from a chick flick. I only wish that bridget was up for an oscar!!! Relive the moment with this CD.....I only wish that madonna's 'like a virgin' was on it, that film totally reinvented that song for me.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
I had been searching for the particular version and arrangement by Amy Winehouse of Will you still love me tomorrow that we had heard watching Aaron Sorkin's the Newsroom ? This cd has it
Was good to find a couple of other songs I liked too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2009
I read that the British version was better and ordered it. I tend to like the sound of brit band melodies. We may not have as good exposure to them here in the US. I love the DVD and the CD especially during the lulls in my love life!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.