Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Television series for years
Hustle is a truly brilliant piece of british drama. The cast are all fantatstic is there roles, acting a very well writen script. The only problem with the DVD set is the episodes have been cut by about six minitues per episode. I cannot see why this has been done. Apart from that little gripe and the fact the DVD does not contain many extras, just one documentary split...
Published on 23 April 2005 by shreeve

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly as expected
Hustle Season 1 was a great series and the episodes shown on TV prompted me to buy this DVD. On the whole its a good DVD with some good extras such as interviews with the cast etc. and is well worth buying if you are a fan of the show. The only downside is that the episodes have been slightly shortrned but no key scenes are missed so this is not too much of a problem.
Published on 9 July 2005 by M. Dunn


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE BRILLIANT HUSTLE ON DVD !!!, 16 Mar 2006
By 
NEO "Daren" (orpington kent) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hustle : Complete BBC Series 1 [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
Yes the Con is on with this fresh and cheeky series written and created by Tony Jordon. With a brilliant cast starring Adrian Lester as 'Micky Bricks' who essembles a team to con the greedy millionaires and businessmen. It also stars screen legend Robert Vaughn who plays 'Albert Stroller' who is the 'Roper' of the gang. We have the very sexy Jamie Murray as 'Stacey malone' who is a Grifter. And 'Fixer' Ashley Morgan played so well by Robert Glenister and last but not least Danny Blue who is also a fellow Grifter who wants to lead the gang. This series is a joy to see and the clever twists at the end of the show is a revelation !. I hope this series continues for many years as it's the best show on the BBC in many a long year. As for the Dvd we get a short documentary , but the episodes are cut to only 52 minutes which was a surprise. But this is still a great buy for anyone who likes true new and modern drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars People that are giving 1-2 stars.... what are you watching?, 6 April 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Hustle : Complete BBC Series 1 [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
You must certainly not be watching the most brilliant series to hit the bbc in some time. Hustle - The Con is on. The fantastic cast have made hustle what it is. Adrian Lecester couldn't be a better part for 'Mikey Bricks' but my favorite has got to be danny blue. Fantastically played by the legend Marc Warren. Superb acting allowing some great comedy as well as the technical side to every episode. Series 3 is on screens now, until easter sunday i belive, which is good but i will still have to rate series 2 as the best. Hustle 1,2, and 3 when it comes out is a must buy. WARNING: after watching you may be tempted to con someone (as hustle makes it look so easy to do)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 May 2006
By 
M. O. HAYNES "couch magpie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hustle : Complete BBC Series 1 [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
This series oozes quality, thought and style and if I had to say one bad thing about it I would have to say that the female character is not particularly 'strong' and seems to be in just for eye-candy at some points.

Having just watched series three I have to say this is well worth repeat viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this show but..., 1 Sep 2005
By 
This review is from: Hustle : Complete BBC Series 1 [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
I love Hustle but I don't want to get this DVD with the cuts in it. I know some of the the uncut DVD's have been issued but I was wondering if you need to buy the edited version to have it replaced. any news would be most appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars be aware it's a 15, 11 Feb 2011
This review is from: Hustle : Complete BBC Series 1 [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
Just thought parents might like to be aware that despite the picture, this arrives as a certificate 15 not a PG (admittedly Amazon make this clear in the details, but not in the picture as at the time of writing). I believe this is because, unlike some of the older reviews below suggest, Amazon are no longer sending out the cut, shorter version that was shown in the US. It's my understanding that this is now the full version. It's still a great series of course but we were surprised when we found out if was a 15.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite there but perhaps I'm nitpicking, 22 April 2005
This review is from: Hustle : Complete BBC Series 1 [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
There are perhpas two major flaws with Hustle which otherwise is a fresh, interesting, well-researched and very well acted piece of drama. Firstly, there is a fine balance between suspending disbelief in the name of drama or poetic licence and just plain incredible. On too many occasions, Hustle drifted uncontrollably into the realms of the somewhat daft. Whilst the plotlines were just about acceptable the means by which some of the cons were executed just seemed to stretch the boundaries of what the audience could believe in the context of a relatively serious show beyond breaking point. Perhaps much of the show is tongue-in-cheek - if so its presentation can tend towards the serious too often if that was its aim. It attempts to be all things to all people and does not quite get there. But in many ways it is still achieves more than most dramas I have watched emerge from the various English studios in recent years. Secondly, six episodes is simply not enough to get into the characters and as such, the legitimate forming of complex relationships is lost in the maelstrom of trying to get it all in in time. That said, it is well worth a look and a firm basis for a solid, complex, interesting and well-crafted second season has been laid. The cons thus far, both the long and the short, are not only well-researched and detailed but potrayed to the audience in such a beautifully deft fashion that sometimes the rewind button sees a little too much action as you take in the details. More of that will make the second season all the more enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hustle : Complete BBC Series 1 [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars check-out Hustle, 7 Sep 2009
By 
julie "jules35" (Brighton,England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hustle : Complete BBC Series 1 [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
Brill price,delivery time and the DVD is as good,if not better,than the series on tv.I'm very pleased with the whole service that's been provided!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hustle series 1, 16 Mar 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hustle : Complete BBC Series 1 [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
I was very pleased to get this as it was in very good condition and prompt. We enjoyed watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 2 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Hustle : Complete BBC Series 1 [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD was in very poor condition. It is so scratched that I can't even watch two of the six episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hustle : Complete BBC Series 1 [2004] [DVD]
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews