Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Television series for years
Hustle is a truly brilliant piece of british drama. The cast are all fantatstic is there roles, acting a very well writen script. The only problem with the DVD set is the episodes have been cut by about six minitues per episode. I cannot see why this has been done. Apart from that little gripe and the fact the DVD does not contain many extras, just one documentary split...
Published on 23 April 2005 by shreeve

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly as expected
Hustle Season 1 was a great series and the episodes shown on TV prompted me to buy this DVD. On the whole its a good DVD with some good extras such as interviews with the cast etc. and is well worth buying if you are a fan of the show. The only downside is that the episodes have been slightly shortrned but no key scenes are missed so this is not too much of a problem.
Published on 9 July 2005 by M. Dunn


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Episodes are cut to 52 mins, 18 April 2005
This review is from: Hustle : Complete BBC Series 1 [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
Having got more details of this dvd set from other sites its clear that these episodes have been cut to 52 mins. This version of the series was created for the non uk market (where they want space to add Ads and still get 1 hour episodes). The Uk (of course) had the full 1 hour episodes.
It is an excellent series - but the DVd has butchered episodes.
Very disppointed! Was really looking forward to this series to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The con is on, 31 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Hustle : Complete BBC Series 1 [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
This is most probably one of the most exciting, intelligently funny and well written dramas ever made in my opinion. I may not be ancient but I can't see much beating this. If you have ever seen "Oceans eleven" it is a very similar sort of show but with stronger characters and in my eyes better storylines in every episode. There are five main characters
Mickey - The leader of the gang, very clever and master of the long con.
Danny - The "newbie" in the group, very funny, cocky and the master of the short con.
Stacey - The beatiful woman. She often goes undercover and ropes in the target.
Ash - The technicion of the group finds ways around security and often acts as a plumber, builder etc.
Albert - The experienced one. He gives the group all of its knowledge and is good at making friends which comes in handy. Also he is always up for a game of blackjack and likes wagers.
All in all Hustle is a great show for everybody. It is very sophisticated; to much so for my mum in places. A must have and a great drama.
P.s "you must never con an innocent person" The gang always have a motive e.g A man cons danny's mum; solution, con him back.
"The true art of the con is to con a fellow grifter who is expecting to be conned" as said by Albert in the third series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This series rocks, 12 April 2005
By 
C. Lewis "Jerrygerl" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hustle : Complete BBC Series 1 [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a brilliant series, the cast are excellent. The stories will keep you guessing. The series reminds me of one the the top class shows that come out of America, but it's better as it's home grown talent that has created the series. I'm sure it will be snapped up in america soon. If you buy this dvd you will definately not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Show On The BBC!, 12 April 2005
This review is from: Hustle : Complete BBC Series 1 [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
Stylish,Funny and Smart. It is just brilliant easily the best programme I have ever seen. The casting is excellent, the storys amazing. some people say this is similar to Oceans 11 and I agree only this is better. Words cant give this proggramme the justie it deserves!
BUY IT NOW!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE BIGGEST TWIST IS THIS IS GREAT TV DRAMA FROM THE UK!, 11 April 2005
This review is from: Hustle : Complete BBC Series 1 [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
Simply the best UK TV Drama Series in the last twenty years. Slick, well acted, beautifully plotted and executed with a real sense of confidence (if you'll pardon the pun). This is, if there are any TV execs reading this, what the general public are gasping for. Can we please have more TV that isn't tedious please! Buy 'Hustle' and enjoy a show that oozes real quality and who knows? -- it might come back into fashion. Now that really would be a great twist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Con is On... DVD!, 4 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Hustle : Complete BBC Series 1 [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
The rules of the game, you cannot cheat an honest man and do not have something in your life which you cannot walk away from in a second.
If you liked Oceans 11 the you'll definatly like this. Hustle takes us on a journey into the life of Mickey Bricks (Micheal Stone), a con man released from prison after serving a sentence for GBH. He soon assembles together a team of intelligent con men like himself and embark on a series of missions aimed at taking out the bad men and earn money in the process.
This DVD is not to be missed as characters such as Stacey, Danny and Albert will keep you amused for hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One to watch!, 10 Feb 2012
By 
J Bate (Hartlepool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hustle : Complete BBC Series 1 [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
This series really is great. The whole ensomble helps make it and i think this cast is the best the series has or will ever have as the series continues on a down hill spiral. If you are a new to Hustle I would suggest getting Series 1, 2, and 3 and leaving it there. In this first series all the characters and marks are utterly believable and you wont turn the dvd off until youve watched the lot I promise you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hit the ground running, 5 Sep 2009
By 
Mutt (Ankara, Turkey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hustle : Complete BBC Series 1 [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
Jordan and co. kick off the premier season in style that despite some early wobbles quickly settles down into a stable format with it's focus firmly on new boy Warren and his struggle to find his place in the established team leading to emotional turmoil by the season's end and the promise of more fireworks to follow.

Lester quickly establishes himself as a charismatic central presence for the series while Glenister, Murray and Vaughn easily slot into place around him, and Warren demonstrates early star quality portraying the split allegiances of his flawed but fascinating character.

The creators have an obvious hit on their hand from the very outset and feel at ease to push their experiments with the curious fourth wall breaking series style that causes the early episodes waver in quality but as the season progresses and the need to prove themselves diminishes the series settles down into an enjoyable format.

Sometimes the desire for perfection can be interpreted as criticism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic entertainment, 9 July 2007
By 
S. Pope (Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hustle : Complete BBC Series 1 [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
I watched the first series of Hustle by accident when it came out on TV a few years ago - and boy was I glad I did! This has got to be one of the best series around at the moment. Funny, glamorous, slick and brilliantly written and acted. I agree with a previous reviewer who said it was like Ocean's 11 - but with cleverer plots in my opinion and more humour. I bought this DVD for my husband but have enjoyed watching it again as much as he did - one episode right after the other! I'll be ordering series 2 very shortly...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great drama and fun a must for all family viewing., 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hustle : Complete BBC Series 1 [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
Great fun to watch excellent storylines, brilliant cast, has you hooked as soon as you watch the first episode, only time when the baddies become the goodies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hustle : Complete BBC Series 1 [2004] [DVD]
5.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews