Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Hitchcock, 13 Nov 2007
This review is from: Hitchcock DVD Collection - Dial M For Murder / I Confess / Stage Fright / The Wrong Man / Strangers On A Train / North By Northwest (DVD)
North by Northwest is one of Hitchcock's great thrillers. Cary Grant and Eva Marie Saint star. The mistaken identity plot plays well to Grants strengths as the man confused by the insistence of others that he is George Kaplan, the mysterious spy. The balance between thriller and comedy is very well judged. The look of this movie is the key to its success along with the many set pieces. The frantic struggle of Grant against the hood's attempts to pour a bottle of scotch down his throat conveys real violence and panic.

I Confess is better remembered for its star, Montgomery Clift, than as one of Hitchcock's great movies but it is still powerful stuff. The theme is a strong one that has been copied and adapted elsewhere. Clift's character has to wrestle with his conscience after a murderer reveals his crimes in the confessional. This could, in less experienced hands turn this into more of a melodrama

The Wrong Man - is based on the book The True Story of Christopher Emmanuel Balestrero by Maxwell Anderson. Henry Fonda is fantastic alongside and excellent Vera Miles never stooping to melodrama this is powerful stuff. Fonda clam insistence on his innocence with a certain lack of emotion, the bulk of which is focussed on Miles, is compelling.

I am a fan of Stage Fright for its atmosphere and tensions. It explores the common Hitchockian theme of the wanted man trying to prove his innocence. Eve Gill (Jane Wyman), an aspiring young actress, shelters a fellow acting student, Jonathan Cooper (Richard Todd), from the police. He is suspected of murdering the husband of his mistress, Charlotte Inwood (Marlene Dietrich who plays the dangerous seductress that she so often played), he claims that he became implicated only when he tried to help Charlotte destroy the evidence. This movie has lots of classic Hitchcock's twists and turns and the level of suspense and tension is kept high throughout.

Dial M for Murder - Grace Kelly, Ray Milland and Robert Cummings. Filmed pretty much on the single set with a few, dialogue free shots, outside the apartment and the dinner scene where the alibi is being established. This is a neat adaptation the stage play of the same title by Frederick Knot. The play premiered in 1952 as a BBC television play before being performed on the stage in the same year. Hitchcock knew and awful lot about claustrophobic sets, as also used in The Rope, and he makes a virtue out of the confined set as the key to the police understanding of the death is the limitations on access to the apartment. Milland is inspired casting as usual for Hitchcock who only experienced difficulties with "stars" later in his career with the difficulty Torn Curtain (which Andrews and Newman spoiled) and on one other occasion where he miscast Doris Day in his remake of The Man Who Knew Too Much

Strangers on a Train - Tennis player Guy Haines (Farley Granger) wants to divorce his unfaithful wife, Miriam (Rogers), in order to marry, Anne Morton (Ruth Roman). Guy meets the unstable and psychopathic Bruno Antony (Robert Walker) on a train and Bruno tells Guy about his idea to exchange murders: Bruno would kill Miriam if Guy kills Bruno's father. Guy does not take Bruno seriously Bruno murders Miriam. This plays, again, on one of Hitchcock's favorite themes of the innocent man who unwittingly gets caught up on a murder and can not go to the police without further implicating himself. Patricia Hitchcock (Alfred's daughter) plays Anne Morton's sister superbly acting as both some comedic counterpoint to the tense drama and as the stimulus to the veil of normality being briefly lifted from Bruno's public persona. The fact that she wears glasses and therefore looks similar to the murdered Miriam draws her to Bruno's attention triggering an iconic scene in the movie. The glasses play a part in another iconic scene during the murder itself and Bruno's desperate attempts to retrieve Guy's cigarette lighter from a drain is compelling. Leo G Carroll is brilliant as Anne's father. He appeared in several other Hitchcock movies, including Spellbound and North By Northwest. His great strength is the relaxed authority that he brings to the role which is required here as he is playing a senator. My only gripe with this movie is the ending. I know they grappled with how to end it and still hadn't resolved this until well into shooting the movie but to contemporary eyes a policeman carelessly shooting into a carousel with women and children onboard seems wrong. No thought is given to the poor carousel operator who is shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hitch's highs, 4 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitchcock DVD Collection - Dial M For Murder / I Confess / Stage Fright / The Wrong Man / Strangers On A Train / North By Northwest (DVD)
the masters finest films are among this set and as such worth buying, super quality of transfer as well, a definate purchase, recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitchcock DVD boxset, 26 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. Michael Thomas "Mike Thomas" (Llanelli, Carms., S.Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitchcock DVD Collection - Dial M For Murder / I Confess / Stage Fright / The Wrong Man / Strangers On A Train / North By Northwest (DVD)
As a lifelong admirer of Hitch's work this was a must have for me. Very occasionally, art and entertainment meet unforgettably on equal terms - Hitch's films are a blend in point - and in Hitch's case that overworked word "genius" is entirely appropriate. If, like me, you are a Hitch addict, acquiring this box set means you need never again suffer withdrawal symptoms. Even the colours - once fading sadly - have now been restored to pristine condition. All this, and only 1 per film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cinema that is forever, 29 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitchcock DVD Collection - Dial M For Murder / I Confess / Stage Fright / The Wrong Man / Strangers On A Train / North By Northwest (DVD)
Can't miss this collection. I can't talk about the genius of Mr Hitchcock but when I watch his film I get caught not by the story only but also by anything else that makes a film; here I can always understand the beauty of what Cinema is.
Informations about this box set are on hitchcockwiki website, by the way languages are English, Franch and Italian (IT is missing on *North by Northwest* only).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 25 Nov 2013
This review is from: Hitchcock DVD Collection - Dial M For Murder / I Confess / Stage Fright / The Wrong Man / Strangers On A Train / North By Northwest (DVD)
Had to get this for the wife for christmas as she is a big fan of the hitchcock films and.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great films from a great film-maker/, 28 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitchcock DVD Collection - Dial M For Murder / I Confess / Stage Fright / The Wrong Man / Strangers On A Train / North By Northwest (DVD)
All the films in this set are great to watch. There is a real selection of Hitchcock's different styles. There are films in black and white and colour in this set. My favourite is probably Strangers on a Train and North by Northwest. I Confess was probably the weakest for me.

Also, really enjoyed The wrong man - a really good film which I am sure to watch again, which was based on a true set of events.

Get this set if you can and want a good selection of Hitchcock films at a cheap price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The old'uns are the best, 2 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitchcock DVD Collection - Dial M For Murder / I Confess / Stage Fright / The Wrong Man / Strangers On A Train / North By Northwest (DVD)
I bought this box because it has many of my favourte movies.So far I have viewed only three of the movies and I cant find fault with them at all. The first I viewed Was Strangers On A Train. The thing that impressed me most of all about it was the quality of the digitised restoration . It was superb, absolutly pristine black and white photography. It looks as it was meant to look,the first print from the negative for the premier show. The others I have viewed are of the same quality.A must for all you 'Hitch' movie buffs and at a bargain price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitchcock the Great!!, 1 Nov 2009
This review is from: Hitchcock DVD Collection - Dial M For Murder / I Confess / Stage Fright / The Wrong Man / Strangers On A Train / North By Northwest (DVD)
Worth buying just for "Dial M for Murder" and "Strangers on a Train". Anyone who loves Hitchcock films will need no introduction to these classics, and at this price it's an absolute gift!! More like this please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitchcock DVD collection, 11 Feb 2009
By 
Bridget Arregger (Cotswolds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitchcock DVD Collection - Dial M For Murder / I Confess / Stage Fright / The Wrong Man / Strangers On A Train / North By Northwest (DVD)
I recently decided to collect some of Hitchcock's films as I do not know them well and I am interested in early cinema. In addition to the 6 box set I have also bought the 14 box set Hitchcock 14 Disc Box Set - Vertigo/ The Birds/ Rear Window/ Marnie/ Frenzy/ Topaz/ The Trouble With Harry/ Torn Curtain/ Psycho/ Family Plot/ Saboteur/ Shadow Of A Doubt/ Man Who Knew Too Much/ Rope, a used tape of Snowbound and the 3 box set 3 Classic Hitchcock Films - The 39 Steps / The Lady Vanishes / Secret Agent [1935]. I am very much enjoying all of the films and looking forward to getting to know them better. The psychology is simplistic but the films are thought-provoking, easy to watch and fun. The horror is mild compared with more modern films but some of the scenes are haunting or intriguing. I also like the extra material with information about Hitchcock and the way the scenes (e.g. The Birds) have been contrived. In particular I have learned more about interpretation by comparing Hitchcock's version of The 39 Steps with the recent BBC version and the Robert Powell version The 39 Steps [1978]. You can see that the basic plot is taken from John Buchan's original book but adapted in very different ways with various new characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitchcock DVD Collection - Dial M For Murder / I Confess / Stage Fright / The Wrong Man / Strangers On A Train / North By Northwest (DVD)
master
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews