Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You get what you pay for.
This is a high quality notebook. It is well designed. Small details have been thought out so helping you with the overall experience. There are 96 sheets of paper (192 sides or pages in marketing speak). And the paper is 90gsm; so is thicker than most notebooks. It is also high quality paper. It has a smooth feel to it. The weight and the quality means that ballpoints...
Published on 25 Jun 2010 by JFP

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not enough pages
The quality of the paper is fine, but the books are just not large enough compared with the old Ideal Collins A4 hardbacks.
Published 2 months ago by Stephen Sharp


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You get what you pay for., 25 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Black n' Red Casebound Hardback A4 Book - Ruled (Office Product)
This is a high quality notebook. It is well designed. Small details have been thought out so helping you with the overall experience. There are 96 sheets of paper (192 sides or pages in marketing speak). And the paper is 90gsm; so is thicker than most notebooks. It is also high quality paper. It has a smooth feel to it. The weight and the quality means that ballpoints used normally do not cut through to the other side; it will absorb fountain pen ink as well as other types of ink and not bleed excessively or show through to the other side of the sheet. I tested a good quality yellow highlighter and that did not bleed to the other side. The binding matches the extra weight so the book is sturdy and will not fall apart. There is enough give or slack in the binding to enable the book to be folded flat; so enabling you to write without an middle dip or "hump" and taking the strain off the spine as it is opened or shut - thereby increasing its "life". The hardback cover is thick cardboard but will take all the usual wear and tear. It is light and portable enough to carry about. After some months of carrying it around the book will start to give a "worn" look but I like that. There is a ribbon to find your place in the book. There is a date planner for a year (undated); a personal information page for contents or personal details. As well as that a map of Europe; the national rail system; the London Tube system and a useful information page e.g. comparative paper sizes/time zones. You won't go far wrong getting this Black n' Red. Perhaps the only problem is the price (hence 4 stars) but it is good quality and sometimes - yes - you get what you pay for. So if you are likely to be using daily or weekly for some months and want something that won't fall apart or if you want something to be able to store notes in a book that will last for years then this is a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality as expected, 20 Aug 2010
By 
J. Thomson (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black n' Red Casebound Hardback A4 Book - Ruled (Office Product)
I have used "Black n Red" products for many years and they always provide durable and, at the same time, professional quality media.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply The Best., 28 July 2013
This review is from: Black n' Red Casebound Hardback A4 Book - Ruled (Office Product)
In the words of the legend Tina Turner, this is 'Simply The Best', and the old saying is certainly true. You do get what you pay for.

After many years of using regular note pads I came across the Oxford Black n' Red range, and have not looked back.

I use several different styles of the Black n' Red range, this Hardback note book looks professional when attending meetings, and the ring bound ones at my desk and at home.

The pages are much brighter, smoother and thicker than regular note books. This is a big advantage for people that use traditional fountain pens or felt tip based pens, as you will be able to use both sides of the page without the other side showing through. I have also found that when using ball point pens, that the pen moves across the paper smoother than cheaper paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Pleased, 13 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black n' Red Casebound Hardback A4 Book - Ruled (Office Product)
This product is superb. The pages are beautifully sown and the overall presentation is superb. Although these note books are a little expensive ... you get what you pay for and you wont be disappointed. As a student, I know how difficult it is to keep track of your notes in the regular refill pads - but this note book ends such problems and offers a stress free solution to note organisation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cool, 8 Feb 2012
This review is from: Black n' Red Casebound Hardback A4 Book - Ruled (Office Product)
This is the second time I am buying the Black n' Red and I can say it has come as expected.
It is very sturdy, good for carrying around and durable if you are the one used to carrying books like this around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent purchase!, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black n' Red Casebound Hardback A4 Book - Ruled (Office Product)
I am Very pleased with this item. It is well made and functional but looks good as well, nice gift for Father's Day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for fountain pen users, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black n' Red Casebound Hardback A4 Book - Ruled (Office Product)
I bought this notebook, because, as a lifetime fountain pen user, I was becoming increasingly frustrated with spiral bound tissue paper that our office was providing in lieu of professional notebooks. Once I got to the point where I could write on only one side of the paper due to bleed through, I had to take action.

Black 'n' Red quality is legendary and justly earned. The paper is of fantastic quality, really bright, but not glossy. Fountain pen ink dries quickly, but with no bleed through. Although spiral binding is great for space saving and writing 'in hand', the case bound format has a pleasing solidity to it. If you think it looks expensive, believe me, you get what you pay for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not enough pages, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black n' Red Casebound Hardback A4 Book - Ruled (Office Product)
The quality of the paper is fine, but the books are just not large enough compared with the old Ideal Collins A4 hardbacks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Black 'n Red notebooks, 11 May 2014
By 
Mrs J Cherry (Kilkeel, Down United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black n' Red Casebound Hardback A4 Book - Ruled (Office Product)
Perfectly packed. Quick service. Excellent quality classy notebooks which look the part.& don't fall apart! Simply the best buy .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best value we found, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black n' Red Casebound Hardback A4 Book - Ruled (Office Product)
Had looked for this particular type of book online and couldn't find it anywhere with such a good price.
Will certainly buy again from here as best value I found.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black n' Red Casebound Hardback A4 Book - Ruled
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews